We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic day trip!!!”

Great River Outfitters And The Path of Life Garden
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Windsor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Path of Life Garden is a crafted landscape open to the public in Windsor, Vermont. Visitors experience the story of the great circle of life while traveling through sculptures of varying sizes and materials. Inspired by a famous garden in Europe, these eighteen works of art symbolize the journey from birth to death and beyond. Since its conception in 1997, the garden has grown on its own path, providing space for recreation, relaxation, contemplation and realization; making it a great destination for families looking for fun things to do around Quechee, Woodstock, and Hanover. The path is also home to some of a 5+ mile trail network, groomed in the winter for dogsledding, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. The garden is located in a 14-acre of field of trails, wildflowers and open spaces on the banks of the Connecticut River. It is enjoyed by people of all ages and was recently featured in Vermont Life and Pastoral Magazine.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic day trip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

What a wonderful, beautiful, thoughtful and joy-filled Garden! We really enjoyed our time there walking down the paths to see each of the stages/stations that have been carefully and artfully planned. Eating blueberries(straight from the plant) in the section on joy that comes after forgiveness was just amazing. We highly recommend bringing a picnic, a journal, friends to talk with and also be silent with and your heart and mind for this wonderful garden!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MSSCentroEspiralMana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We took our family of six adult kids, plus 2 spouses, for a mini family reunion. Had a fabulous time kayaking and camping! We started the day by kayaking down the CT river. The owners, Craig and Nicki, were wonderfully accommodating and friendly. They ensured all our needs were met, and that we had everything we needed in our camp. The river was slow the day we went, and we really had to do a lot of paddling to get anywhere, but it was a beautiful day and it was a lot of fun just the same. We brought lunch and found a little beach to eat on. After kayaking we were met by Nicki. She loaded the kayaks and took us back to the camp site.

The camp site was right in the path of life garden. We had the entire place to ourselves! And our family of 10 occupied both teepees!! We had cots and sleeping bags, and brought sheets and pillows from home. Amazingly, we were quite comfortable sleeping on the cots--maybe it's because we were exhausted from paddling all day! The only thing I would say about the teepees, is they were a bit moldy in spots and I was worried the odor was going to bother me, however it was fine and after a bit the slight smell dissipated. There was an area were we were able to build a bonfire, and we spent a couple of hours sitting around it playing games.

Since we were there on a Monday night, the Harpoon Brewery closed at 6, so we're not able to eat dinner there, but did enjoy a beer.

I am not a camper, but really enjoyed this place, and would highly recommend it! Our family enjoyed it is well, and it was perfect for getting away and just spending time with each other.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank raiza a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“#1 Place To Camp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the best place to have a family reunion. This will be our 5th year camping out with all of your family and friends. It is a weekend we all look forward to every year. The owners are great and help you out any way they can. One of the BEST parts is that Harpoon Brewery is only 50 feet away for the camping area and they have a full restaurant with great beer and food. If you have time you should take a tour of the brewery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank joconnell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Path of Life Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I visited the Path of Life Garden with my husband and toddler in mid-July 2014. It is a sculpture/nature garden that walks you through the lifespan of human experience, from birth through death and all of the stages in the middle. It was so lovely and peaceful that it actually brought tears to my eyes by the time I entered the respite/contemplation section. And the walk, and what you see on the walk, really reflected the essence of the different stages of life - from the maze of hedges with a bell in the middle (toddlerhood - and my "real life" toddler laughed and ran and had a blast in the maze!) to a hill of ambition where you could go to the top or around it (middle adulthood) to a peaceful respite hammock that you could easily pass but the careful and thoughtful get to pause and savor the benefits. I loved this place! After the walk, go and refresh yourself with a local beer at the Harpoon Brewery which is right next door. I can't comment on the rest of the outfitters as we did not use any other services besides the garden, but I asked a few questions and the staff seemed knowledgeable and organized. Do yourself a favor and GO TO THIS GARDEN!!!!! You won't regret it! One more thing - the walk is a bit long (but not too long - good exercise...) so be sure to bring water on a hot day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah_2010067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience First Time Kayaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I called three different kayak companies in the area and this one seemed the best. My boyfriend and I scheduled a double kayak and arrived on time. We received a briefing on the temperature, wind and water flow conditions and they also talked us visually through a map of the river to discuss drop off and pick up points and possible stop off point for beach time/lunch on the island. We were also provided Personal Floatation Devices (life jackets), paddles and a sealable bag for our items that we didn't want to get wet. There was lots of room in the kayak so we could bring a lunch and anything else we wanted for the day. Once we arrived at the drop off location, we were shown how to efficiently paddle and what to do and not to do in the kayak. We were dropped off just below a set of waterfalls which was a great place to take pictures. The kayaking was very easy as the water was moving very steadily. There were bald eagle nests to see along the river banks. We did the 12 mile route and we finished just before the longest covered bridge in the U.S. We were able to get beautiful pictures, and our driver let us get out near the bridge and take some close-ups as well. Once back, we toured through the Path of Life Garden. This is definitely a "must-see." If you have time, the Harpoon Brewery and a restaurant/store is in the same parking area. The restaurant/store has lots of varieties of cheese, cider, jams and maple syrup to sample. Outside the restaurant/store, there are grass courts for the children and adults to play badminton and other types of games. Absolutely a fun and relaxing day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Summerfield33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great River Outfitters And The Path of Life Garden also viewed

 

Been to Great River Outfitters And The Path of Life Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing