We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Diner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dan's Windsor Diner

Dan's Windsor Diner
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Looking for reliable home made diner food? This is a reliable, yet fun place to visit. The chili is very good as are the burgers and mashed potato. Don't forget to get a piece of homemade pie or bread pudding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater NJ USA
Level Contributor
671 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Small diner in an old train car!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped by this diner on our way home from visiting Windsor. It is your typical diner with two people manning it...One woman..the owner cooking and another gal doing everything else. My eggs and bacon were great. My husband loved the homemade hash and my son love the mac and cheese special. This is not a fancy place by any means. It is just homemade food with most of the guests seeming to be locals. It was recommended by a local gal who worked at one of the other attractions. Not a lot of choices in Windsor, but we enjoyed it for our quick lunch! And we're from NJ and we do diners!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad corned beef hash”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The diner is an old diner car which seems nice on the outside! However, once inside its dirty and the staff are not friendly, and I am a local! The corned beef hash was simply a boiled dinner without the corned beef! Not good at all. The girl on the grill(owner) was rude and clearly cannot cook eggs! Horrible horrible place to eat ! The waitstaff I think came out of jail with the clear lack of socialism!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Catsmeowvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Deerfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's a Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's a diner in a small Vermont town. You will get diner food with friendly service. Both the food and the experience are worth the visit. We have visited this diner many times while traveling in Vermont. Hope to go agian

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank momtoalyncait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Greasy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of the strangest pieces of pie I have ever has was here. It was a granulated sugar extreme lime flavored gel substance called Key Lime Pie. This in addition to the so-so greasy fries and uninspiring menu cause me to pass it by.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nlanoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan's Windsor Diner also viewed

 

Been to Dan's Windsor Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing