We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we loved this Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snapdragon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Snapdragon Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we loved this Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We would have to say "ditto" to all those reviews before us who commented on the luxurious bed, all the sweet and thoughtful amenities, the wonderfully appointed bathroom with the clawfoot tub (room 7), the overall elegance and taste displayed in this amazing house, the breakfast in a beautiful sunlit room, and of course the lovely outdoor surroundings To add to that, we loved the library with its books about the people who lived there along with famous authors and history of Windsor. We particularly enjoyed talking with the innkeeper who is friendly and very knowlegeable, Treat yourselves to a serene getaway!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coreymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    33
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
179
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Why should you choose the Snapdragon Inn? For the nice B&B, fot its large rooms. For the confort of the bed. For the great welcome you receive while arriving. For the large restroom of the B&B. For the quiet place. For the lake, the forest, the small mountain surrounding the B&B. For the hicking trails accessible just close to the B&B. For the charming village of Windsor. For the Connecticut River and the longest covered bridge in USA just close by. For the Harpoon Brewery a few miles from the B&B. For all the nice villages all around Windsor. For the spirit of the people leaving in Vermont and for the wonderful Green Mountains.

My wife and I spent 2 nights in November at the Snapdragon Inn and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a wonderful little piece of paradise on earth. Elegant historical house, with heated tiles ans occitan product in the bathroom... Great luxury and perfect place to rest.. The host are so friendly and welcoming you with warm chocolate cookies and great continental breakfast with the best homemade and local vermonts products. Just loved it and will deffinitly make it a regular family vacation place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marienakhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Snapdragon Inn for three nights and greatly enjoyed the hospitality that Michelle and the team provided. We used the Inn as a base to visit local attractions, including the towns of Woodstock, Manchester and the local Harpoon Brewery and Simon Pearce glassworks.

At the Snapdragon, any request was immediately attended to, and Michelle made the stay very enjoyable. She got us into the Windsor Station Restaurant, which is a new restaurant in town with about 5 minutes notice. On another evening we had purchased wine and cheese for a "stay in" dinner, and the dining room was closed off for us, and candles and flowers set up to make for a romantic dinner in a lovely setting. Chocolate chip cookies, which were absolutely delicious, were provided every evening in the lobby. The room (we stayed in Room #8) was nicely appointed with a very comfortable king sized bed, a good shower in the bathroom, all spotlessly clean. We got to peek into Room #9 after it was cleaned and the previous guests had left, and that is the room I would book for next time. Lovely tub and good location at end of the hall. The only complaint we had, and it is absolutely not the fault of the Inn in any way, is the train whistle mentioned in another review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjp2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Snapdragon! The rooms were beautifully appointed -- lots of 'treats' in the bathroom, yummy maple sugar candies, the fluffiest bathrobes in the world. We loved the chocolate chip cookies waiting for us as we returned from exploring the local trails, the Windsor area for shopping and sightseeing, and restaurants. (Michelle's excellent recommendations included good maps, sample menus, and a post-visit follow-up to make certain we were happy with our choices.) Breakfasts were substantial, with hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, fruit, and local breads and coffe cakes an unexpected delight well beyond 'continental.' Access to coffee and tea was available in the dining area throughout our stay as well -- much appreciated.

Room Tip: The flight of stairs to the second floor is quite steep -- choose a room on this floor to avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat-Drink-Man-Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This gorgeous, modern B&B was the highlight of our first Vermont trip. I can't recommend this place more! If you are wanting a fantastic stay then you HAVE to stay here. I have travelled all over the world and this has been my favorite place to stay the night. Thanks to the Inn keeper, Michelle. She is so great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmiliaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a wonderful place and so easy to use as a base for the area. I will echo all that has been said before and say you must try it one day. I must thank Michelle for making my stay memorable and Kathy for getting me in.
Two small points one of which the Snapdragon may resolve in time and the second they can do nothing about.
The one they might get to resolve and that is there is no cooked breakfast which suited me as I am a toast and cereal man and this was more than fine, but some people like a hearty meal to set them up for the day.
The second point they can do not a thing about is the train around 4am when the driver must take a sadistic delight in tooting his horn several times as it passes through Windsor. Grrrrrrrr!
The pluses for The Snapdragon far outweigh my minor moans and it really is the ONLY place in Windsor to stay.
Several thing I especially liked were the friendliness of Michelle and the feeling of history whilst staying there.

Room Tip: I had room 3 and it was perfect. It is opposite the main road and the railroad, so if a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The Ferengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
9.3 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
12.0 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
11.8 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
11.8 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snapdragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snapdragon Inn

Property: Snapdragon Inn
Address: 26 Main St, Windsor, VT 05089-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snapdragon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The grand and historic former home of famed editor Maxwell Perkins. whose authors and regular visitors to the Inn included F.Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway and Thomas Wolfe, now reborn as a luxury Inn. At the Snapdragon Inn, we celebrate all the beauty and bounty that Vermont and the Upper Valley has to offer, and want to make your stay as relaxing and inspiring as can be. The Snapdragon Inn is about comfort, pure and simple. Whether you are visiting to work, to play, or simply to relax, the Snapdragon Inn is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Snapdragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snapdragon Hotel Windsor
Snapdragon Inn Vermont/Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing