We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn”
Review of The Crafts Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crafts Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We did a timeshare exchange. The check in process was easy and the attendant friendly. We had a third floor room. They have a very slow small elevator. The room had no AC which is apparently the norm for VT. This would have been okay except there was a heat wave and the box fans they provided didn't do much. They have a few units with AC which are the rooms overlooking the pool. It would be nice if all the rooms were retro fitted.

The rooms are small, but well appointed. I recommend taking your own soap and shampoo as the provided multipurpose cleaner had a medicinal smell. There is no blow drier.

The pool and lounge were recently renovated following flooding in 2011. Both are very nice and underutilized. They did have a chemical imbalance in the hot tub (my bathing suit was bleached out). The lounge had AC and a flat screen TV with comfy furniture. Coin op laundry is available on this level.

The front porch and coffee room are great for relaxing and conversing. The town is quite charming. All in all a nice place for a quiet relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beshou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

It's 1 am on Sunday night/Monday morning and the next door neighbors are on their deck, laughing and talking so loudly I can understand every word said. Last night was the same. Because the inn does not have air conditioning, the windows stay open so I don't suffocate. Winter may be a better time to stay here. I'm happy with the room (kitchen, living area, bedroom and bath), but I am very unhappy that the outside noises are so loud and people are inconsiderate of the neighbors.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I wish I had realized this before we stayed.It was 92 degrees out and the room was stifling and 89. The two fans don't cut it. Furnishings are dated and the rooms are very small. Not enough room in the bedroom for two people to keep their clothes. Mine had to go in the living room. My laptop screen was bigger than the only tv and the refrigerator was an older type with the freezer in the fridge part. Toilet is low to the ground and there is no tub in the bathroom. The elevator is extremely slow. Quicker to walk. Parking lot is small and crowded. Pool is new due to a flood last year.Within walking distance to several good restaurants. Hotel is right on the road and a little noisy at night from traffic. Only good part was the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the lower level so you don't need to use the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Located just a 15 minute drive from Mt snow, The Crafts Inn is a fairly large hotel with some rooms also being timeshares, that maintains VT charm and hospitality. I am unsure of all rooms, but the one we had was a small suite with one bedroom and a pullout out couch that also had a small kitchen with all untensils needed for a shorts stay. It was clean and fairly modern.
Shops and a few cafes are walking distance so after a long day on the mountain you can park shower up and just walk to breakfast and dinner.
The place also boasts a great large hot tub that we took full advantage of and was the perfect fix after a cold day skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kman773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a pleasant week at the Crafts Inn. It is a charming old place in the center of the village and within an easy walk of everything in the village including shops and several restaurants. Herein lies the key to our great stay. Now on the down side, everything is very plain and the carpet and furnishings a bit tired. There wasn't a high definition television to be found anywhere, not even the lobby. So just expect to find things to be needing a little updating. Another thing which was annoying is that the reception and lobby area is locked at 9 p.m. on weeknights. They open every morning at 7:30 p.m. We found most of the staff to be accommodating when available.

Room Tip: Only five units have a/c so make sure you ask for one of them if you really need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank revclock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We really enjoyed the Craft's Inn for a laid back vacation. The room was tired, but more than adequate. WiFi worked in room 202 and there is a free public computer in the lobby. The kitchen was quite well laid out and had all the utensils we wanted. We enjoyed swimming each morning at their indoor pool and also went swimming in the Harriman Reservoir at their clothing optional beach. At least once a day we could wonder across the street to Dot's diner and enjoy a meal. In spite of what the front desk says, we found Dot's to be the best around. My wife craves their old fashioned chocolate milk shakes (frappes). If you have RCI timeshare, this is an easy place to get an exchange and well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BillSeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

HI,
We have traveled all over the world, and look forward each year to coming back to the CraftsInn.... The locaton is one of the best around... You are in the South part of Vermont in a great little town... Not much change around...
Taking day trips from this place are great.... The staff is always very nice and wants to help in any way possible....
I would tell anyone to come to this place if you can get in..... A little secret is buy a week,
Call them direct...look up craft inn to get phone #.
or email me: roger@apinsights.info

Roger

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rr1455ScottsdaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.1 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vermont House
Vermont House
#8 of 10 in Wilmington
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
220 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crafts Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crafts Inn

Address: 10 West Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Crafts Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing