We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Great Service, Value PLUS!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roadhouse Restaurant

Roadhouse Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 27 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heartwellville, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Service, Value PLUS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We frequent the Roadhouse, as it is close to our home, and is a great place to come for a relaxing meal out. The atmosphere is great, with a very warm feeling. The service is excellent and friendly, and we can see that the management really cares about how their patrons are served. The food is ALWAYS great, and the prices are very reasonable. We would highly recommend the Roadhouse for a great night out, be it for a party of two or a larger group. It is one of the best in our area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunrunner1132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    14
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, good down home food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went to the Roadhouse for brunch last week. We were warmly greeted by our waitress and promptly seated. We had the tomato mozzarella salad with some fresh lovely basil and balsamic vinegar. We followed that with eggs Benedict with a light but flavorful hollandaisle sauce. The price was reasonable, the Bloody Mary perfectly seasoned. We would go back to sample the dinner menu

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
172 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice brunch menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have found this restaurant to very accommodating for a relaxing Sunday morning brunch. The restaurant is a short distance from a ski area (Mt. Snow) and sits alongside the highway. There is plenty of easy parking, and the restaurant is roomy, sunny and bright and comfortably warm even on cold days. As we entered, we were greeted and seated at a sunny table. We ordered a cocktail to enjoy while perusing the menu and specials board. Best here is the brunch menu with choices ranging from shrimp cocktail and escargo appetizers, to hot turkey sandwich on thick homemade bread smothered in gravy, grilled salmon, prime rib, and mussels in a wine/garlic sauce just to name a few. There is something for every taste. We shared two appetizers with another couple, and then had a difficult time choosing which entree sounded the best. I would definitely recommend the escargo appetizer and the mussels in wine sauce over linguini. The service was efficient without being over zealous. And after we finished dinner (we were too full to order a dessert which also sounded delicious) we sat over a cup of coffee for another half hour without being rushed out the door. I am looking forward to returning to try another entree.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have been to this restaurant multiple times. My family loves stopping in here when we are in Wilington. Has a great ambiance and the food is delicious. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant for anyone who is in Wilmington.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“After so many terrible reviews maybe you need to evaluate your staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I read these reviews once or twice a month. The number of bad reviews (2) or more mentioning Sunday Brunch and Carl's treatment of patrons should give the owners reason to reevaluate his employment.
I guess keeping the " local " bar crowd happy is more important than the reputation of the restaurant.
He is abusive, rude, and condescending to customers, if that is the image you want out there as a business, he is succeeding in promoting it.
Trip Advisor is read and utilized as a tool for both business and leisure travelers, eventually these reviews will impact your business in a negative way.
It may be time for some response from the owners of the Roadhouse showing they care.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roadhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing