We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable accommodations, great location”
Review of Viking Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viking Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wilmington
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Affordable accommodations, great location”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This longtime establishment in Wilmington, VT is one of the most affordable places to stay in southern Vermont near Mount Snow. Denise and Hans are experts on the area and offer a warm welcome to their guests.

Great location near downtown Wilmington shops and restaurants, and only 10 miles from Mt. Snow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
14
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
spring, tx
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

the recent blizzard on the east coast was an excellent opportunity for a quick getaway trip. as we did before, we stayed at the viking motel in wilmington, vt.
the rooms were new, clean and well heated for the minus 12 degrees we encountered. the owners denise and hans were very friendly and gave us the best tips to winter activities. the motel is located on a main route (9) so getting places was not hard given that the state plows this road regularly. will go back again probably in the spring to do some hiking.

Room Tip: down stairs rooms are completely new and repainted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a nice, clean room on the bottom row. Bedroom was spacious with a nice and sturdy bed. Make sure to bring your own shampoo, we had to buy some.
We liked the fact that we had a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. The owners were kind enough to stay up very late for our check in, since the traffic was horrible getting there on a holiday weekend.
Wilmington is a nice, authentic New England town. All around the Green Mountains, you see the devastation from the flood, but people are rebuilding. Definitely stay at the Viking Motel when you're in the Vermont area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank White29092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Viking recently for a perfect long weekend- our room was clean and just what we needed. The owners are very friendly and helpful- and they reflect the overall charm of the town. Wilmington was hit hard by the flooding in 2011 but seeing how they are pulling together as a community and each business rebuilding is quite impressive. The location of the Viking is great for a walk into town or short drives to popular destinations. We love the idea of supporting the "mom and pop" businesses as much as we can and so I would definitely recommend the Viking to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB57_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Vermont in June and stayed at the Viking Motel in Wilmington. We were quite surprised to see how well the Viking Motel and the town of Wilmington bounced back from the devastation of the flood in August of 2011. The Viking Motel location is ideal for going into town or to get to other sites of Vermont and the price is very reasonable.
The owners, Denise and Hans, treated us like family and gave us tips on things to see and do in the area.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the large deck is a great place to relax at night and enjoy a drink.
We both look forward to going back and staying at the Viking during the Fall season.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OU75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring, tx
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

we live in hot, dry texas and spent a great weekend in vermont and new hampshire. we came across the viking quite by accident and are very glad we stopped. the price was right and the location left us near other sites we wanted to visit. the rooms were clean and the big porch very nice to sit out on in the evening. the t.v got good reception and the owners were quite pleasant to deal with. we plan to return for what new englanders call 'leaf season' and will certainly make the viking our home base. wish we had some down home motels like this in texas.

Room Tip: get a room on the second level, porch is great, more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We found the Viking Motel at the end of a long day of driving. We checked out the room, and found it to be basic but clean. The place isn't fancy, but the price was reasonable for the accommodation. The bed was firm and comfortable and the flat screen TV worked well. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
15.6 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
6.9 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Property: Viking Motel
Address: 88 E Main St, PO Box 236, Wilmington, VT 05363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel is a family-run business conveniently located on VT. Route 9 in the picturesque town of Wilmington, Vermont. We are within easy walking distance to the historic village of Wilmington, where a variety of shops and restaurants can satisfy your interests, from crafts and ski equipment, to lobster or a great bowl of home-made chili. Walk around and get a taste of New England friendliness or ride the free shuttle bus (The MOOver), which runs between Wilmington, Dover and the Mt. Snow ski area. Our comfortable rooms include queen or double beds, full bath, color-cable TV, air-conditioning, direct dial phones, refrigerators, and wireless Internet access. Coffee machines with complimentary pkgs. of coffee and tea are in each room. Newly reconstructed rooms include brand new furnishings and flat screen TVs.Extend your stay in one of our two spacious two bedroom suites, each furnished with desk/dining area, refrigerator, stove top, microwave, full bath and TV. Coffee machines with complimentary packages of coffee and tea are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Viking Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing