We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The folly of not stopping here ......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Folly

Folly
Price range: $16 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Chef-owned 14 seat dinner restaurant, offering an eclectic wine list and an intimate and romantic dining experience for mature patrons.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The folly of not stopping here ......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a sweet cafe, unique to Wilmington...introduced to and fell for cold brewed coffee, served over ice, with creme and light sweetening. Without the heat, there is no acidity... a summer treat. Salads were creative and healthy.
My wife and I shared lunch in the small well designed garden on the side... farro salad with roasted beets and crook neck squash and sandwich on fresh baked roll. They do all their own baking and cooking. Owners were friendly. We found an excuse to have coffee (and a pastry), every day of the three that we stayed in Wilmington...no matter what time of day. Don't miss.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    9
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The only place in town to get a Cubano, not to mention their amazing selection of food. Locally sourced of course. The lunch specials are to die for and you can't leave without trying a compost cookie.
The atmosphere is clean and classy and the staff is incredibly friendly. I highly recommend this place to everyone

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MicheleVT802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

A coffee and nibble was all we wanted and Folly Foods provided us with just that. This is the pride and joy of husband and wife team Peter and Kathleen Wallace, a couple of hospitality veterans that switched from fine dining to what they have now on West Main Street. Homemade cakes and breads, ice cream, fresh juices and some serious beans from Nantucket Coffee Roasters.

We couldn't look past the chocolate, cayenne & chilli cake - a perfect accompaniment to our beautiful macchiato and espresso.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heneedsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Homemade intersting choices and new ideas. Whether you want a coffee and cake, a smoothie or juice, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silverservice03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
180 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Boutique Coffee Shop and Bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Folly Foods has been in a recent smash in downtown Wilmington in a hole in the wall location on the west end of the Historic District, with two (possibly three) parking spaces out front and limited interior space for sit-in patrrons Folly's offers excellent fresh brewed coffees and a host of perfectly brewed teas and an aray of homemade baked goods to relax over. Though I've never fought the crowds for lunch, I understand that daily offerings which live up to Folly's high standards are available. Prices tend to be on the upscale side but the chocolate brownies are more than worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chap914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folly also viewed

 

Been to Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing