We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake, nice paddle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harriman Reservoir

Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newport
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake, nice paddle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Plenty of put-ins, right outside of town (on the road just south of the turnoff to Mt Snow). The lake is really pristine, with only a few houses visible. We were concerned about the currents when we heard about the 1500 cubic ft/secind release of water by the power compant at the dam... but not to worry... in the spring, when the water is high, the current is nil. It did get a bit choppy now and then when the wind picked up, but nothing we couldn't handle. We did go during the week, so I am not sure if power boat wakes would be a problem on the weekend. We only had to dodge wakes a couple of times, and they pretty much kept their distance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank xdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best swimming in southern Vermont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Harriman Reservoir is stunning. It's enormous size is hidden behind each turn the reservoir takes. Best swimming ever. Rent a canoe, motor boat, wave runner and explore the shoreline. It's my fav.
See you next summer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Sunsets and storms were magnificent to view. Rocky beaches easily accessed. I took my camera there at different times of the day as the reflection of light off the lake constantly changed the view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Summer relief”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This huge reservoir is a hidden gem in the Green Mountains. With no houses or docks on the water and plenty of coves to explore, it has that pristine feel that refreshes and revitalizes in the heat of summer. With only 5 public access points, it's easy to find your private spot. However, the end of summer draw down (for power) can expose hazards, but the fishing is always good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepperredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Outstanding Recreational Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located about a mile south of the intersection of Rt 9 and Rt 100, Harriman Reservoir is one of the main attractions in the Deerfield Valley/Mt. Snow region. An eleven mile lake that runs from Wilmington south down to Whitingham, this reservoir is open to the public with many excellent recreational options including hiking along the Catamount Trail, swimming, boating, kayaking, picnics, facilities, free parking, boat launches, snow shoeing and so much more.

I love to kayak out along the lake and explore the many coves and small islands that can be found.

One tip of caution: This lake is a reservoir and owned by a power company that raises and lowers the water levels. Be mindful of this if you head out far onto the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harriman Reservoir also viewed

 

Been to Harriman Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing