We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of The Nutmeg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nutmeg
Ranked #2 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Nut Meg Inn was perfect for us, the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Their breakfast each day was very enjoyable. They were helpful in sending us places to see and dine for dinner. If we have the pleasure of visiting Vermont again, we will be staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for The Nutmeg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband's parents owned the Nutmeg Inn when he was young. Our first stop when visiting his home town, Wilmington, was at the Nutmeg Inn to relive his memories and make new ones. We were immediately greeted by the new owners and were made to feel at home. The Inn was clean and beautiful, the grounds were wonderfully maintained and the breakfast was delicious. We were even taken on a 'tour' of the Inn where my husband's old room used to be! "Thank you" to the new owners for making our trip so special and keeping the Nutmeg Inn charm alive!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was concerned about staying in VT at a B&B in the Fall, due to the cooler temperatures at night. But I was assured by Wendy the manager that the room would be warm enough at night. When I arrived, Wendy greeted me and asked if I would like a glass of wine since it was time for their wine social. The Inn was sprinkled with antiques and was extremely clean. My bed was comfortable, although there was a bit of road noise -Room 5A. Breakfast was a choice of 3 entrees- I chose the fritarta, which was very tasty. All in all Wendy's hospitality was outstanding and her information about restaurant industry in the area was insightful. They recommended The Anchor, which was very good. All in all a very pleasant experience.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank travelgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited Vermont for a weekend wedding in September 2013. Upon arrival, we we're greeted by Wendy (general manager) with a big smile and an umbrella to help us dodge the raindrops. We left two days later feeling like we were leaving our newest close friends behind. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and clean. The inn overall was charming and quaint. Breakfast was amazingly prepared by Chef Rinaldo. We thoroughly enjoyed all of the wonderful conversations we had with the owners and staff -- from Doug's historical accounts... to Geo's fun laughter... to Wendy's great service... to Chef Rinaldo's excellent cuisine and touching stories -- made us feel like family. We had a relaxing and rejuvenating experience and recommend the Nutmeg Country Inn to all of you visiting southern Vermont! Thank you everyone, Christine and Dale.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Wow, I didn't expect to have this great inn at the end of our trip through Vermont. I chose the inn because of its location. It's in southern Vermont right on Highway 9 and would make a great stop for our last night before heading back to Boston to fly home. We arrived at 6:00 and were surprised by a delightful receptionist who offered us a complimentary glass of wine by the fireplace after showing us our room. Nice little touch! We booked one of the basic queen rooms as we were just sleeping there and heading out in the morning. While it was on the small side, it had everything we would need. It was cozy and charming. Due to being on the highway, there was a fair amount of street noise at night, but my earplugs did the trick. In the morning, the coffee was available as early as 5:00! We selected our breakfast time and menu the night before and were served the best french toast we have had in one of several charming rooms. The innkeeper, Doug, was a delight to talk with and even helped us get our luggage to our car. I snapped a quick picture of the inn and posted it immediately as the best B&B of our trip. Next time, if I have the opportunity, I might stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: We had room #7, which was closest to the highway and one of the smallest. If highway noise bothers...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Never2MuchTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Okay, I understand the importance of specifics as it applies to these reviews...but in this case, "the big picture" may be better. Following a return to the Nutmeg Inn this past weekend with some good friends, I realized that the true appeal of this special place lies in how the two gentlemen who own it have managed to capture all of the elements that we just can't seem to get enough of these days. Simplicity, quality...and yes, genuineness.

Sure, from the rooms to the french toast, all is top shelf. But more importantly, thanks to a super staff and a strong commitment to their brand, the complete Nutmeg experience is consistently spot-on. It's testimony to the old "sum of the parts being greater than the whole" thing - and the fact that a couple of really great inn keepers - and people - just simply get it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent the last night of our vacation at the Nutmeg Inn and it was a great end to our trip. Everyone at the inn was very friendly and the owners have done a wonderful job renovating the inn. They have put a lot of effort into the details. Our room was very comfortable with a newly redone bathroom and plush towels. The breakfast room had a pretty view of the grounds and Ron’s breakfast was delicious. We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.7 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
409 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vermont House
Vermont House
#7 of 10 in Wilmington
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nutmeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nutmeg

Address: 153 W Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly Nutmeg Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $121 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nutmeg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1777 boutique-style southern Vermont inn - old world charm with all the mod cons. The Nutmeg, is in Wilmington VT, about 15 minutes from Mt Snow. Perfect for ski weekends, fall get aways, and summer breaks. Snowmobile and hiking trails directly from the property and just a minute's drive from Lake Harriman and all the waterspouts that lake has to offer. Plenty of parking for boat or snowmobile trailers. All rooms have private baths, free WiFi, TVs and A/C. Evening dining in the summer is fireside along the banks of the river. The inn has a wonderful food truck offering rotisserie chicken, ribs and beer and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Nutmeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing