We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near Mt. Snow”
Review of The Nutmeg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nutmeg
Ranked #2 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Nutmeg is located about 15 minutes down the road from Mt. Snow - closest to the Carinthia lodge. We were only staying for one night (the mountain lodges required a 2 night stay) so we explored our options.

It really worked out in our favor, as this inn is staffed by very friendly and attentive people who worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. We opted for a smaller room that had a comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and a tv. The breakfast in the morning was great and fresh, a perfect start to the day. I would definitely stay there again - maybe branch out and try one of the woodstove rooms that the other reviews have mentioned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 271 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went there for the Reggaefest in Dover. We could have stayed at Mt. Snow which is where the Fest was at but you cannot beat the wonderful staff and owners at the Nutmeg. Besides having a fantastic Inn and rooms, the helpful information that Wendy provides is awesome! It is such a pleasure to be able to talk to someone who can tell you important information about a variety of places in the area!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just spent 3 wonderful days at the Nutmeg Inn, Wilmington Vt.We had a 3 room suite,with
a living room,bedroom and bath,and access to the outside. This was perfect for us as the Inn is pet friendly and we brought our dog.Our room had all the amenities: tv,refrigerator ,whirlpool bath a wonderful woodburning stove,and one of the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. We enjoyed a complementary glass of wine In a lovely lounge. The staff made us feel so at home and were very knowledgable about the area which has skiing,hiking trails and a lake close by. We had a wonderful gourmet breakfast every morning.Can't wait to go back in the summer and take advantage of all the outdoor activities in place that is like a second home.

Room Tip: #10 3 room suite pet friendly,access to outside via a glass sliding door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the second you step into the foyer it's awsome,the staff,the happy hour,the Chef's stories in the lounge, The poor chef's knee injury did not impact his sense of humor or time spent with us guest's,The Breakfast was soo delicious,as is the Chef Ronaldo, can I take you home, pleasee.

Room Tip: Rm 11 2 bedroom,12 is for lovers,10 for gardeners, for it's view, the kitchen my fav, due to Han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Nutmeg Inn is the perfect spot for a winter weekend getaway. The inn itself is cozy and beautifully decorated. Service is wonderful and there are lots of little extras that add to its charm. Complimentary wine in the fireplaced lounge is just one of these.

Our room was spacious and equipped with a refrigerator and a two person jacuzzi. After a long day snowshoeing we found that we had everything we needed right at the inn. We grabbed a bite of take out and enjoyed our beautiful accommodations.

PS Our dog was allowed to come along; this was more than just a benefit, it's a non-negotiable for us!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracehappens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

From the minute of our arrival till the moment that we left our experience could not have been nicer. We were originally booked for the previous Friday eve but due to a snow storm had to cancel. As the following weekend was a holiday we were not sure we would be given a refund or another accommodation, however As it turned out we were not only offered the following week, without hassle or additional charge, but upon our arrival were given an upgraded (#2, with fireplace ) room. The check-in was informative with a tour of the newly restored antique inn; heavy on the chintz but this is Vermont.. Wendy, the mgr. was warm and friendly, as was deb the nite mgr, who poured a freebie of wine with a healthy hand( thank you). We also got to chat with Ron, the chef, who created a delish breakfast ( French toast with warm VT maple syrup) and one of the owners, John who was as gracious as could be. They even let us leave our bags and return so we could change out of our ski-wear. My only complaint: Ron should have sent me a sliver of his frittata to taste! We will most certainly return and so will you.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank AUDEIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

From the minute we arrived the friendly people like Wendy, Doug and Mark made us feel very welcome as did the Inn itself with its outstanding ambience, beautifully decorated rooms which were bright and immaculate. The bar was very relaxing and both lounge areas were very inviting and cozy. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We cannot wait for our next visit with family and friends. An awesome get away if just for a day, it is well worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms look inviting and warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 500Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.7 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
439 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vermont House
Vermont House
#8 of 10 in Wilmington
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nutmeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nutmeg

Address: 153 W Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly Nutmeg Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $121 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nutmeg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1777 boutique-style southern Vermont inn - old world charm with all the mod cons. The Nutmeg, is in Wilmington VT, about 15 minutes from Mt Snow. Perfect for ski weekends, fall get aways, and summer breaks. Snowmobile and hiking trails directly from the property and just a minute's drive from Lake Harriman and all the waterspouts that lake has to offer. Plenty of parking for boat or snowmobile trailers. All rooms have private baths, free WiFi, TVs and A/C. Evening dining in the summer is fireside along the banks of the river. The inn has a wonderful food truck offering rotisserie chicken, ribs and beer and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Nutmeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing