We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vermont Inn”
Review of The Wilmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wilmington Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 10, 2010

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at the Red Shutter Inn in Wilmington, VT. The new owners were extremely welcoming and repeatedly asked us if we needed anything. They are in the process of new construction in the Inn, and have made some beautiful updates, but the authentic charm has not been removed. Breakfast was excellent every day! We truley enjoyed our stay at the Red Shutter Inn and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakelover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 461 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2010

What an incredible weekend! This place has everything and more that a B & B should have: great coffee, a cozy sitting area, amazing staff, and a beyond-comfy mattress. We took full advantage of access to many outdoor activities, as well as the cute shops.

And the food... Although we originally planned to spend dinner at one of the local restaurants, our delicious breakfasts made us wisely choose otherwise. We sipped wine by a cozy fire and enjoyed a tasty local cheese plate. This was followed by delicious meals filled with unique flavors. (I should add that the menu was able to satisfy both a vegetarian and a lactose-intolerant carnivore. Not an easy task.)

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKeiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I stayed at the Red Shutter Inn this past January when visiting Wilmington for the snowboarding at Mt. Snow and snow mobiling through the Green Mountain National Forest. Highlights: (1) the owners and staff were extremely pleasant, helpful and personable, (2) the rooms and beds were extremely comfortable and felt new, (3) the food was outstanding with a very impressive selection and the focus on local products was particulary appealing to me, and (4) the location was central to my scheduled activities and right in the middle of the small town center

The owners mentioned that they had recently purchased the inn and were in the middle of some substantial improvements, however they were able to ensure that any work being done was not noticeable to us during our stay.

I plan on returning in the spring / summer months to experience the area sans snow and will stay at the Red Shutter Inn again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smtownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We spent Christmas at the Red Shutter Inn and had a wonderful stay. Our room was very comfortable with a king size bed and large jacuzzi tub which was very welcome after a day of skiing on Mount Snow!

The reception is open and welcoming with comfy chairs, roaring fireplace and a really nice bar area. Location was great - a short drive to Mount Snow and walkable to everything in Wilmington.

We ate at the Inn's restaurant a couple of times and the food was delicious. The home made ice cream was to die for!

This is a nice comfy b&b with plenty of charm and very friendly owners. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobokenkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

we happened upon the red shutter inn while enduring a horrible snow storm while traveling home from holidays with the family. just as the driving was getting unbearable and the conditions near "white-out", we passed the sign for the inn and gave them a call. as luck would have it, they had a room and were incredibly accommodating. though the restaurant was not opened the night we were there, it was still early enough for us to go for a nice snowy walk into town. as the inn is right in the little hamlet, we had a fun and romantic snowy walk through town to one of the other restaurants in town. wilmington may be the coolest snowy/winter tiny town around. had a good dinner at a fun local bar and walked home to a cozy warm room. we got up a little late the next morning, had a hearty breakfast at the inn, chatted with the proprietor for a bit and were back on the road. all in all, it was a great romantic getaway/post holiday escape that we never planned. we can't wait to go back. the bartender at the other restaurant raved about the red shutter inn's dinner and now we gotta check it out sometime.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choochi_Mayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

John and Rachel have purchased the Inn and restaurant. They are committed to there guests in a refreshing way. We stayed just one night recently and would have loved to stay more. The rooms have fresh mattresses and linens. The breakfast was the best with warm Vt maple syrup. No musty smells that are common in Vermont Inns. The dinner was super too. Only about 8 miles from Mt Snow for winter sports and near the lake in the summer.
Great spot for a Vermont break with great new owners.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiteboarddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I stayed at the Red Shutter for two nights in October with family and had a wonderful time. New owners, John and Rachel, took over at the beginning of October. They are enthusiastic and have great ideas and plans to improve the inn which is a magnificent old building. They're acting fast too - renovations were scheduled to begin the week after we left. They're also upgrading all the rooms with new linens, mattresses and carpeting. But we had a wonderful time even before all the planned improvements. They were warm, friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the inn - what a fun atmosphere. Inn guests and restaurant guests gathered around the fire and in the tavern for drinks and conversation. The rooms were a little tired, but with all the planned upgrades, I'm sure it will be refreshed. We plan to go back over the winter for some skiing!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
42 reviews
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
0.5 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
311 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
4.8 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn

Address: 41 W Main St, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363-9686 (Formerly The Wilmington Inn & Tavern)
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $153 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Wilmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing