We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A recent stay at the Wilmington Inn aka Red Shutter Inn”
Review of The Wilmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wilmington Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A recent stay at the Wilmington Inn aka Red Shutter Inn”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

One of the reasons I wanted to stay here is because I had been taken here as a child for family ski vacations and I had very fond memories. I was really excited that their website indicated an on-site restaurant. Unfortunately that restaurant has closed as the chef left to open his own place closer to a more populated area nearby.

This Inn was run by a very nice couple who were very accomodative.

That said, the suite I stayed in was "tired" at best with decor from the 1980's... a cracked bath sink... a low end rumbling fridge, poor room lighting from low end lamps, and the king bed had polyester sheets that slipped off the mattress.

Hallway doors are in need of painting and the carpet is worn and dirty I was totally happy I had slippers to wear...

The common area is limited to a small front room with a bar and a couple of chairs while the large back room remains empty at night. If not a restaurant why not let your guests enjoy the larger space?

Clearly in transition this Inn and needs some TLC...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at The Wilmington Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your response. We welcome all feedback especially when you offer suggestions for where we have fallen short.

We have been renovating the inn, and rooms in particular, continually since we bought it 3 years ago. However, we want to keep the charm and keep the quirkiness of each room so that it's soul remains and to some degree that means antique furniture and a "dated-ness" feel. We don't want our rooms to be come Martha Stewart. We do apologize for the cracked sink and the sheets, in particular. The sink was recently cracked and is budgeted to be replaced this spring. Those sheets are not representative of our linens but were a mistake from our last order and will be taken out of use shortly. As for the carpet and the hallways, I can tell you that the carpet is brand new, having been installed only two years ago however in Winter both the carpets and the walls do get overly worn due to the snow, sand and ski equipment that inevitably gets tracked in. We have tried to keep it up but it has been a very busy season for us nevertheless we will redouble our efforts after your proper review. Please forgive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    85
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
62
239
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here after the holidays for a weekend of snowboarding. Terrific service, yummy homemade breakfast (so many options), and an easy walk to town for dinner and drinks. Inn is charming and cozy and a great value- will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Valley, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I found this perfect little hide-a-away and fell in love with it! Beautiful area, cozy rooms, and unique little tavern. The fireplace was just perfect after a long day of skiing at Mt. Snow. Breakfasts were fresh and simple. Would have LOVED for the website to mention that there is a new outside hot tub, as we were not prepared with our suits and could not take advantage of it. MUST have 4-wheel drive in winter, as friends of ours staying near-by could not get up the steep driveway and had to park across the street and walk up. All in all, would absolutely go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krin1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason J, Manager at The Wilmington Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you SO much for the kind words. Alicia and I are thrilled that you had a good time. We are, however, sorry that you were unable to enjoy our new outdoor hot tub after a long day on the mountain. Our webpage will soon have pictures so everyone will know to bring their swimsuits! Thanks for the feedback because this is how we get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stayed in the Molly Stark suite, it was great! Fireplace in the little sitting area, huge comfy bed and jacuzzi in the bathroom! The breakfast was amazing, everything on the menu was delicious. The innkeepers were fantastic hosts, having great conversations and giving us great places to explore and restaurants to eat at. Wilmington is a cute little town, everything within walking distance and only a 10 minute drive to Mount Snow. We cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Molly Stark. Great suite for couples a little more secluded in the carriage house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

What a beautiful way to spend an anniversary weekend. The room was small but clean and tastefully decorated. Great breakfast each morning. The greatest was the nightly campfire, complete with drinks from the bar! We liked the walkable distance to dining and shopping in town.

It appears that the owners got behind in landscaping and outdoor maintenance. With the new innkeepers, this may allow them to catch up on some outdoor projects.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tajmahowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a wonderful stay this past weekend (Dec 21-24). Jason and Alicia are such warm and friendly people; they made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Molly Stark room and loved it. The bed was comfortable, the fireplace was very welcome especially after a day of skiing, and everything was clean. Alicia's apple cinnamon pancakes are amazing and I'm pretty sure I could eat them every morning. Nice location, there are plenty of little shops and great restaurants close to the Inn but the Inn itself was very quiet. Alicia recommended a few restaurants to us that were all really good. We had a great time and would come back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Kudos to the innkeepers Jason and Alicia for the glowing warmth in the fireplace nightly although their charming personalities and hospitality out shined that fire immensely. Thank you for the recommendations to local activities and especially for escorting us to the art gallery. The inn is quite cozy and within walking distance to downtown shops. I enjoyed starting the day with a choice of breakfast served hot off the stove in the dining room and the conversation as well. It's like having family around the table as all the travelers are talking amongst each other. I hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
38 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
210 reviews
4.9 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Viking Motel
Viking Motel
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn

Property: The Wilmington Inn
Address: 41 W Main St, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363-9686 (Formerly The Wilmington Inn & Tavern)
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wilmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing