We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing time, best breakfast I've ever had at a B&B.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wilmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wilmington Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mount Sinai, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing time, best breakfast I've ever had at a B&B.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one room, and my children in another. The rooms were great; beds and linens were hotel-quality. If I had to describe the experience, I would say hotel amenities with a B&B homey feel. Hotels tend to be limited in terms of places to hang out, but here there were so many seating areas, we never ran out of unique views or sunny spots to sit. My favorites were the bench by the kitchen-garden and the Adirondack chairs at the top of the lawn. My children spent one afternoon after biking the area just sitting on a blanket in the grass to read and relax. One night we stayed up talking at the bar in the common room, and another night we just played card games. John and Rachel and Jason and Alicia were excellent hosts. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, so morning was the best. They not only impressed us with the choices, but they surprised us with their early morning smiles after we had kept them up so late the night before, hanging out at the bar!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Carriage House are a short walk from the main house, but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at The Wilmington Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks SO much for your kind review. We love hearing feedback. It means so much to us.

Please know that we are no longer serving dinner at our restaurant. We lost our chef - he went on to big things in Putney - and have decided to suspend our restaurant until we can provide the same high quality food that we have become known for. We are located in town, however and there are 7 quality restaurants that are within walking distance. And, as always, our tavern is a full bar with great wines and spirits and is open Wed - Sat, and upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    72
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
56
204
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Spent a weekend here and really enjoyed it. The room was pleasant (Windham: small but had the necessities); breakfast (which was included) was good. The restaurant was the real highlight: had dinner there and the food and service were spectacular. If I'm ever in this area again, I will be sure to try to stay at the Wilmington Inn & Tavern.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quilt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night on a trip further north in Vermont and couldn't be happier with our experience. The inn is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. We stayed in the Deerfield room which was perfect for us; it had a nice bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and a very comfortable bed with a snuggly down comforter that would be nice in the winter. The breakfast was excellent with good and plentiful coffee and the dining room overlooked a beautiful forest that was peaceful in the morning fog. The town is very small and we didn't make it to the national park to go hiking because of the rain but both aspects make this a perfect place for a quiet night or weekend away. We loved it and will be recommending it to friends!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sullivan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wonderfully received by dedicated staff. Very nice breakfast and confortable room. We would certainly go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We got one of our best anniversary gift-- free upgrade to a beautiful suite.
It is a clean, sweet place with lots of character. The breakfast was just awesome. Really wanted to try their food in the restaurant but the restaurant was closed on Sunday. Best place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S0nSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Wilmington Inn's website lives up to its word. The house itself is absolutely beautiful and slightly tucked away from the road. The service was exceptional, and it was nice to see the owners working alongside their staff. Everyone was so cordial. The Inn is conveniently located in town within walking distance of shopes and pubs. I highly recommend staying here for a romantic getaway! Don't forget to pick up some maple syrup while you're at it!

Room Tip: The room decriptions are accurate, so you pick which one's best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We really enjoyed the one night we stayed. John and Rachel were great hosts. The restaurant was closed on the night we stayed but there are several nice places within walking distance for dinner and or drinks. The best thing I can say is that we would like to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
6.6 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
5.0 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn

Property: The Wilmington Inn
Address: 41 West Main Street, Route 9, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly The Wilmington Inn & Tavern)
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wilmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing