We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a bullseye!”
Review of The Wilmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wilmington Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost a bullseye!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just got back from a road trip to Vt. from Michigan. Never been to Vt. before and wanted to stay in southern part of the state since I was meeting my kids from NYC. Looked around and came up with a few names. Without knowing, these were all just names. The Wilmington Inn and Tavern had recently undergone a name change from the Red Shutter Inn (a name used in previous reviews). The Inn sits atop a hill and overlooks some of the town and a river. That river just overflowed from Irene and wiped out a large part of the town of Wilmington. The Inn was lucky and unaffected physically. So during our stay, the whole town as well as John and Rachel were a little pre-occupied with the goings on of the town. But they have owned the Inn for about 2 years now so they have had time to fix things up.
Overall once you enter the Inn it's really cute and has a nice bar area and restaurant. The Molly Stark suite was nice but there was a lot of dust on the overhead fan which I wanted to use one night but didn't dare. For the most part it was clean, quaint and relaxing.
But they have this marquis position and with a little attention to detail they could hit a direct bullseye. There is rust lines running down the aluminum vent which is seen from the front of the house. A nice paint job and some land scaping in the front would make it so much more pleasing to the eye.
It seems as though it is just short of showing to their guests that they are very picky and do pay attention to detail. But as it is the message is that we are too distracted to fix things up.
The breakfasts were amazing. Blueberry pancakes were a huge hit. On Tuesday nite the place was hopping and the chef made an amazing blind tasting with incredible food. Despite serving meat, they easily accommodated a vegetarian in our group. They were super helpful in helping to suggest activities. Rachel is very friendly and easy to talk to. John also was very helpful.
My disappointment is countered by the warmth and relaxing time topped off by good food once we got in the door. I think once they do some minor improvements this is a 5 star Inn. I wish John and Rachel lots of luck. They are a nice couple and are very close to success.

Room Tip: Many rooms have just a stall shower, not many have a bath. Rooms in the carriage house were quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shutterbugs, Owner at The Wilmington Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for the fine review. I wish we could argue with your conclusions but I'm afraid you were correct and quite astute. We have put everything at the inn on hold - including raking our leaves :( - to run a fund-raiser and to help out with businesses and families who've lost everything in the flood. Along the way, we have let quite a bit go. Apologies. HOWEVER, we are back now and focused on getting the place back in order!

FYI - In cooperation with many businesses in the Valley we raised over $55,000 to be used to help the village of Wilmington recover. In so doing, we held a weekend music festival called www.floodstockvt.com with 10 bands from 4 states who played at 3 venues for 1,500 people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    85
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
62
238
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This Inn and its wonderful innkeepers, Rachel and John, were a welcome respite for our group of five. The rooms were sweet, comfortable, and cosy warm. Service was impeccable and friendly. The restaurant is a true gem. The food, wines, pacing, and service could not have been better. We had the tastings menu offered on Tuesday nights, truly extraordinary with gourmet dining on locavore treats. The only thing that is disappointing is that we live too far away for weekly returns! Also this area has a wonderful community spirit that seemed to color all our interactions and is certainly inherent in our innkeepers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The Inn is very quaint. The restaurant was wonderful. Our waitress that evening couldn't do enough for us. Our room (Molly Stark) was very nice. The nicest part being the oversized Jacuzzi tub. John, who was very nice, seemed a little disconnected with our reservations. As we had to ask for our complimentary bottle of wine and we were never asked when we would like our picnic lunch that was part of our package.

Another disappointment was that our room had not been tended to after our first night there. We arrived late Friday and was out most of the day on Saturday arriving back at the inn about 4:45pm. Our room had not been cleaned. It was almost an hour later when someone came to the door asking us if we needed any towels and my husband had to give the dirty ones to the girl and she then returned later with some clean ones. We were never asked if we wanted our room cleaned. It was very unpleasant to have dirty wine glasses and filled waste baskets lying around. We had to make our bed as it's our choice to get into a freshly made bed at night.

We were scheduled to stay for three nights but because of an emergency at home we had to cut our trip short. We left early Sunday morning instead of Monday. When we left before breakfast my husband went to check out and John was not there. He was not sure who he spoke to but thought her to be just a staff person. She was polite and said thank you and good bye. We thought maybe we would have had an email from John inquiring why we had left. We never would have expected any refund as this was our choice to leave but felt a note from the owners would have been nice. Our experience at the Inn was not the worst we have ever encountered, but it really wasn't the best either. John was helpful in letting us know about the road conditions as our trip was just after hurricane Irene and he also let us know about a wonderful restaurant that had just re-opened after the storm. So I don't want to just rag on everything; there were certain points that worked. The Inn is very nice and their restaurant is wonderful. I just wish we would have had some of the same experiences that previous guests did.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shutterbugs, Owner at The Wilmington Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We had been volunteering for businesses in Wilmington affected by Irene almost around the clock so please forgive us if we were a little "off our game" that week. It had been 5 days since many of our friends and neighbors lost everything.

Our policy is to not enter a guests room under any circumstances without consent. Roz, our housekeeper, attempted to speak with you but didn't get to before you left for the day so that is why your room was not picked up. I do apologize however...we enjoy turn-down service ourselves when we are at an inn. As a business though, we respect our guests privacy more. Because of this review I think we will start asking about "service" when people check in. So thanks!

I was sorry to hear that you checked out early and didn't inquire as to why because you had tried to cancel the reservation a week before arriving and wouldn't accept a "rain check" in lieu of a refund. Frankly, I assumed you had a reason and was more than happy to respect your privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had such a great and relaxing time here. Perfect for couples, perfect for solos, perfect for a get-away to the land of maple syrup, lush scenery, and really nice people. The town is a snippet of kindness mixed with class. The dining is local, fine & fresh, and The Wilmington Inn is full service R & R. We will be repeat customers!

Room Tip: Rooms are eclectic... quiet, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dani303030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Perfect for our overnight stay in Vermont. We were in a room with twin beds as we had our two small children with us. John recommended a very good pub for dinner as our kids wouldn't have enjoyed his fine menu. We slept well and for breakfast the kids had the best pancakes of our two week trip to the US.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkhenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

It was only a few days before we were coming, so I decided to call the Wilmington Inn as I had never visited this B&B before. The co-owner, along with his wife Rachel, was so generous with his time in explaining the characteristics of the various rooms that I was immediately sold. We chose the Molly Stark suite, a smallish suite upstairs in the Carriage House.
Upon entering, my first impression was that it was tiny. However, I soon realized that this incorrect conclusion was due to the fact that the ceiling sloped from normal height to about four feet at the outer walls. In fact it is a cozy three rooms; living room with an easy-to-operate gas fireplace, a comfortable bedroom, and a bathroom with a huge Jacuzzi situated under a ceiling skylight.
We found the inn to be very clean and well kept. The entire staff was helpful and friendly, making us feel as if we were frequent guests.
The breakfast consisted almost entirely of local ingredients, carefully prepared and presented in a straightforward manner.

Room Tip: The rooms vary a great deal in size, etc., so I recommend a careful review on their website or a tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We spent two nights at the inn and enjoyed our stay immensly. The staff was genuinely friendly and sincere in their efforts to ensure that our stay was a happy one. We will return and would recommend the inn to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
38 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
210 reviews
4.9 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn

Property: The Wilmington Inn
Address: 41 W Main St, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363-9686 (Formerly The Wilmington Inn & Tavern)
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wilmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing