We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good restaurant for hungry patrons”
Review of Ponderosa Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ponderosa Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a good restaurant for hungry patrons”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The food was very good, the buffet choices plentiful and the staff friendly and efficient. The atmosphere was warm and unpretentious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nasty!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

As one other reviewer wrote, Ponderosa is pretty bad. Even Hop Sing couldn't help. I had purchased two 1/2 price specials from Jump On It and after using the first coupon, I was so disgusted that I through away the second coupon. First, the steaks were fatty, stringy and as cheap a cut of meat as I have ever had. The buffet was typical Artery clogging, bland teasing American food trough fare. It really was that nasty. Unfortunately, one of the worst places I have ever eaten. Though I do have to say that the wait staff was pleasant and polite so they do have that going for them.

Helpful?
Thank EvilCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stopped to catch a quick meal here. I think I was overcharged for the meal, but that's history. Buffet was fine. Limited items if you're watching your fat intake.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelPansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good and good price”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff were really nice, I only took the buffet. I tasted almost everything on the buffet. Everything was really good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Are you serious?”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is some of the grossest buffet food I've ever had(and that's saying something!) We had a "Fear Factor" contest and dared each other to eat the grossest looking buffet items. This place is awful!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dudeisays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing