We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Thyme

Thyme
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Eclectic and creative menu featuring local ingredients. Located in the Old Tip Top Bread Bakery building which is home to numerous artist studios and retail shops in downtown White River Junction, Vermont. Outdoor seating when weather permits.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have been for dinner but this was our first time for lunch. We both had the half sandwich (choice of tarragon chicken salad or roast beef) and a bowl of soup. I had the tomato bisque and husband had the daily special a vegan black bean. Both were very good. We both had the roast beef half sandwich with roasted red peppers, caramelized onions, bleu cheese aioli, The half sandwich came with a small salad of mixed greens with a tasty vinagrette. The salad was a nice surprise. Our server was professional and friendly. We felt like valued customers from all the staff. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmps59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    84
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White River Junction, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“consistent with an urban vibe”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A place like the tip top might not be that interesting to folks from NYC, where there are lots of locally owned, urban themed restaurants with consistently good food at fair prices. But in suburbia and rural America they are few and fair between. Between the painted concrete floors, high ceilings with exposed ducts, lots of glass and being housed in an uber-cool old bakery building filled with active artists, it's really pretty unique. I particularly like walking the halls after dinner- how much more intreresting than walking out into a strip mall parking lot!

the menu is fairly limited and there are not a lot of vegetarian options. The presentation is excellent and many of the sides are really creative and unique. It's officially "American" food, but it's too simple to call it that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vtmudhog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanover, nh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner last evening of delicious cod and an enormous fresh salad. Everything was excellent!! Great spot!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliedartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the Upper Valley's Most Consistently Good Restaurants”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Every meal I've ever had at Tip Top has made me want to come back for more. A pleasant space, great service and consistently good food without being pretentious is an awesome combination.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Half Way Between Hartford and Great Places (I-91 Exit 11)”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Don't be confused by the highway spaghetti of White River Junction. Get off at Exit 11 and go toward town on Main Street. It's about three miles on your left as you enter the downtown area.

Great menu and great food.

Allow the time it deserves.

No draft beer, but a good selection of local and craft bottled brews.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Thyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing