We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very creative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tip Top Cafe

Tip Top Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Eclectic and creative menu featuring local ingredients. Located in the Old Tip Top Bread Bakery building which is home to numerous artist studios and retail shops in downtown White River Junction, Vermont. Outdoor seating when weather permits.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very creative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were so impressed by the service and the creative items on the menu. I tried their nightly special of chilled scallops, and it was wonderful. This would be a great place to visit on a daily basis just to try their specials. Wish we had a Tip Top Café at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steele8118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    83
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Bernardo, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome taste, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had reservation at 7pm but when we arrived few minutes earlier, they were able to sit us.
The place was crowded. The waiter was knowledgeable. I loved the warm bread with their special made dip. The special for that night was: flounder lightly breaded with pine nuts & vegetables - delicious! I got a taste of meat loaf that my sister had and it was very good. The garlic pumpkin
gnocchi was excellent- the first time I have ever tasted this. The presentation of the food was
lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank truthfultravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was "Tip Top," Service was "so not!"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Every once in a while, you come across that restaurant where the kitchen creates wonders, but the quality and care of service doesn't match the cuisine. That's what happened to us at the Tip Top. We had made reservations for 7:45, arrived early and waited. At 7:45, I reminded the hostess that we were here and had reservations. She said it would be a few more minutes. It was another 20 minutes. Once seated, the waitress took our drink order, then returned to take our order. We had noted that the outside sign board had listed daily specials. After we placed our order, we asked it there were daily specials and the waitress finally went through the list. Of course there was something on the special order list that we wanted, so had to change the order. Our main dishes finally arrived, before the appetizer salad that we had asked for. Either training was significantly deficient, or our waitress was having a particularly bad day. The food was surprisingly good for this out-of-the-way eatery in this small town. I would have rated this place another star had the service and customer care come close to matching the Chef's wonderful creations. (The swordfish was excellent, as was the tomato bisque.) The atmosphere was ok, but acoustics were a bit noisy. All things considered, its worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank World53Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDDLEFIELD
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food But Different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A rather well known establishment in White River Junction, Very popular and usually a line to get in. The food is eclectic not your typical steak and potato kind of place. Things like pork portabella meat loaf, goat cheese cake, grilled lettuce salad. Great service, staff are very well educated on their menu and how the items are prepared which was great. This is not what you would expect in the middle of Vermont. A real treasure that will tickle your taste buds and have you wanting to return. Make reservations if possible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PATRICK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't let "Café" name fool you ... WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I'm an experienced world-traveling foodie and I know a gem when I find one - and this is one have no doubt ... We lucked out that they save a few table's for two for walk-in's since this Sat. night was booked solid when we asked at 5pm, waiter and hostess were extremely friendly and professional, and the food was "farm to table" fresh; my daughter had the meatloaf and I had the duck, after the two apps of french fries and garlic gnocchi and warm fresh bread. So unless you are a party of two willing to cross your fingers, call for reservations far ahead of time .. there is a reason this place is always packed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TerrenceDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top Cafe also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Tip Top Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing