We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Fabulous”
Review of Elixir Restaurant

Elixir Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Elixir Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Contemporary American Cuisine
Lisbon, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Fabulous”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Don't let the location fool you ... it's worth the drive (even for more than an hour) to eat here. Elixar is located in an old freight house building converted into a restaurant on one end of the building and music venue on the other end. The décor is very hip/trendy and was quite unexpected after seeing the outside. The only complaint is that upon entering, there is a mothball like smell (is it the age of the building?) which made us wonder if we had chosen this restaurant wisely. It didn't take long for us to realize we chose wisely. The staff were incredibly friendly, the menu was a perfect size/selection and the price was incredibly reasonable for meals, as well as drinks. The appetizers were fantastic (especially the mussels - get a whole, not half order!), the entrees melt-in-your-mouth delicious (even the mashed potatoes were incredible!), and the dessert, which we could barely finish, but had to try (bananas foster bread pudding), exceeded our expectations. Would return here again and again just to try everything on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Above-the-Notch-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    70
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Still a Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Elixir returning to this area for a little R&R. The service was very good. My mother in law and I had the filet which was cooked perfect. My wife had the scallops which we very tasty. Deserts are made on-site and are very good. My wife had a ice cream brownie sandwich which was nice. Prices as reasonable. Would highly recommend and will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RayV555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Out-of-the-ordinary”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I arrived shortly after the restaurant opened and I was almost put off by the warehouse exterior and empty parking lot. I was very pleased that we went inside. Our experience went uphill from there as we were greeted by the owner. The Davidson cocktail was excellent; the cocoa dusted petits filets mignon were tender and delicious and were well balanced by a Sonoma red wine by the glass. Our server was very gracious and efficient. Within an hour, on this Thursday evening, the restaurant was nearly full with locals enjoying the excellent, well-priced food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EABx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Accidental Find”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were traveling through Vermont in the area of White River Junction at supper time and decided to checkout the downtown area. Our iPhone brought us to the Elixir Restaurant and Lounge in a renovated wear house building. Despite no reservation, we were warmly greeted and seated on a very busy Saturday evening. All food is made to order so attention to allergies and preferences is easy to accommodate. One of us needed gluten free food which was understood by the excellent waitress but lack of attention by the kitchen allowed the salad to be served with croutons on the side of the plate. This was promptly corrected and all the food was well prepared and delicious. This great dinning experience in this quiet Vermont town was unexpected and greatly appreciated. Our next stop here will be a planned one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Okay Dinner Experience”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have eaten here several times, initially it was the best in the upper valley (a year ago).
We ate there recently and again the food was just okay, and service was good. Nice ambiance and energetic atmosphere.

Friendly staff, restaurant was busy. Food needed attention, very flat in flavor, appearance of the plates was average, mussles use to be great with fresh cilantro and scallion, and a little heat from the Thai red curry sauce. Same item now is weak in flavor, no added fresh herb, color bleak....

Scallops look nice but no flavor, served on black beans and water cress (bland)..
The two main restaurants in White River (Tip Top Cafe and Elixir) seem to be trying to have a bistro with Asian infusuion some of the dishes just not working.

The stuffed portobella had no flavor, no salt, very disapointing!
The other special appetizer of the evening was house made Boudin sausage, no flavor, dry, and not a pleasant plate appearance...


The wine list was excellent.

Maybe this was an off night but I hope the kitchen takes note and makes some needed adjustments.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vtseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elixir Restaurant also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Elixir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing