We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in Central Vermont”
Review of Elixir Restaurant

Elixir Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Elixir Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Contemporary American Cuisine
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Elegance in Central Vermont”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I visited Lebanon, NH and decided to head over to White River Junction to Elixir based upon Trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed.

The food was great, the staff was very friendly and efficient, but did not rush you out the door. Skip the owner came and chatted with us on several occasions.

I started off with the Beet Salad and my wife had the Tomato Bisque soup. Both were very enjoyable. Next we both had the scallops which were cooked and seasoned to perfection. For desert we had the Crème Brulee (sp) which was very smooth and rich. Overall very pleased especially based upon the great prices.

The atmosphere was nice. Crowd was mixed. My only negative would be the view outside the dining windows is of the train tracks and local homes, but it was not a big deal.

We enjoyed ourselves so much that we returned the next evening and had another great meal.

The restaurant is not as difficult as people claimed, we easily found it but you need to pay attention.

We will definitely return when we are in the area.

Skip - Thanks for some great food and chats!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RayV555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    69
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Creative, quality food, friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Word of mouth is the only way people would stumble across this great find in the Freight House building on the outskirts of downtown White River Junction. And word is out among the locals because it's thriving! I have eaten here several times since the new owners took it over a few years ago and am glad to see they are doing so well -- they deserve to. Great chef with creative, delicious offerings. Friendly staff. Every time I have been there, the owners have been there to greet every customer personally when you arrive and to check in with you on how everything was when you leave. It's a nice personal touch and shows that they really care about your experience. The atmosphere is pleasant, the food is great, the staff is friendly, and the prices are reasonable for this type of restaurant. Last night, three of us enjoyed the chef's vegetarian plate of the night (polenta and fresh vegetables), a delicious scallop offering, and the salmon atop risotto. Their house-made ice cream was the perfect finishing touch. We look forward to going back. The only negative I can come up with is that the noise level can get a little loud on weekends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We found this place when we were driving from MA to Waterbury, VT and pulled off to find a place to eat. We would have missed it had we not given up on finding a restaurant and pullingbinto the parking lot to turn around. The mussels in a curry broth were excellent, as were the scallops. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich. The desserts were excellent, too. Keith, the bartender, was friendly, helpful, and very efficient. Kudos to Elixir!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathylsails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We come from Ontario, near Toronto and have visited Vermont many, many times over the last 30+ years and are staying at the White River Junction Holiday Inn Express. We were looking for a place for dinner and discovered the Elixir. We were very pleasantly surprised by this gem in the rail yard area of White River Junction downtown. Great food selection and very extensive wine list for an out-of-the-way dining establshment in a small town in Vermont. We were greeted by the owner at the door and promptly shown to our table. The food was delicious; I had the scallops and my wife the filets (2 small ones) mignon. Perfect The staff are all very friendly and attentive We will be back. .

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterl38ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Elixir is tucked away in the rail yards, really, and as you drive through WRJ trying to locate it, your heart sinks a tad. However, patience and love of food will reward you in grand fashion. Everything on the menu is absolutely delicious, original and of very high quality. This place would be a hit in any city or town. The decor is urban chic and patrons seem to dress up a little too. The martinis and the wines by the glass are great. The food is a foodie's dream. Heaven.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elixir Restaurant also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Elixir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing