We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's serviceable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White River Inn and Suites
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Used to be an econolodge. They have renovated one side. Ask for the new side and your room will be fine.

Microwave, new carpet, new beds and bedding. No frills, but for the price it's right.

The older side can be hit or miss and I wouldn't stay there for more than 70 bucks a night.

The pool area is okay. It used to be nasty...I think they recently cleaned up, power washed, and lit it up a bit more for night time.

Bottom line, The New side is nice, the old side....stay at your own risk. The pool area is okay. If you are looking to crash and go....great. If you are looking for a nice place to stay with the family for a week....this may not be the place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachandbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busherman, General Manager at White River Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. My staff and I have worked very hard to correct the shortcomings that other reviewers have encountered in the past. Your kind words ahve shown us that our hard work is paying off. We are currently undergoing a multi milliion dollar renovation to the property which we hope will be completed by Late Spring 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for White River Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

I had some trepidation when booking due to previous reviews but decided to take the chance. We had 2 queen beds and the room was spacious. Price was good at $110. I called directly to reserve the room after Hotels.com indicated there was no vacancy for the night I needed. Clean and well maintained facility. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was sufficient although I'd like to see some protein in the lineup: HB eggs or cheese. The eating area for breakfast did make us feel like we were in a corridor (which we were) and most of the table/chairs were on a slanting floor. We did have trouble locating the hotel as there wasn't an exterior sign to help us. They had just switched over from Econolodge to White River Inn & Suites and the signage was not functioning apparently.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busherman, General Manager at White River Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. Your kinds words tell us that we are doing things right. We will take into consideration your suggestion to upgrade the breakfast selections once our multi million dollar renovations are complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed here two nights in late June and loved it. Nice Pool AND workout center. Staff is nice. Very comfortable rooms. Rates are a bit high but worth the price.

I believe that this Econolodge is or about to, revert to a private hotel or condos or something like this.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeySol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busherman, General Manager at White River Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2010

Our name has changed from the White River Junction Econo Lodge to the White River Inn and Suites. We a poised to undertake a multi-million dollar renovation which we hope to start in September. Our plan is to convert 2 of our 3 buildings to 1 bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Plans call for adding 2 more stories to the buildings as well. Our direct contact number is 800-370-4656.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Our first time staying at this chain of hotels, we were very impressed! The room & bathroom were very clean. The bed was comfortable. Pool & hot tub is open until 10 pm, and was very relaxing after a long day out and about.
Breakfast is your typical, coffee, O.J., cereal, mini muffins, we brought back to our room. We did have a refrigerator, micowave, and 4 cup coffee maker in room.
We had requested the first floor, which was nice, because the rooms all have a slider door to the outside, with small patio, or balcony on upper floors. Maid service was fine, we had requested extra bath towels, and were there upon request. I can not complain about anything.
We will return, loved the area, and Quechee Gorge!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mgary56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busherman, General Manager at White River Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We aer working very hard to create a clean, comfortable and economical lodging choice in White River Junction. We are currently undertaking a major renovation of the property which when completed will hopefully make us the "Place to Stay" in the Upper Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This is a relatively inexpensive place to stay. It's not a 5 start motel by any means, but with a little work it could be 4 stars. Our room was clean, big, though by no means new. The grounds were clean, as was the office area, and the place felt safe. The breakfast fare wasn't all that wonderful, though neither was it bad, and it was free. Staff was friendly, location was good for our needs, and we'd go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonypicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We were a little concerned when we pulled up and saw the outside renovation work. However, we were glad that we persevered and booked a room. We were only going to stay one night and ended up staying three nights. The location is great for seeing the area (two interstates intersect here). The rate was very reasonable, and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Nice breakfast. Nice indoor pool.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skye117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Great (economical) clean and reliable nights sleep. Stayed here one night en route to a meeting at Dartmouth. It is less than 15 minutes to the campus.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jfburkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
1.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#4 of 8 in White River Junction
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White River Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White River Inn and Suites

Address: 91 Ballardvale Dr, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7176
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range: $95 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White River Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your White River Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White River Hotel White River Junction
Econolodge White River Junction
Econo Lodge White River Junction
White River Junction Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing