We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing positive to say” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of White River Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White River Inn and Suites
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing positive to say”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

For less money, you can have a much better experience a couple miles away at the Fireside Inn in West Lebanon. Better experience meaning - 2 comfortable queen beds with 4 pillows a piece instead of 2 lumpy double size beds with no more than 2 pillows a piece. We even asked for a couple more pillows and were told there were absolutely none. Also better in terms of two heated pools and a jacuzzi in the Fireside Inn compared to 1 somewhat smelly basic pool, semi-heated.

When we turned on the heat, the room was overwhelmed with a gaseous, burning smell. Maybe not a problem if weather is nice outside. However, it happened to be in the 40s that night so it was not that comfortable.

Be forewarned that, if you book White River Inn online, they will claim that you did not book it with them = stating their website is really some third party named 'pelican' - and will not work with you on any changes to the reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deeincity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    45
    25
    21
    14
See reviews for
64
43
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Driving up to this hotel I was very scared at what I had gotten into because of the abandoned(?) EconoLodge-looking part that is attached to the newer lobby and pool area. I assume leaving the abandoned crappy hotel attached to the building is all a part of their plan since it always made me take stock in the kinds of problems I was having.

Like when my air conditioner would kick on and the whole room would smell funny, I'd just think: "I bet it smells terrible in that dilapidated building." Or when my refrigerator would turn my almond milk into a block of ice, I'd say: "That building A looks like the kind of hotel that wouldn't even give you a fridge." When I would come back and find that bugs had somehow gotten in the room again I'd remember that creepy old building and say "Wild Animals are probably living in there." And when the wifi would slow down so much I couldn't even load a webpage, that long-abandoned Econolodge would come to mind and I'd feel better about dealing with all of this, because it could have been worse. In fact, worse was right there for me to see every time I pulled in.

Also, who numbered the rooms in this hotel? It makes no sense to have every room be a 300 number in a building with multiple floors. I felt like I must have been on camera entertaining an audience watching me look for my 300 number room on the third floor and not finding it.

I give it 2 points for having a friendly staff, but I will avoid this place in the future.

Room Tip: Building A and C should be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Only stayed one night on our way through but John on reception could not have been more helpful and even printed out directions to the excellent Elixir restaurant nearby. The hotel was spotlessly clean and beds very comfortable. We were last down to breakfast but Darlene cooked fresh omelettes especially for us - delicious!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

In short, this was my first time at a hotel in a long while and this Hotel was awesome. The room was nicely furnished and smelled nice too. Very clean from the Lobby to the rooms. Very nice breakfast and Pool area. This is a place that makes you feel at peace while you are there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaS8301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great rooms, great service and friendly people. With endless coffee and tea, the complementary breakfast is eaven better! Beautiful lounge/lobby with computers for internet browsing or printing off directions, very helpful! The free wifi and pool are great with outdoor grills and sun chairs-like home away from home. The staff are well manored and polite. Also, their open to discuss and or help with any issues or give advise. Its nice to know the staff will help in anyway to make my stay that much more pleasent. Thanks!

Room Tip: Call in advance so your pets can come too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed in upgraded room on second floor. Queen bed and living room nook. Had all amenities. Staff was friendly and helpful especially Darlene and Craig. Got AAA discount. Room was 130.00 but worth it. They also have a wonderful indoor pool and great continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddy-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

On Sept 15th 2012 we had made reservations at the Comfort Inn in White River. We had asked for a non smoking room. I am allergic to cigarette smoke. When we got to our floor the place smelled of smoke. Our room smelled even worse. There was a huge red stain on the carpet, hair in the tub and dirty bathroom floors. We got our money back and left. We ended up at the White River Inn. We explained our problem and Craig Carol were so helpful. They had a room for us and made us check it out first to make sure we were happy. They couldnt do anymore for us. I will always stay at this hotel when ever I am in the area. You should be proud to have these 2 wonderful man working for you.

Room Tip: Any room will provide a wonderful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Coolidge
Hotel Coolidge
#4 of 8 in White River Junction
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White River Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White River Inn and Suites

Property: White River Inn and Suites
Address: 91 Ballardvale Dr, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7176
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White River Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your White River Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White River Hotel White River Junction
Econolodge White River Junction
Econo Lodge White River Junction
White River Junction Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing