We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility, great staff, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for an interview at the VA hospital which is across the road (a safe and easy walking distance). From my very first call the staff was incredibly welcoming, friendly, informative and helpful. My standard double room on the 1st floor was clean, quiet and comfortable. I barely heard anyone else, and I don't think the hotel was empty. I would imagine it is less busy than the summer months and had mostly business travelers. The in room refrigerator and microwave were fantastic (they looked brand new) and the complimentary 24 hr tea, coffee, fruit and hot chocolate was a nice touch. The hotel was clean, and the complimentary breakfast was very helpful since there is not much else nearby and I didn't have a car. It had selections for most diets (e.g. yogurts, eggs, breads, muffins). Free in room WiFi, business center and small fitness center were great too. I had to stay an extra night due to the bad weather at home and the staff was able to accomodate me when I made a nearly last minute decision to stay. I ventured up to VT on Amtrak (the station is 5 min taxi ride from the hotel), so I didn't have a car and the staff recommended a local taxi service (Big Yellow Taxi). Prices were reasonable and the drivers were always prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikabbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StringJ2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide fellow travelers with such a detailed review of the hotel services, as well as surrounding attractions & services! The staff of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites is elated to hear of your positive experiences, wishes you the best of luck in your interviews, and hopes to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 319 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2009

We had an excelent room, large well fitted and comfortable. Well equipped business centre and acceptable breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canarytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StringJ2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2009

Thank you for allowing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites the pleasure of accommodating you during your travels, while taking a moment to share you're thoughts with future travelers! We are happy to hear how spacious & comfortable you found the rooms to be, and are elated to hear that our additional services exceeded expectations as well! We look foward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The staff at this hotel made all the difference in the world. They were friendly, patient and
cooperative every time I asked a question. They recommended good restaurants and gave
directions to the best places to see. I will feel good about recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StringJ2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2009

The Holiday Inn Express staff is elated to hear of the outstanding customer service & comfortable accommodations you experienced during your time with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments & thoughts with us & future travelers! We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Our plane was to arrive late so we called to inform them of a very late arrival. We arrived at the hotel shortly after midnight very tired and in need of sleep. We arrived only to find there was no one at the desk to check us in and phone ringing. We called the hotel number to no avail and waited for over 20 minutes before a worker ran in the front door to check us in. Very annoying. We booked a suite and the room was clean but extremely cold and the heater did not work. We used every blanket in the room and was still freezing cold. When we woke up and decided to try their breakfast there was very little left. I guess they put out so much of each thing and when they run out, they do not replace.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeKajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StringJ2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to inform the Holiday Inn Express & future travelers of your experiences during your most recent stay with us. It is troubling to hear of your recent frustrations, and I thank you for the opportunity to only improve on the services we are so happy to provide.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, and upon any return trip to the 'Upper Valley', we hope that we'll have the pleasure of extending the service & accommdations that you deserve as our guest, and have come to expect from our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We were visting to see the fall colors of 2009. ! Below is what we found.

1) This hotel is in a corner and the approach is not at all OK.
2) The room temperature is not centerally conrolled and also you dont have any control over it .. meaning they will will not be able to turn the AC ON as it is centrally switched to heating mode and the rooms are unusually hot. .. you will end up getting up in the night opening the window and this will not help much .
3) Due to this kids will not sleep and if you have a baby .. needless to explan the pain.
4) Front desk responded with fan send out which did not work.

Well rest of the stuff is just of normal standards and noting great.

Not a value for money spent.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank GANEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StringJ2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2009

Thank you for taking time to provide future travelers with your feedback regarding your recent experiences during your time in the Upper Valley! It's a beautiful time of year, and the hotel is thankful that you chose our property to provide your accommodations during your travels! Please allow me to represent the hotel & the staff in offering our sincere apologies regarding both the thermostat & location concerns you've expressed within your review. There are exciting new changes that are developing within our hotel & we are excited that you have allowed us the opportunity to share them! As Intercontinental Hotels Group continues it's relaunch efforts, our hotel is happy to announce the install of a new signage package during the Spring of 2010! The signage will surely assist future guests with assistance in locating the hotel as easy & effective as possible, with directional highway signs, a large interior lit entry sign, & bright blue identifying lights on the hotel itself! With the many temperature changes Vermont tends to provide, we are also excited to annouce the addition of a digital thermostat install, to assist our guests in controlling their comfort, just as they do in their own home! Upgrades such as these, are able to be considered & completed because of the honest opinions provided by guests like yourself, and I'm hopeful that we will have the pleasure of allowing your family to experience the wonderful changes upon any return trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights, and had booked a full 2-room suite through Hotels.com. When we checked in, we were given a mini-suite with a half wall, which is not at all what we wanted. When we complained, we were told that they don't guarantee the type of room when booked through Hotels.com. I think that this is true, and that they were within their rights to give us the mini-suite, but they very nicely juggled rooms to accomodate both us and friends, who were in the exact same situation. Our 2-room suite was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Facility in general was clean, and the complimentary breakfast was a nice bonus. Parking was nice, too -- there are outdoor spots but also an underground garage, which worked out great for us since it rained most of the weekend. The hotel is right off the highway and we had some concerns about noise, but it wasn't a problem. Highly recommend overall.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarkthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We were travelling with my brother and his wife, so we got a suite with an adjoining regular room. The hotel made a special effort to make sure our rooms were adjoining and called us after our check-in to make sure everything was okay in the rooms. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. The free breakfast that was available was very comprehensive - hot items, a variety of cereals, bagels, toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juices, and cartons of milk. The only downside was the kitchen in the suite. It was very spartan: no cutting knife, no dishwasher detergent, no dish towel, no dish cloth or sponge, no paper towels. So if you stay there, bring some supplies. But overall, great value for the price and conveniently located to many things.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StringJ2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2009

Thank you for sharing your experiences with our staff & providing your opinions to fellow travelers! We are thrilled to hear you & your family enjoyed their visit to the White River Junction area, as well as all the great services & acommodations that we work hard to ensure you receive each & every visit! I look foward to utilizing your comments to our every advantage, as we are already currently working to have stainless steel cooking sets placed in every suite for your convenience, and in the meantime, please don't hesitate one of our Guest Service Representatives to have a prepared cooking kit brought to your guest room upon request! Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#4 of 8 in White River Junction
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Lebanon
373 reviews
4.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction

Address: 121 Ballardvale Dr, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7175 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range: $98 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, VT is just what you need when you're on the move! Conveniently located at the junction of Interstate 91 and Interstate 89, this 100% smoke free, newly renovated hotel is the perfect place to call home while traveling on business trips, family vacations, or for the long term visitor to the Upper Valley. Located in close proximity to local businesses, including Dartmouth College, Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, VA Hospital, Timken Aerospace, Tele Atlas, King Arthur Flour, and Thermal Dynamics, other area attractions include Quechee Gorge, Simon Pearce, Montshire Museum, as well as Killington, Okemo and Sunapee ski mountains. Our finely appointed guest rooms feature microwaves, mini-fridges, kitchenettes, free high-speed wireless Internet, access to our guest laundry facilities, business center, 24 hour exercise room, underground parking, free Express Start breakfast, and much more. The White River Junction Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites' central location allows guests to visit both Vermont and New Hampshire attractions, including ski areas, fall foliage tours, state parks, tax free shopping, and museums. Guests can lounge by the fire in our beautiful great room, or stretch out and relax in our spacious guest rooms. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to White River Junction a success. We are the Holiday Inn Express. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn White River Junction
White River Junction Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing