We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildew in the Showers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A couple of years ago I discovered that the Fairfield Inn in White River Junction was what I considered the best hotel in the area. I have stayed here several times. However, during my last stay I discovered that they have decided to start growing mildew in the showers. It was so bad that I asked for a change of room and the shower in my new room was better but still had mildew. The mildew was easy to wipe away. The shower curtains were also dirty. I mentioned this to the management and the reply I got was that they farm out their cleaning crew to an outside company so they did not have control over this. I did not think that was a satisfactory answer. Additionally, during my stay prior to this I discovered the TV in my room included a porn channel that I did not purchase. Be careful if you are staying there with children and be sure that channel is not active. The internet connection was also poor at times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 297 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Was in White River Junction with my wife on business and had some time to kill, so we toured every hotel in town. This Fairfield was the cleanest, smelled the best, and had by far the most comfortable bed. It has been recently renovated, and it shows.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeqsixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for a night after skiing at Killington and was very impressed. I was pleasantly surprised at the room decore. It was very contemporary with lots of little extras to make it very comfortable and pleasing to the eye. I loved the colour scheme. The room was big with a king sized bed, couch, coffee table, 2 night tables, 2 end tables, fridge, microwave, i-pod docking station on the clock radio, desk and bench for luggage. The lighting was excellent, lots of lamps and overhead lights. It was also very clean.

The breakfast was very extensive and the breakfast room had plenty of seats and a fireplace.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The only negative of this hotel is that there are no restaurants within walking distance. There are 3 hotels on the property but no place to eat without driving. On the positive side, the interstate is right there and at the next exit you are in New Hampshire where many purchases are tax-free. There are many restaurants in the next town, 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoGetter0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel with my partner this past Saturday April 6th and Sunday, April 7th. Our two-room 3rd floor corner suite was clean and well appointed and very bright. It was spacious although it didn't feel as warm and cozy as the regular king rooms at Fairfield hotels. For my taste, the living room of the suite and the kitchenette/dining area would have had more pictures on the walls and footstools would have been provided to make sitting on the sofa to watch a movie more comfortable and relaxing. There was a second flat screen tv in the bedroom had we wanted to watch a movie there. We enjoyed our stay mainly because our suite being far from the elevator and the ice and vending machines was quiet and felt private and restful which was what we needed. This may also have been because the hotel wasn't even half full. Last but not least, the breakfast choices provided were good and the dining area decor and set up were attractive and practical. As usual, tea, coffee, apples and cookies were available outside of this timeframe.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the third floor facing the back which was bright and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnolia1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights when attending a function at a nearby college. It was easy access on and off the highway, once we actually found the hotel. Finding the hotel the first time was a challenge as it shares a driveway with other hotels. The hotel was clean and breakfast was more than adequate (continually restocked). The room was spacious; internet worked fine. Decent value for the price paid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9_Lynnette_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed there Tuesday March 26, 2013 in room 208 for one night on business. Brand new furniture and facility, very clean and presentable. Bathroom big, clean and lousy shower head. King bed mattress is not being flipped as the right side has a cavity the size of grand canyon. Front desk was friendly, quick and easy to get checked in. Got to room and the wifi was awful, very slow download speed --so I asked for a RJ45 cable and they had just one at the front desk. The clerk said "I think this will work". They were wrong. No connection at all. For the business traveler, we need at decent connection.

Breakfast was okay, oatmeal was runny (" I don't know how to make it because my mother always made it for me as a kid, I hate oatmeal"- was the kitchen attendant's response).

Would stay there again only if the wifi was faster.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights this past weekend, and were completely happy. Lobby/breakfast area was super-clean and spacious, and breakfast offerings were well-stocked and refilled promptly. Room itself was spotless, quiet, and comfortable. Bathroom was huge. Coffee, tea, and hot cocoa were available day and night, and the breakfast area was quiet and comfortable throughout the day. Every staff member we met was friendly and helpful. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 311Traveler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
230 reviews
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
1.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction

Address: 102 Ballardvale Drive, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range: $115 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn and Suites hotel is one of Vermont's only 100 percent non-smoking hotels and is located in close proximity to Dartmouth College, Vermont Law School, Kimball Union Academy, Center for Cartoon Studies,Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center and the White River VA hospital. Small town service and friendliness combine with its central location make this a perfect base for your business or pleasure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction Hotel White River Junction
Comfort Suites White River Junction
White River Junction Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing