We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgia...”
Review of Hotel Coolidge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Coolidge
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nostalgia...”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our room at the front of the hotel was large and comfortable and looked out towards the tracks. The ensuite was small but neat. The bed was vast and comfortable. It's a fine old hotel and has character. There is no dining, but there's a nice pub next door and an excellent coffee shop with a fine street view on the corner. There was a snag, and perhaps we would have been better in a back room or with more effective secondary glazing. Freight trains started coming through at 4 am, sounding their hooters. It sounded as though lots of trucks and a large digger were going up and down Main Street at about the same hour. Everything quietened down again at 6 am! Maybe both had to do with railway bridge repairs in the town. Sleep was definitely disturbed! Nevertheless we enjoyed our brief stay

Room Tip: Maybe best to avoid rooms looking out on to Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SXDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    95
    51
    33
    24
See reviews for
67
69
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
colorado springs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived on a cold, drizzly Afternoon, Oct. 6th. The large fireplace in the lobby looked inviting but ( like the hotel's heating system) was never used. Over 7 nights (we extended our Road Scholar visit by 2 nights) we stayed in two rooms, neither of which had been painted since the Eisenhower era. Dangerous and overloaded wiring had left burn marks on the outlets and none of the shower/bath faucets functioned correctly. In place of central heat we had small oil radiator heaters. The floors were so unlevel that I many participants had to jam objects into the dressers to keep the drawers from sliding open. The food provided to participants was bland, unimagainative and doled out by the "innkeeper" like his hidden riches. The elevator was 150 steps away and the laundry area would have worked for a "SAW" setting. The so-called "innkeeper" (Dave Briggs) was frugal to a fault. I'm amazed that Road Scholar and the VT Fire Marshall have given this relic a pass. BTW we were chaged 25c a piece for 4 pieces of printer paper to print our boarding passes. Nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skysoxwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbwrj, Owner at Hotel Coolidge, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
This review confused me. The guest extended their stay when they could have departed early if things were so bad. In fact we accommodated them by finding rooms in our long term stay (rental section) so that they could stay and also avoid high season prices. Then they criticized space that was not in the hotel section and also posted a photo that was in our hostel - budget section suggesting it was representative of the hotel. Moreover the comments about the meals program they joined were unfair. It has been our style to serve people personally in order to relate to them and then encourage them to come back on their own for seconds. This has been standard for us for over 20 years with a successful program which has many repeat customers. The central heat was simply not necessary - we received no other complaints - the weather was temperate and we explained on the first night we were in the interim season when the electric heat can be controlled better from within the rooms. Finally our facility is carefully scrutinized by licensing authorities on a routine basis. I must have done something very wrong to get this kind of response because I was on duty for all three meals and three programs for five straight days and otherwise completely available to deal with discomforts but never heard a word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these White River Junction hotels

Keyser, West Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and loved every minute of our visit. We came in on the Amtrak train and we literally just walked across the tracks our hotel room. staff was incredibly friendly and the hotel had the old air historical charms that you expect in that area. We will be coming back next year for the fall foliage and staying in the same hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwvgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

An historical hotel and an historical experience -- simple, clean and comfortable accommodations, and a great coffee shop just down the street. The property is eclectic and will bring you back to the days of the traveling salesman. The front rooms are a little noisy with the train and some traffic - but they are fine for a short stay. Watch for limited electric outlets in the bathroom. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Some doubles are actually two rooms with a bathroom in between - a nice way to share a room with a friend you don't sleep with regularly.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the streets if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We checked in for one night and e. ed up staying a week. Yes it is old, but in that charming New England way. We had a nice air conditioned room and we met very interesting people at breakfast every morning.
We even met the owner one morning. No it is not a modern cookie cutter motel but we will stay nowhere else from now on.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was so disappointed by my experience at this historic hotel. I have a great deal of patience for quirky, old, eclectic, etc, but very little for preventable reservation mistakes. I had reserved a room online so that I could quickly save a spot for a last minute booking. I immediately followed up with a phone call to AVOID any problems with my group of four. I wanted to be sure that the room I had reserved could accommodate four adults (4 beds) and was assured that would not be a problem. You can imagine my dismay when I arrived and was told that my room had been switched. A manager had decided that my original booking reservation(for 1) did not need a room for 4, so my original room was given to a family. That meant that me and my three travel companions had to squeeze into a suite that had 1 double bed and a twin. The hotel's solution was to provide a cot that took up 99% of the available floor space, was not made, and was extremely uncomfortable. I did not receive a very apologetic response for their error but was told that "the reservation was only for one, so...." --- this is exactly why I called to SPEAK to someone! I wanted so much to avoid the hassles that could come from traveling with a group of 4 adults, and yet, that is exactly what we experienced. It was not a comfortable stay, and I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to double check your reservation confirmation for number of guests, since they seem to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Only stayed one night, but were impressed by this old lady. Good location in town with pub next door. Rooms were very nice and the public areas full of interesting artefacts. Staff very pleasant and helpful. only one negative - it is VERY close to the station and at 5.30 in the morning, it felt as if the train was coming straight through the window! Also, breakfast a little spartan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coolidge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coolidge

Property: Hotel Coolidge
Address: 39 S Main St, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coolidge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Hotel Coolidge has clean, comfortable rooms and event facilities right in the village business district of White River Junction. With public transportation available and close, an Amtrak station just a few minutes' walk away, and with convenient interstate access, it's the perfect place for weekend getaways, business trips, and family events. Our staff is friendly and ready to provide excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Coolidge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Hotel White River Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing