We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessential New England”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Coolidge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coolidge
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Quintessential New England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

As we stood in the Manchester Airport, on our way to explore New England, we found out that our Hampton Inn reservation was given to someone else and we had no place to stay. All the Hotels from "Boston to Canada" were booked...and then Melissa at the Hotel Coolidge entered our world. We had a redervation at the Coolidge the next night...but she told us to "come on by" and we could figure this out together.

We had only the best accomodations....superior service...and New England charm awating us. On her own she even put a little chocolate on our bed to help us over the travel disaster.

We loved the quirky charm of this family owned, quaint, Historic Hotel. From quality recommendations for meals...to directions to the best of Vermont...the Hotel Coolidge surpassed all our expectations. If you need a stainless-steel-contemporary-Five-Star-with-a-doorman-Hotel, then look for a chain offering elsewhere. If you enjoy a clean as a pin, family hotel with the most comfortable beds ever....then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side in the front are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRuppanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    93
    51
    33
    24
See reviews for
66
69
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

It sounds so good and what a blast from the past it will be. The blast is when you open the door to your room( Oh No). The furniture is garage sale junk with a small TV that you will need binoculars to see. Lobby area is wore out . The bath room in like being in a $29.99 truck stop. Bed and Towels were Ok at best. Out of seven hotels on our trip is was the worst.........would not go back if it were free.

Staff were friendly, Train Ride is a big bore, This town is a truck stop !!

Go to a neat town that is near by....... Woodstock Vt. WOW Wife loved it !!!

Room Tip: Drive by and keep going !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these White River Junction hotels

Buffalo, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I found myself in the Lebanon, NH / White River Junction, VT area for work purposes. My line of work has me move from city to city on a fairly regular basis, and when I checked in, I didn't know how long I'd be in the LEB/WRJ area. As it turned out, I stayed for 10 months in the "Coolidge House", which is simply a section of the hotel used for extended stay guests. The front desk staff were always courteous, and it wasn't long before we were all on a first-name-basis. While I don't qualify as a traditional hotel guest, I found my room to be quite homely, the area to be quite nice, and my overall stay was everything I could have asked for! I would have stayed longer, but I received another work assignment in another city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

In my personal opinion, there is no reason to spend a night in White River Junction unless you are passing through. There is no "city center". The nicest things in the area are Elixir (contemporary restaurant) and Tuckerbox (Starbucks like coffee shop).

On a roadtrip through New England, we spent the night to enjoy the Friday night summer bands. Big bust. Only plus- the hotel offers free wine to guests and locals.

Check-in took a few minutes- the lobby immediately tells you what is to come. Our room was on the second floor (I believe 135). First thing that hit us when we walked into the room- a fish like scent. I had to spray my travel sized Lysol to rid the room of the smell. The room was probably cute in 1980- for that is what the decor reflected (i.e. lace curtains, no comtemporary bedding, "artwork" reminiscent of the show Three's Company). The only modern amenity was the small flat screen TV. The bathroom seems to have been modernized, but not the room.

The room and bathroom were clean enough. There were hairs in the shower that were not ours. There was a tortilla chip on the floor that we did not eat.

The sad thing is that the place has potential to be turned into a historic hotel with charm, but there seems to be no path to redemption.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a disappointment, Whiter River Junction is run down and not safe. Entering the Hotel Coolidge the first thing you notice is the stale smell. The Lobby is filled with dirty upholstered furniture, old rugs, extension cords and a metal Eiffel Tower with Christmas lights???
The "Jr. Suite" was no better. Both rooms are filled with dirty furniture and outdated window coverings. The windows do not open, the window air-conditioner was old and inefficient. The twin bead was so hard that it could not be used, both sinks dripped non-stop. The shower was dirty with a used hairy bar of soap on the floor, shower leaked, water temperature changed making it very dangerous. This place is wasting energy, does not have recycle bins and should be ashamed of being a VERMONT HOTEL!!
I asked the front desk clerk on our second day where the ice machine was and she shouted back "are you a guest?"

Room Tip: King Arthur Flour recommends this hotel, look elsewhere, there are some beautiful little towns in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Grand old house feel, WIFI, we got here and the was an art exhibit wine and cheese reception and right out doors a music festival! Parking is a little limited, but this is a neat old place with a great country feel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babblefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in the 1970's, and alas, with an unplanned car breakdown, I decided to take a trip down memory lane and stay at the Coolidge. This is worth a stay just to get a taste of what hotels used to be like before the era of Hampton and Comfort Inns with their predictable amenities. Strikingly, very little has changed at the hotel, and it not only has the feel of a turn of the century railway hub hotel, but the updates look like they are from the 70's or 80's. Aside from the unique ambience, the hotel was comfortable and clean. This would be a 4 star review, but on opening a window, the copious amount of soot and grime that got all over my elbows from the window sill was a big turn off.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coolidge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coolidge

Property: Hotel Coolidge
Address: 39 S Main St, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coolidge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Hotel Coolidge has clean, comfortable rooms and event facilities right in the village business district of White River Junction. With public transportation available and close, an Amtrak station just a few minutes' walk away, and with convenient interstate access, it's the perfect place for weekend getaways, business trips, and family events. Our staff is friendly and ready to provide excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Coolidge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Hotel White River Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing