We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”
Review of Hotel Coolidge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Coolidge
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Coolidge because we liked the idea of staying in an old vintage hotel. However in this case "vintage" actually means grubby linens, cold rooms, and mold on the ceiling. The tv set was tiny and wireless access was generally nonexistent.

The staff was friendly enough, but we had a bad encounter with one of the managers. She was very rude and unhelpful.

Bottom line: don't waste your time and money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicki1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 329 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

A quaint old fashioned Hotel with very wide corridors - very comfortable. Well worth a visit just to find that there are still Hotels like this around. Very clean - staff very pleasant. Pity it doesn't do meals, however there is a very nice bar just along the road where we got a meal.

Room Tip: One can get two rooms with a shared bathroom inbetween - very old fashioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I travel a lot for business and stayed here because I really like historic hotels. While it might have been a great place in 1911, it isn't in 2011. Outdated rooms, exposed pipes against walls and ceilings, grungy bathrooms, a tiny television, and beds that I can feel the springs through.
Slightly Bates motelish in decor and ambiance as well.

Staff was great though and the coffee in the morning is amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDeeE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I like early 20th century buildings with a mix of character, mystery, and oddly shaped rooms. I enjoyed my stay and the staff were friendly and helpful. The water pressure was good, and the shower was hot. I was surprised to find a flat-screen TV in my room, and would have preferred a newer, firmer mattress, but I slept well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Polka Dot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The staff are what made this place so memorable. The floors creak, it’s a little worn, because it’s a historic railroad era hotel. The rooms are comfortable and well kept. Well organized, loads of character. Free local bus and down the street from the Ctr for Cartoon Studies. There are two communal kitchen and one laundry room. Also a parking lot out back. A welcoming lobby, wifi, a toasty fireplace. The Tip Top Café was excellent, perfect before seeing a show at Northern Stage. It’s a great place to start out from if you are exploring the nearby towns or farms of VT NH and MA. Bakery with really good bagels and soups for the winter is a couple doors down. If you get one of the two room suites, it’s a lot more room. I rather liked hearing the train in the distance.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSJNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Front desk is not friendly, very distant, barely nice. Room was dirty, window ledges and baseboards were dirty and dead bugs were in the corners. Water wasn't working, then was brown, then wouldn't drain. Beds felt institutional. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Probably would stay at a chain hotel in this area. There wasn't much available with good reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The rooms are huge! The hallway to the laundry room is more than rustic! The toilet ran continuously.
We we did not find the quaint shops and fine dining. Much of the town was closed up in September. The best part of White River Junction was watching the migrating butterflies! the coffee house right down the street was closed on Sunday.Frankly, we were disappointed in both the hotel and the community. Lots of smokers hanging on the streets. It was just OK, but barely so.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanP330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Lebanon
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
193 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coolidge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coolidge

Address: 39 South Main St., White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7094
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range: $108 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coolidge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Coolidge is perfectly situated in the heart of Central Vermont and the Upper Valley Region of Vermont and New Hampshire at the junction of the White River and Connecticut River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Coolidge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Hotel White River Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing