We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quintesential New England experience”
Review of Hotel Coolidge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coolidge
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I was in town for business and stayed at the Coolidge because of it's location (it's the only hotel right in the downtown area). It is also easy walking distance to two great restauronts. I loved the extra touches to this historic hotel; the crackling wood-fireplace in the lobby (wonderful to sit by after a long day), the kind staff (with helpful suggestions for local food and things-to-do), the flowers in the hallway, and the period furniture throughout the building. It is a true historic building...there's not a single 90 degree angle to be found in the place, I think. It has countless nooks and crannies, and a back wing that is used an an Elder Hostel. So much nicer than the sterile cookie-cutter chain hotels! And wonderfully quiet at night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annienorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 327 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

The Hotel Coolidge is not a glossy new plastic hotel. It is the major renovation underway in a a Vermont Railroad town in the midst of an artistic revival. Renovating the Coolidge is an ambitious battle. We had a lovely suite that included a queen bed, sitting room and well renovated bathroom. I cannot imagine that all three floors and 3 wings have been upgraded to date. Nor is it likely that there will be 300 guests in this former boom town. We appreciated the proximity to a variety of restaurants, historical buildings, and Tupelo Music Hall. If you go to WRJ for music, The Coolidge has a special price for you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I first toured the Hotel Coolidge a number of years ago, and was struck by its character--like an early 1900s railroad hotel transported to the 2000s. I stayed there recently for the first time, and the hotel is still charming and lovely...just about every room is different, the hallways have couches and other real furniture, and the front desk staff is genuinely kind. The radiators knock and the floors creak in places, but I see that as proof of authenticity and kind of like it. The surrounding downtown has surprisingly good restaurants open after dark these days (rare in small mountain towns), like the Tip Top Cafe for some mid-priced fine dining, and Elixir, in a converted freight house along the railroad tracks; the latter is simply shocking, in good ways--it is fine dining NY restaurant style for $25/person in the Green Mountains. Who knew?

The hotel is at the center of a revitalizing downtown, so don't expect a cultural hot spot in full swing just yet. It sits just across the tracks from the Amtrak stop. It's a lot cozier and more memorable than a cookie-cutter chain hotel, and easier to get to from the trains or after a night at the theater downtown. Hard to ask for more!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inveterate_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

For seeing live music at Tupelo you can't beat the location. Easy to get to off highway. Enjoyed the small downtown and the locals. Everyone was very nice. Including hotel staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NhMeVtMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

First, we a couple of hotel snobs, so this is ment for those folks out here that care above a clean room and just a place to sleep. I think the prices are somewhat high for what the offer. That said its a great location within steps of lots of food and drink options, all I should say were pretty good.

This is an old hotel, in need of repair, but its kind of interesting as well. This is a place closer to super 8 then to Hampton inn.

very nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank healthybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I stayed for one night at the Hotel Coolidge in November of 2010, the purpose of my trip was business.

First the positives:
- Friendly Staff
- Lively pub next door

Now the negatives:

- The "king" bed had consisted of 2 TWIN mattresses strapped together. Needless to say there was an uncomfortable gap in the middle of the bed.

- The door was very tattered, only had 1 lock on it and there was a 3 inch gap between the door and the floor.

- The two "steam trap style" heaters did not work and the small electric heater which did work could not keep up. The windows also would not lock so it was very drafty in my corner room. I checked my iPhone when I woke up and the temperature was 63 degrees.

- 5 minutes for the shower to warm up

- Cob webs on the venetian blinds and under the radiators

- No closet

- Tiny shower

I would be shocked if this place was up to fire codes, never stay here

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shann0n43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 6, 2010

We were pleased to see our staff rated friendly but confused as to why this person did not ask for any help with regard to the heat problem or other concerns (which he did not because our staff recalls this person and heard only positive indications. We have no problem keeping guests comfortable especially when they point out things to us. We are staffed 24-7 and our front desk is only a few feet and/or a dial zero call away. The ending comment about the fire code is frankly a cheap shot. You all must be able to believe that an older property gets more than its share of scrutiny from officials and we have never failed in this category. We are meticulous about our fire code compliance. Again this was a very hostile remark and unnecessary - come on - we're friendly, accomodating people - we like being hospitable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This is a hotel, not a motel and it is what hotels should be. It is conveniently located, comfortable and affordable. The staff is first rate. There is a well stocked gift shop and the lobby fireplace took the edge off a Fall day. We have stayed there several times over the years and have enjoyed each stay. Owners Dave and Peggy Briggs go to great lengths to ensure a pleasant visit. Their knowledge of the area and its history is incredible. The Upper Vally has lots to offer and the Coolidge is right in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wino37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Lebanon
373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
683 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coolidge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coolidge

Address: 39 South Main St., White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-7094
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range: $109 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coolidge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Coolidge is perfectly situated in the heart of Central Vermont and the Upper Valley Region of Vermont and New Hampshire at the junction of the White River and Connecticut River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Coolidge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Hotel White River Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing