We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better alternatives in town!”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Reviewed October 4, 2007

This hotel is definitely one of the cruddier hotels in White River Junction. It really cracks me up sometimes when hotels charge so much, for so little.

There is absolutely nothing about this hotel that would warrant such a high price (we were quoted $189) when there are SEVERAL much nicer hotels just across the interstate.

We specifically asked for a non-smoking room, and the room REEKED of smoke. I sprayed a quarter bottle of cologne trying to keep from smelling the smoke smell all night.

We went down to the pool area, and while the room itself could be nice, it's barren and empty, with bare wood furniture, some broken, all waterstained, littering the pool area. That's all, no jacuzzi, just a pool in the middle of the room.

Breakfast was good, if you like STARCH. Cereal, Muffins, Waffles, Donuts, Bagels. Wow. Thank god there was a restaurant directly across the street.

It's a very unfriendly hotel, you will definitely get the feeling that they are gouging you for your money, then kicking you out the door without even a thank you. As a matter of fact, when we checked out, (and went to the MUCH nicer Comfort Suites across the road) we were not told "Thank you," we were handed our receipt and told, "You're all set."

Trust me, save your almost $200 here and stay at the MANY gorgeous B&B's in the area, for less money. You won't feel as violated.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sam10114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 193 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

The Comfort Inn in White River Junction, VT is in the good location for visits to the beautiful Quechee and Woodstock areas.

The hotel is nothing special, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. Free wireless Internet access is available along with a much-used computer station the the lobby. There is also a pool and a "breakfast room" that offers free coffee, juice, muffins, donuts and waffles from 6:30 to 10:30 AM.

One problem: The hotel appears to have converted to mostly nonsmoking rooms at some time in the recent past. As a result, the "new nonsmoking rooms" have a strong cigarette odor. It even migrated into our clothes. We mentioned this at checkout, but the staff didn't seem concerned. (Not even a, "We're sorry.")

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sparky1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

I paid $85 and this place smells. the first "non-smoking room" smelled like smoke so I was upgraded to a suite. No smoke smell just that dank dusky old hotel smell. I used to say here because it was clean and ok value. I come back six months later and the hallway and room carpets are dirty and discolored. The smell of smoke (and probably pets) is apparent. i can't take it. The furniture in the suite is threadbare on the arms and the chair is discolored with grime. I'm sitting on the hard wood furniture that I hope was disinfected, and I wait unitl morning when I will spring out of bed and go sit at the Paneras unitl my first appointment. Yech!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2005

Clean and comfortable for this chain motel, pleasant staff, good fast food breakfast of bagels, fruit etc. Good value for stop over.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ItchyfeetOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2005

Considering the numerous choices of brand motels in this small area, it was by luck we chose the Comfort Inn. It was late, the clerk gave us a good rate and we were pleased with the room. Lots of towels. Large TV. The lobby has coffee/tea available, plus there is a good self-serve breakfast in the morning. (Although they ran out of bagels/muffins while we were eating. I saw they were replenished later in the morning.) The fluorescent in the bathroom hummed loudly, and at the desk I was told "they all do." Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aviron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
bedford Tx
316
Reviewed June 29, 2005

This is a good value alternative for the Hanover NH, Queechee, Woodstock VT area. Standard decor, very clean, nice staff, PC available in lobby. Better than expected continetal breakfast, included, good pool. If you are after economy rather than small inn charm , this Comfort inn is an excellent choice.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2005

We (wife, son, self) stayed here for 3 nights during a recent visit to Dartmouth College. The location was very convenient, the room was clean, the breakfast food was more than adequate, and the service was almost perfect. One of the clerks at the front desk checked us out of our room a day early by mistake, and then got a bit defensive when I asked to have it corrected. The maids, however, were very friendly and helpful, and their cheerfulness made up for the grouchy front desk clerk. I would definitely stay here again, especially when we go to visit my son, if he is accepted into Dartmouth!

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyV930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River Junction
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Lebanon
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites White River Junction
Fairfield Inn & Suites White Riv...
#4 of 8 in White River Junction
301 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
0.4 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 56 Ralph Lehman Dr, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001-2087
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range: $91 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel White River Junction
Comfort Inn White River Junction
White River Junction Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing