We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip down memory lane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vermont Country Store

Vermont Country Store
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are The Vermont Country Store, the Purveyors of the Practical and Hard-to-Find. Step back in time as you browse our aisles of long lost products that still work as well today as they did "back in the day!" From countless jars of penny candy to Vermont's finest selections of locally made cheese and meats, to problem-solvers for your household to toys for the littlest ones, you'll feel like you took a step back in time, and become a kid in a candy store when you walk through our doors! Hours for Fall & Winter beginning on Oct 26rd 9:00-6:00 daily.
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Trip down memory lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visiting the Vt Country Store is like a trip down memory lane. It is a wonderful mix of the current and the past. It was fun to find so many of the items from our childhoods on the shelves and chat with staff and other customers. It reminds you of the friendly neighborhood store that had everything you could ever want!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
For us, there's no better compliment than hearing that we remind you of the friendly neighborhood store! Many thanks BillM! Hope to see you again soon. Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    152
    48
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stopped here on our first visit to Vermont and loved this store! We shopped here for a long time and loved the products in the store, many I haven't seen since I was a kid. They offer samples of Vermont cheese and many other things that were out of this world! If you visit Vermont I highly recommend a stop here!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks George! Glad you enjoyed your visit.
You keep visiting and we'll keep the samples coming!
Have a great day.
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for Nostalgia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place is a time machine! Not only do they have items you thought were long gone ("Gee Your Hair Smells Terrific") but new items of outstanding quality (cutlery and bakeware actually made in the USA!!). Don't leave without a visit (much better to visit in the off-season if possible).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you Doug! We've been working hard at increasing our USA Made products when possible. We are happy that you appreciate the efforts! Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again soon! Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Some interesting products, but uniterested staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was quite nice to browse the store and see some interesting products however none of the staff even acknowledged us, let alone offered to help us find things.
We visited twice and it was worse on Good Friday when there were a group of staff playing with a camera - they just looked at the customers as if they were a hindrance / pain.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear 4states, I am very sorry that we failed to provide attentive service while you were visiting our Weston store. There is no excuse for the kind of service we provided. Please accept my apology and assurance that we will address your comments in our staff meetings today and tomorrow. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we should have done a better job. If you'd like to discuss further I wiill be happy to call you. My email address is: backerman@vermontcountrystore.com. Sincerely, Bill Ackerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Step back into your childhood and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My son and I recently visited and we had a great time. We both had fun playing with the toys some that I remembered from my childhood, some from my parent's childhood days and some that are new to all of us. This place was packed with tons of things that you never realized you needed until you got there. We spent a couple of hours browsing, shopping, testing, tasting and basically having a great time!

We taste tested so many items we almost didn't need lunch, but decided that maybe we should indulge ourselves anyway. The on site restaurant was excellent for lunch. We had an enjoyable lunch and a superb dessert before doing some more shopping in town. It was an excellent day and we are looking forward to visiting again.

If you go in March look for the maple sugaring demonstrations. They do sugar on snow on Saturdays in March and it is lots of fun and a treat not to be missed especially for children.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank teensandtoddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Sugar on Snow is such a great Vermont tradition! We are glad you could enjoy it with us. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments regarding our Bryant House Restaurant as well as our toy department. We love it when visitors enjoy reminiscing about the old toys and find a couple of new ones! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon! Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermont Country Store also viewed

 

Been to Vermont Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing