We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Mixture of "Stuff"”

Vermont Country Store
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are The Vermont Country Store, the Purveyors of the Practical and Hard-to-Find. Step back in time as you browse our aisles of long lost products that still work as well today as they did "back in the day!" From countless jars of penny candy to Vermont's finest selections of locally made cheese and meats, to problem-solvers for your household to toys for the littlest ones, you'll feel like you took a step back in time, and become a kid in a candy store when you walk through our doors! Hours for Summer beginning on May 29th 8:30-7:00 daily.
Gloversville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Great Mixture of "Stuff"”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Part museum, part walk down memory lane, part great shopping--all good time!
I found this place a couple years ago cruising VT on motorcycles with a buddy and figured I'd have to take my wife there. Finally got a couple days to get away and made it the destination.
You enter the store into a well-stocked candy store with other food-stuffs all around. There are several places to sample some cheeses, salsas and meat products which pretty well assures that you'll be leaving with something edible in a bag.
There is such a variety of wares that it would be impossible to provide a listing, but toys, kitchen and household goods, heath and beauty aids and clothing would be the short version.
One interesting point is a "POLYHON" music machine in the back. Staff will start it for you and it will produce the most interesting sounds you've ever heard.
We left with some things we didn't know we needed until we saw them, some edibles and a new hat. We'll be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BillP1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you Bill. We understand that you found some things you didn't even know you needed! Stop in on your next visit and say hello. We've got a lot of motorcycle events visiting this summer so could be a good time to cruise down Route 100 and enjoy! Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    162
    49
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Noticeably more pleasant staff than in past - ? New Management”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This shop has an amazing array of products, typical of an old fashioned Country Store (food, dry goods, books, linens, bath products, clothing) and on this visit, we were greeted warmly upon entering the store and assisted by several different helpful staff persons. Such a treat!
On our trips to Vermont, this shop is a "must do". Plan to spend an hour or so browsing and tasting/buying cheese, crackers, salsa, tapenades, etc.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JVCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are striving to make every visit to The Vermont Country Store memorable and appreciate your compliments of our team. We hope to see you again soon! Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, Vermont, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much to see”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Could spend the whole day here just looking around. Definately something for everyone. From penny candy to linens and clothing. Take a day browse and enjoy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandlisaironlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review! We are very happy you enjoyed your visit and hope you visit again soon. We'll keep the stores stocked to the rafters so there is always a lot to see! Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A ton of cool stuff”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found this place pretty much by accident. Well we didn't find it by accident, cause its out in no mans land. We did hear about it, and go check it out for ourselves.

Damn they have jut about anything you could be looking for. Food, great candy selection, tools, cloths, cooking supplies, soaps and so much more.

A very nice quiet ride through some of vermonts prettiest areas.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank slalemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to find The Vermont Country Store even though we are off the beaten path! We have to agree that we are fortunate to be in some of the prettiest country in Vermont! We are very happy you had an enjoyable visit! Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I absolutely love this place! I cannot say enough about it! It really takes you back in time and every time I go there, I find myself entranced. You would think someone would get bored going there all the time, but I still try to go there everytime I'm in the area, which is quite often. Their free samples are amazing too, I can't ever go there and not buy something!

Helpful?
1 Thank KatieC165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillAckerman, General Manager at Vermont Country Store, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much Katie! We are truly HONORED to be considered one of your favorite places! We'll keep the samples coming for yoour enjoyment. Please stop and say hello during your next visit! All the best! Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermont Country Store also viewed

 

Been to Vermont Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing