We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vermont Treasure”

Vermont Country Store
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are The Vermont Country Store, the Purveyors of the Practical and Hard-to-Find. Step back in time as you browse our aisles of long lost products that still work as well today as they did "back in the day!" From countless jars of penny candy to Vermont's finest selections of locally made cheese and meats, to problem-solvers for your household to toys for the littlest ones, you'll feel like you took a step back in time, and become a kid in a candy store when you walk through our doors! Hours for Summer beginning on May 29th 8:30-7:00 daily.
Moweaqua, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Vermont Treasure”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

When traveling through New England it's nice to visit the place that has been sending you or your family catalogs for years. It's like stepping back in time to see the the cosmetics, toys, decorations and foods of yesteryear. So many things reminded me of my childhood as it did for the 46 people on my tour. The staff is always happy to see us arrive and I'm sure you'll be glad you went

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimisTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    156
    48
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Expensive merchandise”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My friend and I had fun walking through the store. But everything is so expensive and most things you can buy online at a much cheaper price. The fudge is good.

Helpful?
1 Thank sotheresthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome, Maryland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great visit, glad we went”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I were traveling in New England in October, 2012 and stopped at the Vermont Country Store, and glad we did. It was a BEAUTIFUL day outside, the place was crowded, however, I didn't feel pushed or rushed, it's big inside and LOTS of stuff to see and buy. We had fun looking at old stuff we used to have years ago that you just can't find any more. They have a snack bar outside, bathrooms inside and out. The sales people were all very helpful if you asked them for anything. It's in such a cute little town, fun browsing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LorrifromWelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Adorable store with plenty to see and taste”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We loved this place!!! So many treats to sample and so many things that remind you of your childhood. Wonderful stop. Amazing treats. Great cheese. Well worth the stop. Go when you have an empty stomach!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Shiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Had Fun Looking But Bought More Across The Street”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a fun place that we treated more as a museum than a store. First, the store is a lot bigger than it looks from the outside. There is a lot to see, from great quality clothing to housewares, toys, everyday supplies, and our favorite, food. The store is known for carrying unique and hard to find items, and we enjoyed seeing things we didn't think existed anymore (remember Tab soda?), We really enjoyed the cookies, maple products, and penny candy selection. Many of the items in the store seemed quite expensive to us, though we don't doubt the quality. Be careful, though, because you will find some reasonably priced items...made in China. Because it was during the height of the fall color tourist season, the store was very crowded and hard to move around. We enjoyed looking, but we bought more across the street at the Weston Village Store, because the items were also of good quality, but seemed more reasonably priced. We did pick up a few items, though, and didn't wait long to check out in spite of the crowds. The employees were decent in servicing customers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rainydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermont Country Store also viewed

 

Been to Vermont Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing