We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windham Hill Inn
Nearby Hotels
Grafton Inn(Grafton)(Great Value!)
$169
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magic View Motel(Londonderry)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Stratton Mountain)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel in the Meadow(Chester)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Brattleboro)
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Brattleboro(Brattleboro)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
204
21
15
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
21
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite barnnew englandrelais chateauxhiking trailsgreen mountainsgas fireplacesoaking tubguest booksumptuous breakfastcookiesthe main housecheese platesnow shoesromantic getawayvegetable gardensitting roomwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 246 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2005

Spring in New England can be pretty dreary. The snow is dirty, the trees are bare and it can rain for days. To escape all this dreariness, we drove to the Windham Hill Inn and found an incredible respite from all our stresses and boredom with the season.

We selected the Meadowlook room. It was the best! It had a big stone fireplace, soaking tub and huge windows overlooking the meadow and mountains. Just getting to the room was fun because it's in the original barn. They've left a portion of the barn intact with a huge chandelier inside. It's really unique and cozy. The luxury rooms are on the top floor.

The food was superb. Because there still was some snow left, we went cross country skiing. They have a ski hut on the property where you can get skis and boots. We had a blast.

We felt very pampered and kept imaging what the Inn looks like in the summer with all the flowers. The pool in the meadow must be a wonderful place on a hot night. Someone wrote in the guest book that during the summer the meadow is covered with fire flies and they even saw a rainbow over the mountains. It's really heaven on earth and romantic. I place this Inn on the same level as the Rabbit Hill Inn in Northern Vermont. Both Inns
capture Vermont at its best.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank watervillevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2005

This was our first visit to the Windham Hill Inn and overall we were very impressed with both the magnificent facilities and front-end service. The inn is located at the end of a country road, and the grounds are just beautiful. Upon our arrival, we learned that the innkeepers Joe and Marina were away on vacation ...and while we were a bit dissapointed, the staff on duty over the entire weekend of our stay were most accomodating, friendly and attentive to all of our requests. The public sitting rooms are very charming, comfortable, but definintely on the more "formal" side. This is a sophisitcated country inn - much more than it could be described as a bed and breakfast.

Our room was in the Main Building - and we were quite pleased with our choice of the "Treehouse" room even with the bathroom being on the "smaller side". If you are looking for amazing views and an really comfortable bed - this is probably among the best valued rooms at Windham Hill. We viewed some of the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms prior to our depature...and they all are very well appointed. We met several guests staying in the Barn - which is very close to the main building - and they all seemed very pleased with their accomodations as well.

The dining room at the Inn is very elegant, and there is not a "bad" table to be had. We had dinner twice during our stay - and the food was very good. Service was good - although I suspect that the innkeepers are the regular "meet and greeters" during meals. Wine list was wonderful - and we've heard that Joe is the expert!

We hope to visit this Summer for a few days...and enjoy all of the spectacular outdoor facilities offered.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelGuyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2004

I can't say enough about this Inn.
The grounds are amazing. We arrived at the height of the Fall color season and the hills around the inn were a brilliant canvas of reds, oranges, golds, and yellows. The room was sumptious and the bed and pillows were among the best we've ever encountered. The chef, sous-chef, and pastry chef at the restaurant are all superb and the food was what you would expect at a first-class restaurant-- quite a surprise to find in rural Vermont. Joe, who owns the inn with his wife, is also the Sommelier and has put together an impressive wine collection. He's very knowledgable and we luckily asked him for recommendations. We had a wonderful Chassagne-Montrachet one night and a fabulous Oregon pinot noir the next. The food more than kept up with the wine.
I could go on and on. First rate. An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tk1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Somerville, MA
16
Reviewed July 17, 2004

My wife and I visited the Windham Hill Inn for two nights in May, 2004. We were eagerly anticipating our stay after having browsed the Inn's extensive website, and I'm pleased to report that we were not disappointed: the Windham Hill Inn met or exceeded all our expectations.

We are nature-lovers, and so the location of the Inn -- at the end of a hillside country road -- was a major draw. The Inn succeeds in creating an air of serenity and natural seclusion thanks to their beautiful gardens and well-maintained trails (one of the shorter loops took us about 1 hour to complete -- without ever leaving the Inn's property!). Also noteworthy are the Inn's elegant but cozy common spaces; we enjoyed spending time reading in the library and tootling on the grand piano. One of the highlights was the clay tennis court, which took some getting used to for us uncultured "concrete-accustomed" types but compensated for any adjustments in play by offering up gorgeous views of the adjacent mountains.

As for the accomodations, we stayed in one of the smaller rooms at the inn, but we found it ample in size and we were impressed by the quality of the decor -- despite the rustic appearance, everything looked brand new. As for the food, the gourmet breakfasts were divine. We had Belgian waffles on both days, each time served with a different compote. Additional treats were the early evening sampling of local cheeses and the tasty snacks served during afternoon tea. Unfortunately, we weren't able to partake of the fare at the highly-rated restaurant as it was a bit beyond our budget at $50/person for the prix fixe. Other local dining options (a nearby pub-style place and a Swiss restaurant about 10 minutes down the road) were very good.

As young professionals just out of grad school, the Windham Hill Inn is the priciest B&B we've ever stayed at, but it was well worth the splurge. Our thanks to innkeepers Marina and Joe and the rest of the staff for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel H, General Manager at Windham Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews