We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful place for a quiet retreat.”
Review of Windham Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windham Hill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

After a beautiful scenic drive to the Inn, we were welcomed by a warm and inviting staff, lead by Katia, the Inn keeper. The inn is located in an isolated spot where all you can hear is the sound of the wind blowing through the trees. Our hostess Katja was extremely personable and friendly. She made our experience special and extremely comfortable. We were immediately given a tour of the grounds ending with the keys to our cozy suite atop an old barn. The room was as cozy as if it were my own house. There was no TV (perfect) however there is an average signal for internet. We ate both nights at the 5 star dining hall, where we were personally welcomed at the front door. The food was exceptional and wine paring was top-notch (Thanks Dan). Upon returning to our room after dinner we were pleasantly surprised to see that it had been cleaned!! WOW. A personal hand-written note laid on the bed from Katia, welcoming us to the Inn. Breakfast the next morning was also exceptional (great views for first thing in the morning!), and when we returned....room was cleaned again. We did not get to hike along the trails, however the little shops in the neighboring towns were well worth the drive.
Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwoodie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 242 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Your stay is guaranteed to be relaxing and peaceful. 1st stay was over a decade ago this stay was celebrating 26th anniversary. Small professional staff works aggressively and passionately to ensure everything is perfect. Food is 5 Star, tasty and a bit pricey but worth every cent. When you want to get lost in a remote area that is truly "away from it all" look no further than the Windham Hill Inn.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Lyndy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Another stay at the Windham Hill Inn, into the very bosom of serenity and relaxation. I know of no new way to say it. Sure, there was more: The exhilaration of the birch forest lighting up like jackpot alert after we hiked from Inn, to meadow and then into the woods to the falls. The magnificence of beauty in this quintessential Vermont setting. But, in the end, I come back to the sheer quiet outside among the mountains guarding our safe haven. The warmth of the fire while sipping glasses of wine selected for us by Dan. The enveloping comfort of our big bed. The sumptuous breakfast and dinner. The attention to detail and special requests by Katja, our favorite innkeeper. All of these settle me down as few other places have ever done, and certainly none within such easy reach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaNwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Fresh off another visit to the Windham Hill Inn and already looking forward to our next stay!!! October 18 marked another Italian Wine Dinner at the Windham Hill Inn and somehow they just keep getting better!!! Amazing food and wine coupled with the finest accommodations, world class hospitality and some of the most beautiful fall foliage you can imagine!!! Katja and the entire team continue to make the Windham Hill Inn one of the finest places to visit in New England.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stevden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Regrettably I could only spend one night here, on my way to Boston. I will return. Here's why...

This establishment is managed by a professional inn keeper and it shows. There is the correct balance between formal guest management and a more intimate, country-style hospitality. My compliments to Katja (the Maneger) for setting high standards and being confident enough to be able to engage with guests so that you felt "at home and welcome" without it seeming to be insincere and formulaic.

The common facilities are comfortable and the Inn's location is very pretty and (thankfully!) quiet.

The dining experience was pleasant, with wholesome ingredients and efficient, willing service. Our bedroom was on the top floor and very well configured and comfortable. We enjoyed views of the pond from the bedroom and of the valley from the bathroom.

Having just stayed in a highly rated inn up north in Vermont, I concluded that Windham Hill Inn is far superior and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 70th birthday at this charming Vermont country Inn. It is truly a gem combining old world attentive hospitality with fine gourmet dining. The property is lovely with lots of beautiful gardens and paths. They spoil you with discrete attention. We even had a split of champagne awaiting up in our cozy room when we returned from a hike to a lovely nearby waterfall. "Happy Birthday to you both of you, Katja, Inkeeper."

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this inn for a few days and really enjoyed ourselves. The grounds are beautiful and we were able to do alot of hiking. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent but dinner was even better! The rates are very affordable. Katja, the manager, was very pleasant and attentive to our needs. We look forward to our next trip to Vermont and especially to this lovely inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Townshend
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
361 reviews
7 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
348 reviews
16.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
22.4 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
280 reviews
8.2 mi away
Four Columns Inn
Four Columns Inn
#1 of 5 in Newfane
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windham Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windham Hill Inn

Address: 311 Lawrence Dr, West Townshend, VT 05359-9715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > West Townshend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Townshend
Price Range: $236 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windham Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-one guest rooms individually designed and decorated, furnished with antiques and locally crafted furniture. All rooms have luxury baths, some with jetted spa tubs. Most rooms are fitted with queen or king size bed, amenities including luxurious bath towels and thick terry robes, hair dryers and fine bath toiletries. Several rooms with private porch or window seats and 15 of the rooms feature fireplaces. Unique style lifts each room above the extraordinary, with stunning views across the gardens. Rates include full three-course gourmet breakfast and afternoon sweets with complimentary beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Windham Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windham Hill Hotel West Townshend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing