We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent”
Review of Windham Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windham Hill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed for a weekend with friends to celebrate a 50th birthday and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are excellent. The food is excellent. The staff is excellent. There are so many wonderful reviews on this site that I don't need to repeat all the accolades. I'll just say that if you want a wonderful get-away, the Windham Hill is a place to go.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnolect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 236 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Jesse Lawrence Room---gas fireplace, soaking tub, king size bed, gorgeous views! The room is on the third floor of the main inn---relaxation! This inn is truly one of our very favorites. Elegant without being pretentious, anything you might need is right there and there are no "airs." We took advantage of the mid week reality break which included dinner both nights. The inn was closing for a week around Christmas which made us very nervous about the food. No need to worry-the food was phenomenal. Highlights included an appetizer that featured quail on a bed of homemade papardelle with dried mushrooms and a dessert of a pear poached in red wine accompanied by gorgonzola icecream. Breakfasts were decadent--mini smoothies to start, baked item of the day (such as a plum ginger muffin), and choice of hot entree--my favorite was chocolate chip belgian waffles with raspberries. The service on all ends was really quite good. Our dinner service the first night was a bit "off"--drinks remaining unfilled and a bit overlapping of courses but the food itself and the atmosphere more than made up for it (as did the generous glass of wine poured by the bartender ). We so enjoyed working on puzzles and snow shoe-ing!! Snow shoes and cross country skis are available in the ski shack. How fun was it to look out our window and watch wild turkeys in the snow flurries. This was our second visit to the inn. I can't wait for our third.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

My husband and I made our 2nd trip to the Windham Hill Inn over Labor Day weekend . We stayed 4 nights in the General Fletcher room in the White Barn (we previously had stayed in the Main Inn in the Treehouse Room). We had dinner at the Inn 2 nights.

It was another great trip - we simply cannot say enough positive things about this inn. The room was fantastic. Having now stayed in both the Main Inn and the Barn, I can say that we definitely preferred the Barn. It was more private and quiet than the Main Inn, which is where the restaurant is located. Both are very nice but the Barn won out for us. The bed was comfortable and the amenities (CD player, bath products, etc..) were very nice. It even got cool enough (at least for us) to use the fireplace some - we really enjoyed sitting by the fire and having a nice glass of red wine. The General Fletcher also has a balcony with a great view of the hills and gardens. The inn's friendly dogs would sometime come up the balcony steps and sit with us while we read.

We had dinner twice at the Inn and thoroughly enjoyed both dinners. My husband has recently become something of a wine snob (at least he thinks so) and it was a real pleasure to talk to Joe and get his input on the wine selection. Our first night we splurged on an amazing bottle of french wine. The wine list (winner of Wine Spectator awards) is one of the main reasons we love the WHI. The food is also excellent and both dinners were delightful.

We took advantage of the Inn's "summer fun package" and it turned out to be a great deal. It included 2 dinners, room for 2 nights and a horseback ride, which turned out to be a lot of fun even though neither of us are "horse people." I know the inn does other packages and they really are a good bargain. Ours even included a basket with baseball caps, bug spray and suntan lotion.

We also went hiking on some of the inn's trails. I will say that the blue trail behind the inn is not for those with bad knees or in really bad shape. The steep section was extremely strenuous. We hiked down to see the waterfall, which was nice but just be aware that going back up the steep section is a doozy (but at least you're working off all the food and wine from the night before).

As usual, the staff was friendly and helpful but w/o being over bearing. Joe's knowledge of wine was a real plus for us, too. His wife is also very gracious and available to answer any questions. For the most part, everyone is happy to help but they let you enjoy your privacy - you get to decide how much contact you want with staff and the other guests.

Overall, it was a relaxing and wonderful trip. So far we have seen the inn during the fall and the summer. We're looking at our schedules to see when we can squeeze in another trip there next year - maybe spring or even winter!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fly3511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Windham Hill Inn - we spent the first night in the Robyn Whitney room and the following two nights in the North Loft room.

We had an incredible stay - the Inn itself is wonderful and the grounds are beautifully maintained. We spent most of our time hiking and just relaxing by the pool, but also ventured in the surrounding towns to explore a bit of the area. We had dinner at the Inn on two nights and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Nathan Lawrence Room. It had a great soaking tub and very nice French toiletries including soaking salts. The views of the mountains were breathtaking.

The cuisine was excellent. Breakfasts were delicious, beautiffully served and very filling. The homemade biscotti were divine. I am sorry I only tried them on our last day. Dinners were superb. We dined both nights and were very happy that we did. The ''prix fix" menus were a good choice (4 courses $50. and on Tuesdays, 3 courses for $35). If you like chocolate don't miss the "chocolate dome" for dessert. There were delicious treats every day between 1:30- 5:00 including coffee and tea. Also a cheese and crackers tray in the evening.

The swimming pool was a nice retreat after a long day of driving in the countryside.

The inkeepers were amable and visible. The labradors so loving....

The only complaint was that the air conditioning in our room was not cooling well. We let them know inmediately but the problem persisted both nights. Too bad because everything else was great.

Overall a great stay. Recommended!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

My husband and I visited vermont for a weekend of relaxation & absolutely LOVED the Windham Hill Inn. We stayed in the Matilda Lawrence room, which was great. Unfortunately, the weather was rainy & cloudy that weekend, but the views from the room would have been beautiful had it been sunny or even snowy. We hiked on their trail, walked around the premises, even played Scrabble (they have boardgames in their lounge area). Their breakfast & dinner were outstanding! Everything was very clean as well. Overall, a great place for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank heysarahbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Stayed in the Marion Goodfellow room for one night over a weekend in May - the wildflowers were just starting to bloom and enjoyed the scenic drive up from Boston.
The room we stayed in was gorgeous - the cupola with its 360 degree views was pretty special, and after reading the guest book, seemed like everyone else thought so, too. The large whirlpool tub in the bathroom was also fantastic.

We started the hike around the grounds in sandals and it was far too trecherous for us - I've heard the waterfall is pretty special, but not for the faint at heart.

Our dinner was excellent - fresh, local ingredients, and a fabulous wine list. They had an impressive selection of Washington Reds - try the Woodward Canyon Old Vines cab if they still have it - purple inky color and long, tannic finish (almost 15% alcohol) that goes on and on. I've taken my girlfriend to tons of fantastic restaurants in London and she still maintains this meal was one of the best she's ever had.

I would come back for the wine list / food alone, and the excellent setting makes this a place to return to again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dbesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Townshend
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
7.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
659 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
19.9 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windham Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windham Hill Inn

Address: 311 Lawrence Dr, West Townshend, VT 05359-9715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > West Townshend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Townshend
Price Range: $200 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windham Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-one guest rooms individually designed and decorated, furnished with antiques and locally crafted furniture. All rooms have luxury baths, some with jetted spa tubs. Most rooms are fitted with queen or king size bed, amenities including luxurious bath towels and thick terry robes, hair dryers and fine bath toiletries. Several rooms with private porch or window seats and 15 of the rooms feature fireplaces. Unique style lifts each room above the extraordinary, with stunning views across the gardens. Rates include full three-course gourmet breakfast and afternoon sweets with complimentary beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Windham Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windham Hill Hotel West Townshend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing