We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing New Year's Eve”
Review of Windham Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windham Hill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was our second visit to the Windham hill inn, and we are definitely coming back for some tranquil time, to relax an enjoy the amazing scenery of Vermont.

We came for two nights during the new years eve weekend, and we had the usual amazing personal service offered by the innkeeper and all her gracious staff. The freshly cooked, distinctive and flavor abundant breakfast in the morning, and we splurged ourselves in one of the best new years celebration we ever had. There a nice jazz band playing, fire going in one of the rooms, and just the perfect combination of great food and wine, and the best part of it? We only had to walk a few feet to reach our room. We cannot recommend this place enough, it has won our hearts.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Windham Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 234 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

We had a delightful, albeit short one night stay at the Windham Hill Inn. The room was beatiful and had a fireplace, a large soaking tub, and windows with views of the lovely surrounding fields and hills. The setting is serene and lovely. Overall, a perfect place to unwind.

While we didn't eat dinner, we have been told by several people that it is very good. Based on the breakfast we did have, we can believe the dinners must be good. Everything was homemade and delicious.

In addition to the food, the room and the setting, the great staff here made our stay even more perfect. The innkeeper, Katja, probably is the reason for this. She was extremely helpful and friendly, and we could tell by her actions and from what she told us that she really strives to make everyone's stay as pleasant and memorable as possible. Her entire staff reflected these sentiments.

Even though this was a brief visit for us, we will have fond memories of the experience and are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth_in_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We have been long time visitors to relais chateaux hotels. Almost always they deliver the quality to justify the price. Windham Hill is no exception. Prior reviews on this site generally capture our experience. Our room was sizable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast and dinners were among the best meals we have had. But what makes this particular inn better than most is the contact with Katja, the innkeeper. I don't think she ever sleeps! The day after Christmas we took a ride to tour the area. As luck would have it, we developed car trouble about 30 minutes from the inn. Not a good thing to have in Vermont on a legal holiday! We called the inn for "help" and Katja left the inn midday when I am sure she would have preferred to take short rest between meals to pick us up. To make the situation better (or worse) when Katja arrived at the car we were able to move our car without her assistance. We felt horrible for imposing unnecessarily upon Katja and she couldn't have been more understanding.

While we all can find good rooms, good food and a great location, the charm and interest in our enjoying the property by its innkeeper was unparalleled in our prior experiences.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lf333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Decided on a ski trip to Vermont and found this luxury Inn in southern Vermont. The accomodations, as well as the property and staff were absolutely perfect. I stayed in the North Loft Suite which is one of the most comfortable suites I've ever stayed in. We were just a short ride to many ski area (1/2-3/4 hours) and without question, I would return to this Inn. It was a little pricy, but well worth every penny. If your looking for luxury and privacy in a beautiful setting, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: I was in the North Loft suite, I highly recommend, Didn't see other rooms or suites, but cannot...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Absolutely beautiful, quiet, tucked away gem. We stayed here in March 2010 for a quick weekend getaway. The Taft suite was perfect- huge comfy bed, window seat, relaxing tub and a great fireplace! Had dinner at the Inn the first night- we were the only ones there for most of the meal! Such attention to detail, and beautiful grounds to explore. Love the coffee, tea and cookies available all day. Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Taft suite
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLEinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

This Inn at the end of a dead end road is the perfect escape. We found Katja and her staff both friendly and informative. It was like a visit with old friends. There was coffee and tea available 24 hours a day. In the afternoon there was hot mulled cider and hot chocolate if you were so inclined. Cookies and scones for a treat and a cheese board in the early evening.
We did not eat dinner at the Inn but probably will next visit. Breakfast was good but I think the pancakes could have been a little larger. There was always two choices for the breakfast entree.
The views from our room and deck were beautiful in all directions. I enjoyed sitting in the window seat adjacent to the gas fireplace.
While lunch is not served you can order a "picnic" lunch to take with you or to eat at the Inn.
If you are looking for a place to recharge in any season...Go to Windham Hill you won't be disappointed...

Room Tip: Tree House Room is charming...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cttravelers_390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I was looking to get away for a quick trip, and I could have stayed a month. My room was amazing, with the most stunning views of the mountains a glance away. The dining was above and beyond what I expected, and I mentioned to Katja, the innkeeper, how delicious one of the courses was; she remembered and had a serving of it prepared for me to take with me on the drive when I checked out. The bare minimum technological necessities and above the call of duty attention by the staff helped me return to humanity and sanity in one all-too-short weekend. Highly recommended, they'll be seeing me again for sure.

Room Tip: There's one particular room in the barn with a jacuzzi that has a window to the scenic mountains...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Townshend
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
7.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
337 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
640 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Four Columns Inn
Four Columns Inn
#1 of 5 in Newfane
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windham Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windham Hill Inn

Address: 311 Lawrence Dr, West Townshend, VT 05359-9715
Location: United States > Vermont > West Townshend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Townshend
Price Range: $223 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windham Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-one guest rooms individually designed and decorated, furnished with antiques and locally crafted furniture. All rooms have luxury baths, some with jetted spa tubs. Most rooms are fitted with queen or king size bed, amenities including luxurious bath towels and thick terry robes, hair dryers and fine bath toiletries. Several rooms with private porch or window seats and 15 of the rooms feature fireplaces. Unique style lifts each room above the extraordinary, with stunning views across the gardens. Rates include full three-course gourmet breakfast and afternoon sweets with complimentary beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Windham Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windham Hill Hotel West Townshend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing