We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dog-Friendly Dream Come True” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Paw House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Rutland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Paw House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 West Rutland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Dog-Friendly Dream Come True”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I found The Paw House Inn via dogfriendly.com, and since we usually plan our travel to accomodate our two furkids..., this place seemed more than logical. We drove up from Georgia (1200mi one-way) and it was totally and absolutely worth it! Upon arriving we were greated by the owner, Mitch, who was very sincere and helpful in showing us around the inn and grounds. The inn is an upkept 1870's farmhouse with cozy furnishings and a thematic yet tasteful decor. We stayed in "The Chase", a clean, comfortably spacious room with a wonderful view of the mountain ridgeline. Mitch gives you a selective breakfast menu, with fresh cooked meals which contain local ingredients, and if you choose to dine on the backporch your doggies are welcome to join. The inn grounds are very attractive and well maintained with pretty flora & fauna, a fenced-in dog park and walking trails. Lastly, there is a 24hr doggie-daycare facility (Mario's Playhouse). Although I have nothing against boarding (for reasonable amounts of time), we chose to take our pups along with us. There are tons of great scenic hiking trails, art galleries, antique shops, mom n pop's, roadside attractions for photo opps, etc etc.
If you're going to travel with your best friend/s, The Paw House is the place. Thank you Mitch, Jen and Stanley for making The Paw House a reality for dog-lovers! Its quite a drive, but something tells me we'll be back!

Room Tip: Call prior to booking if you need more details. Mitch and Jen are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    43
    6
    14
    10
See reviews for
67
126
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our first vacation traveling with our two dogs. Although prior reviews were generally positive, we really didn't know what to expect. The Paw House Inn turned out to be just what we wanted and needed. The room (Good Dog) was cozy and comfortable. Both canines and humans slept well. Mitch's breakfasts were delicious and made to order, vegan for me. Most people ate on the porch with their dogs, but we chose to eat inside, taking turns in the dining room, while the other stayed in the room with the mutts (you're not allowed to, and shouldn't be, leaving them alone there). They have doggie day care, but we were not comfortable going anywhere without our "babies." But it's a nice service for those who want and/or need it.

Our dogs got to play with other dogs in their fenced-in area, and we all went hiking on a trail that starts on the property and provides gorgeous views of the mountains and fall foliage. The inn itself is decorated with a dog theme throughout, a little scruffy, but then again, you wouldn't want anything precious for the dogs to damage.

I walk dogs at a no-kill shelter near our home, and I've already recommended the place to two of my fellow walkers. My friends and co-workers, many of whom have canine companions, will hear about this wonderful place (and have to look at my photos).

Mitch and Jen are warm and friendly hosts, with lots of recommendations for places to eat, to hike, to explore. They were the best part of what came to be a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor are high and steep. None of us have mobility problems, but our bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent a wonderful night here with our Great Pyrenees, Keira. They were all excited to meet her and treated her like royalty ( and her humans too)! We stayed in the room named "Spot" and thought it was a great room. A comfy queen sized bed, a sitting area and our own private porch with chairs and a swing. Even though it rained the whole weekend, we were still able to sit out and enjoy the porch and the beautiful scenery. Keira had her own bed too! There is a fenced in play yard for the dogs with agility equipment, but Keira was on vacation and did not wish to exercise! She did however, enjoy walking on the hiking trails. And oh, what a view! The highlight of our trip was sitting on the back porch Sunday morning eating a delicious breakfast made by Murphy. We could have sat there for hours. The inn is clean and all areas are dog-friendly. The staff there is friendly, helpful and always smiling. Mitch, the owner, goes out of his way to welcome you. We did not use Mario's Playhouse, but we did tour it and noticed that there was already a spot set up for Keira if needed. Can't wait to come back!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had such a great time last year that we went back again. The Paw House is the best of both worlds if you have a dog. When you want to hang out with your dog, there is a dog bed in your hotel room, a dog park in the back yard, and a list of dog-friendly hikes given to you upon check-in. The staff give recommendations for dog-friendly activities while you eat breakfast (on the porch, with your dog) and you can chat with the other guests for even more ideas. When you want to go to a restaurant or museum, you can leave your dog in the Playhouse (which is, no matter what they say, a kennel, but it is clean, air conditioned, and the enclosures are big) and the staff will take care of your dog for you. We left our dog for 9 hours one day while we were out adventuring and came back to a dog that was safe, healthy, and had been walked and fed. We stayed in Shakespeare's Retreat with our daughter, who is already begging to go back.

Room Tip: You can use the photos on the website to choose a room. Each is unique. If you need something specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XannyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I, my significant other and our best friend, our white german shepherd, Spencer, recently stayed at the Paw House Inn and throughouly enjoyed ourselves. We called at the last minute and we were fortunate they had an opening. We were in the Rin Tin Tin room. How appropro for a GSD! It was on the first floor and again fortunate, since Spencer has mobility issues. We were very late in arriving, but Mitch, the owner,could not have been nicer, as was the entire staff. Breakfast was terrific, all our needs and those of Spencer were met and exceeded. Loved the framed antique renderings of "Rinny" and Rusty as well as the story books in the room. The entire Inn was just perfect. Can't wait until our next visit!

Room Tip: Geared for dog owners, if your dog has mobility issues, ask for one of the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I think we about to go to our 10th trip at the Paw House. Can't wait to see owners Mitch and Jen and to meet all our fellow guests. Such a nice simple, cozy, comfy vacation. Where you get a great breakfast followed by hours hanging in the on site dog park watching your dogs having the time of their life while you enjoy the company of fellow dog lovers. Then we explore beautiful Vermont. Art Galleries, quaint towns, antiques, great restaurants, and lovely natural surroundings. Don't miss Dakin Farms where you can try EVERYTHING and leave as if you had a free lunch. If you love to hang with your dog, love to travel, and love talking to nice people then the paw house is for you. hey maybe we will see you there sometime. Perhaps on trip # 11!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lydiabauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

i really wish i would have found this rating page prior to my visit to paw (poor) house. it was like a campground, located miles away from anything. the young girl that met us upon arrival was indeed very cordial, polite etc. ( just doing her job) however she was never told of the special needs that my dog required,i was told would be met, which i was assured by the owner per our telephone conversatiom prior to our arrival. when she escorted me to the playhouse in 90 degree weather upon entering i honestly was set back in disgust, the owners advertised that the playhouse was climate controlled, there was an exhaust fan mounted on an outside wall turned off.not sure if it even worked. did not stay there long enough to even ask. no way was i going to leave my dog there. The room rin tin tin certainly was not what we expected. if pictures were posted on their web page i am sure it would turn off many looking for pet friendly establishments. Ooh wellli

Room Tip: ask for pictures of rooms and playhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank Hinky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDVermont, Owner at The Paw House Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
It was unusually hot here during these people's visit. It is understandable that they were unhappy. But we still regret that we were not able to satisfy their needs.

Our facility is completely climate controlled. If someone has a problem locating the controls or is even dissatisfied with the quality of our existing systems, we always do everything in our power to help remedy the situation. Most people really enjoy our inn, our rooms, our location, and our staff. It is too bad that these folks did not. But in this case, we were not given the opportunity to right any wrongs. We apologize to them for our shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Rutland
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paw House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paw House Inn

Property: The Paw House Inn
Address: 1376 Clarendon Ave, West Rutland, VT 05777-9481
Location: United States > Vermont > West Rutland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and unique Bed and Breakfast/Hotel that caters primarily to dog lovers and their dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Paw House Hotel West Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing