We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place Like No Other!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Halifax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 West Halifax B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Place Like No Other!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I found Abbott's Glen just over a year ago. What an amazing place! In fact, we enjoy visiting the Glen so much that this past summer we changed our vacation plans, forgoing a trip out of the country to spend a week at the Glen instead. The guest houses are extremely well maintained. Each guestroom is unique in décor and is cozy and immaculate. Fresh linens and comfy robes are never in short supply. The grounds are a nature paradise and can be enjoyed throughout the year. Lush vegetable, herb, and flower gardens are blooming in the summer while the magnificent colors of foliage are beautiful to enjoy in the fall. During winter there is nothing better than sitting by a warm fire in the Carriage House. Amy’s cooking is absolutely outstanding! The food is prepared with the utmost of care and each meal is savored for its delicious flavor. Amy’s attention to detail is first class, not only does she focus on making great food, she also takes great care in the art of presentation. For those who enjoy music and dancing, Lindy is your host in the Carriage House!!! Whether just talking with new friends or dancing the night away you are sure to have fun and lots of laughs. Amy and Lindy are terrific hosts. They are truly dedicated to ensuring that each guest has an enjoyable visit. We always look forward to the times we spend at Abbott’s Glen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
80
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been fortunate enough to have been able to stay at The Glen perhaps 20 times over the last 5 years or so. I have been treated better at The Glen than at some 5 star hotels when I travel on business. The hardest part about going there is leaving. Its a very friendly and comfortable place to be - a great place to forget about everything and just go 'off grid' for a few days and recharge. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blonde G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, WIsconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Abbott's Glen. What a great experience! It was everything we were hoping for in a quaint Vermont Inn. Over the years we’ve stayed at several B&Bs and over 50 different nudist and clothing optional resorts. We’ve enjoyed them all but only a select few have earned our respect for a return visit. Abbott’s Glen is one of them.

The Inn offers a serene, relaxing, and homey atmosphere. All rooms are extremely clean and decorated in a warm and welcoming Vermont theme. There is wi-fi, large screen TV, a hot tub, a pool table, games, and several lounging areas. In addition, there are plenty of outdoor activities to keep you busy during the day-sunbathing at the pond or on the lawn, floating down the river, hiking in the woods, golfing at their 4 hole course, outdoor showers, horseshoes, an outdoor sauna, and great areas to socialize. And best of all, these activities can all be done in the nude.

Amy, Lindy and their assistant Liz were gracious hosts. They’ve mastered the B&B experience. Amy’s down home Vermont recipes were the best! The breakfasts were delicious with a wide variety to choose from. On Friday night Lindy made 5 great varieties of homemade pizza in their wood fueled stove. Our only regret was that we were unable to stay for the Saturday evening dinner of lobster.

As nudists, we often say we are going to visit friends, we just just haven’t met them yet. This was certainly the case during our 2 ½ days at Abbott’s Glen. Abbott’s Glen is the perfect four seasons clothing optional resort for first timers as well as experienced nudists. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelers260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had the pleasure of attending Abbott's Glen's 8th anniversary dinner last weekend. It was such a classy event! Candle lit tables for 55 guests! live acostic music. Speeches by people who's lifes have been forever changed by being part of the "Abbott's Glen Family." Amy and Lindey have greated a paridise that is surely a cut above any clothing optional resort anywhere! The food- beyond belief! The accomodations- cozy and beautiful! The natural beauty of Vermont- nothing like it! 55 people gathered to celebrate eight years of great times at Abbotts Glen. Thank you Amy and Lindey for all you do to make Abbotts Glen such a magical place to be!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We discovered Abbotts Glen about a year ago, and have kept coming back as often as possible, as we find it to be the ideal spot for wonderful weekend fun. The grounds are beautiful, with expansive fields, an abundance of flowers, and pastoral Vermont views. There is a lovely pond near the Inn for swimming, floating, and sunning. A short walk down the hill and through the forest brings you to another great spot: a peaceful area at the river for floating in tubes and sunning. The paths through the woods on their 50 acres are shaded and beautiful, and pretty bug-free, the food is gourmet and to-die-for, and the dancing at night after dinner is lively and great fun. And of course being able to be nude all day in this paradise is so great!
Best of all are our hosts, Amy and Lindy, who combine the ultimate in creativity, care for every detail , and warm hospitality. Amy is truly a creative genius in the kitchen and in decorating, making everything beautiful and appealing. We can't say enough about how great the food is, and how classy the presentation. Lindy is brilliant when it comes to fixing, building, and repairing everything that needs work on the property. He keeps it all in very good shape, even when Mother Nature creates havoc as she did last year with Hurricane Irene. Liz is their very capable and efficient assistant who is also a talented baker and decorator. Amy and Lindy had a beautiful dream that they made come true, and we feel incredibly fortunate to be the beneficiary of their dream, their hard work, and their creativity. We give Abbotts Glen an enthusiastic thumbs-up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceftee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our second visit to the Glen and it was as spectacular as the first. This is a clothing optional resort, most people are nude, but there is also a wide variety of coverups used, in particular for meals. The meals provided on the weekends are a must. The breakfast is a little late for me, so we opted for bringing some muffins. They do not offer lunches or meal on non weekend days so you will need to bring something or go offsite. We have both camped and stayed in a room and have brought a cooler with food which worked fine. The grounds are well maintained as are the rooms. The atmosphere is very friendly and social, but if you do not with to mingle the grounds are big enough to find a spot of your own.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1964Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We are a 40 something couple who have traveled extensively and enjoyed clothing optional vacations all over the world. Abbott's Glen was truly relaxing and enjoyable. We camped while there and chose not to partake in any of the meals due to our dietary restrictions. We enjoyed the beautiful setting, relaxed atmosphere and the friendly, welcoming hosts and guests. The area is great for outdoor activities such as kayaking, mountain biking, swimming, hiking, etc. which is what led us to our stay. The only cons were the lack of shade at the campsites and the distance to the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank emiloohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Halifax
17.5 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Green River Bridge House
9.5 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
8.0 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground

Property: Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground
Address: 3542 VT Route 112, West Halifax, VT 05358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > West Halifax
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Halifax
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful clothing optional eight room country inn, located on 55 wooded acres. Amenities include a wood-fired Finnish sauna, hot tub, hiking trails, pond and river for swimming, 5-hole golf course, and club house with pool table, darts, and ping pong. Massage services available with advance notice. Gourmet Dinners and breakfasts served in the dining room. Weekend evening dances held in Club Sugar Shack. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbott`s Glen Hotel West Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing