We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Follow the signs to Pizza Pub”
Review of The Parker Pie Co.

The Parker Pie Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Diner, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Parker Pie Co. Started as a small pizza shop in the back of the Lake Parker Country Store. While it is still a little pizza shop in the back of a country store, the quality of the food and the community atmosphere has turned it into a favorite eatery and pub for locals and seasonal clientele alike. The Parker Pie Co. Is a foodie destination not to be missed. In addition to our famous pizza, our revolving beer menu features both Vermont brews and the best fermented beverages from around the globe.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Follow the signs to Pizza Pub”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stopped in on snowmobile over the weekend. This place is amazing! Staff was efficient, friendly & helpful. Had some really excellent sandwiches, chased with a few tasty local micro brews. Will be adding Parker Pie Company to our annual list of must go places.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FzyBunnySliprs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    49
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Service wasn't great”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had been wanting to try this place for a while. Tried to go in the summer and it was packed. So we planned to go back mid-afternoon on a winter day when it was pretty quiet. We walk in and sit at the bar. The bartender asks what we want - we ask to see menus. She says, "They're at the ends of the bar. Where you came in." (Duh. Didn't you know that?!) Most restaurants hand you a menu so I don't know why they would assume that you should know to get your own but whatever. Someone came up to the bar to ask for water. She says, "There's a water cooler around the corner. (Duh. Didn't you know that?!) They bring out the pizza and bring you the plates, but you have to get your own silverware and napkins (Duh. You get those at the station around the corner. Didn't you know that?!). The guy sitting next to us asked her to check on his wings because they were taking a while. She completely ignored the request and went back to counting out her drawer. When he was done, she actually asked if he wanted anything else. He said he was all set. So, instead of bringing him his check, she walked away and started putting away dishes. He had to flag her down and ask for his check. In total, if you aren't a regular, you are made to feel very awkward here. The food was good and the beer selection interesting but, based on the experience, I wouldn't go out of my way to go back there again. And maybe they like it that way.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bostowyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne E, Public Relations Manager at The Parker Pie Co., responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We truly value the opinions of our customers, and we sincerely apologize for the experience you had at Parker Pie. Policies like asking customers to order at the bar, or grab self-serve water from the cooler are in line with our casual pub-style atmosphere, and allow us to keep prices reasonable on our fresh, local food and craft beer. However, rude service is never acceptable, and we have addressed this issue with the employee you encountered and taken steps to rectify the situation. We work hard to offer friendly and consistent service to all our customers, locals and visitors alike, and do consider this instance to be an anomaly. Thanks again for the helpful feedback; we encourage you to visit us again and give us a chance to make it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than just pizza”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Certainly off the beaten path. This place is about two miles off the main road. Word of mouth brought us here and the food was wonderful. A quaint little place in the middle of nowhere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siegel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Trying the pizza at a Parker Pie was on our "To Do" list for a long time. Last evening we finally went there, and we enjoyed the pizza. My wife and our friends also enjoyed some Hill Farmstead beer with their pizza. There were four in our group, and we shared 2 medium sized pizzas. It was plenty for us. We finished both pizzas, but it was a challenge. Good thing we had been hiking and were quite hungry.

We had a Greek pizza and The Works pizza. The men thought The Works was better, and the ladies thought the Greek pizza was better. Both were very good. One in our party went so far as to say Parker Pie pizza is the best they have ever had. This is someone from Maryland who has traveled a lot, so that is quite a complement.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 512Dick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT PIZZA”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thin crust Greek pizza with chicken is delicious. The hosts are friendly. A quite hidden place so keep a lookout.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parker Pie Co. also viewed

Barton, Northeast Kingdom
Glover, Northeast Kingdom
 
Westmore, Northeast Kingdom
Orleans, Northeast Kingdom
 
Barton, Northeast Kingdom
Hardwick, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to The Parker Pie Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing