We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deerfield Valley Inn
Nearby Hotels
Old Red Mill(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Wilmington)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vintage Motel(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Stratton Mountain)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Brattleboro(Brattleboro)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
38
9
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
9
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastliving roombreakfast was deliciouspleasure of stayinghome away from homegreen mountainsmt snowrosemarydoreenvictorianfireplacewarmthwinterseason
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 54 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just returned from a 7 day stay at the Deerfield Valley Inn. We had just spent a 3 day holiday back in June....the 3 days was just not enough. 7 days may seem like a lot for a stay in southeast Vermont, but there is so much that you can take in with a little planning. We returned because of the finest hospitality that you can find. I come from the restaurant/hospitality industry, and I cannot begin to tell you how my friend and I felt just like family. The aromas of fresh homemade breakfast wafted each morning to our room upstairs....seriously! Doreen and Rosemary are so knowledgeable about the surrounding areas, events, dining and hiking...it was like having your own 5 star concierge at your service. Our room was spacious, which included a fireplace, which unfortunately, the weather was so nice we did not have the opportunity to use. Do not, I repeat, do not pass up this establishment if visiting the Mt. Snow area. Oh, by the way, the mountain is withing view of the front door. Awesome. (p.s. I had my cookies that are fresh baked each day, I think I might have had more than my share....lol)

Room Tip: Our room preference is #1....just make sure you are out by the time we come back...lol
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A buddy of mine and myself drove up from DC to get some time on Mt. Snow. We looked for a while on the internet to find a place that was relatively close to the resort and suited our needs. Deerfield Valley met our expectations and really exceeded them, to be quite honest. The two ladies that run this B&B are attentive to your needs and genuinely friendly. Breakfast every morning was good to say the least (I love breakfast)! The rooms are comfy and decorated just right. We stayed in Room 1 which lists as only having one queen size bed, however the owner was very accommodating and provided us with a rollaway bed. All in all, we made the right decision to stay here. With restaurants and virtually anything you need right down the street, this is a great place to stay should you be skiing or up for in Dover for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Room 1 for a couple would be a great decision. Having a fireplace in your room is pretty nice!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charleston31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just came back after spending a long weekend skiing at Mount Snow for the first time, and this was our B&B. Deerfield Valley Inn's location is very convenient (and many equipment rental shops on the way to Mt Snow). The hostesses are were very nice, helpful, and caring.
Our room was right next to the breakfast room downstairs, and we were warned that it might be a little noisy during the breakfast time. It never bothered us because we got up early to have breakfast, too; and other guests were also cordial that it wasn't noisy. And their daily breakfast was wonderful. A great way to start the day skiing!
Our room was very clean, cozy, and comfortable. It was a great place to stay for our ski weekend. We will come back for certain.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsJ001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

One of the first things you will notice upon entering the Inn is the living room or lounge which was very inviting, cozy, and tastefully decorated. It permeated gemütlichkeit. The seating was comfortable and rustic. The fireplace was beautiful. We were there in early October and the decor already reflected the colors of the season and the promise of Halloween and Thanksgiving. (I could only imagine what they did with the room during Christmas)! The music was restful and only added to the atmosphere.

We proceeded through a hallway that had an assortment of teas, cocoa mix, and very large cookies for guests to indulge themselves during non-dining hours. The dining area followed with tables large enough to handle plates, beverages and elbow room. They were close enough to engage other guests in conversation which is one thing that makes B & B's so charming in the first place.

Our room was upstairs, room 4, which had a fireplace with a Duroflame ready to ignite at the first moment of a perceived chill or spark of romance. More firewood was available for those who wanted to keep the firelight beyond intimate moments. The room boasted color TV with remote, and the closets and dresser drawers easily handled our clothes and purchases. These all added to our positive experience.

That said there were some notable distractions starting with the bathroom. The shower was one of those cubicles that are understandable when trying to renovate an old house to a hotel. However, the only thing we could get out of the nozzle was a weak stream that offered little refreshment one expects from a shower. I noticed a half roll of toilet paper in the rack, but no extra. It remained that way during our two-day stay. Without our own ration we carry on long trips, it would not have been enough. Complimentary shampoo and conditioner came in packets the size of the duck sauce you get with your order of Chinese take-out.

Breakfast was a better experience but when one guest asked if he could have sausage instead of bacon, he was simply told no. Breakfast “appetizers” consisted of a small yogurt or small crumb cake. An order of pancakes meant one oversized one. Bacon and eggs came with three half-slices of toast. This was enough to sustain us, but as Americans we don't just break our fast, we tend to demolish it. A larger appetite would have been disappointed. There was no accommodation other than what was available that morning. The cookies in the hallway were down to four by our second day, which was also surprising. We were spoiled by past experiences where the hostess had pies freshly baked from the oven, an assortment of fruit, nuts and cookies. Here were the bare essentials.

Rosemary is a kindly lady with a soft voice but seemed reserved without the effervescence or warmth one expects from hospitality professionals. I was also surprised to find her and her partner watching TV in the living room, a discouragement to any guest who might feel intrusive if he or she were inclined to pick up the remote. Opening and closing the inner and outer doors abruptly would set bells a-jingling like a trip flare for anyone trying to enter or exit quietly in consideration of others.

The Deerfield Inn is right off the highway and will be missed by anyone driving too fast. A beautiful golf course is less than a mile away for those who prefer golf clubs to skis.

We decided on three stars because our experience anywhere comes down to one question, if we would want to return there. Although we met a couple from Ohio who say they go there every year, we cannot share that sentiment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ed_pauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here from 7/27/12 to 7/29/12 as part of the Green Mountain Adventure package purchased on LivingSocial. We were nervous not having stayed in a B&B and having heard that some try to force you into activities. We had nothing but a wonderful experience here. Doreen and Rosemary were warm, welcoming, helpful but let us do our thing and didn't make us feel awkward at all! The breakfasts were wonderful, being a choice of pancakes, omelets or eggs your way and toast. The room was a large queen size room, had cable TV, a tub shower with plenty of hot water and fresh towels every day! There was an air conditioner in the room, which we used only for the fan. There was a spotlight outside of our window, but it went off sometime in the night and didn't bother me, even though I have to have things "just so" to fall asleep. The bed was comfortable with quite a selection of pillows. I highly recommend staying here! Thanks Doreen and Rosemary!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aikieltweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews