We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice in the Mount Snow area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitzhof Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kitzhof Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Dover B&B and Inns
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
367 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
“Great choice in the Mount Snow area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Once again tripadvisor comes through in the clutch. I was looking to get away for a couple days of skiing over Christmas break. The reviews were spot on; the Kitzhof Inn was perfect for three nights. I like that they offer single occupancy rates for the smaller rooms. I stayed in room 9, which is small with a queen bed. More importantly it was very clean.

There are many good things about this inn:
- 2 minute ride to Mount Snow. There is a free shuttle to and from the mountain. I even walked there, about 20 minutes.
- Quality made-to-order complimentary breakfast. There are several good choices on the menu in a nice setting on the second floor.
- The internet service was quick and efficient.
- Free use of a community refrigerator and large ice machine.
- Relaxing hot tub after a day on the slopes.
- Lounge area to hang out in.
- I had no problems sleeping at night. Everyone was respectably quiet.
You will hear folks moving about in the morning if sleeping in is a priority.
- Plenty of hot water in the shower with good water pressure.
- New Vizio HD TV in my room.

One of the best reasons for staying here are the hosts. They were fantastic, very helpful and informative. Simon even gave me a ride to the mountain when I missed the shuttle. They run a first class operation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Home
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

The best place to Stacey. Simon and Alison are the best in going out of their way to ensure that your stay is everything one could ask for,

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

The Inn's website lets you select your room and it has a photo of each room so you know what to expect. The Inn is close to the slopes of Mt Snow so great for skiing.

On the plus side: location, and cozy atmosphere. They have a TV room lounge area where guests can mingle and bring their own drinks after a day on the slopes. The owners were away when we stayed although other guests had stayed before and said they were very hospitable. The rooms are spacious enough with reasonable amenities for the price (don’t expect 4 star luxury but they are clean and pleasant). Breakfast was excellent and very good value (included in the room rate). If you need to catch some TV in your room there was an excellent choice of channels including HBO and our favorite (BBC America) – and for those who must have the Internet WIFI is free.

On the slightly negative side: we chose this Inn partly because it has a hot-tub but unfortunately it was closed and we were not advised about this in advance. We had a room on the second floor but we could hear almost every word from the young people staying in the room below ours. This wasn’t too bad except for when they decided to come back at 1.30am and had no consideration for other guests. (I would try and pick a room that is quiet next time).

Overall my wife and I liked this much more than The Doveberry where we stayed last year (which was more expensive and not as pleasant). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

This was our second President's Day holiday stay at the Kitzhof while skiing at Mount Snow. For our family of 5 (kids 11, 9 and 6), the Kitzhof is a perfect fit, and we look forward to returning again next year. The Inn's location only minutes from the slopes is ideal. The common room is cozy and inviting after a long day on the slopes, with its comfy sofas, fireplace and large TV. We enjoy spending our evenings there, playing board games with the kids, chatting with the other guests, and catching up with our email. The owners, Simon and Allison, are friendly, accommodating and helpful. They keep the place immaculate, and make sure that it's quiet at night, so we're all able to get a good night's sleep. The delicious hot breakfast that's included in the room rate makes this inn an exceptional value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed here for one night. The walls are thin. So make sure you've brought your ear plugs or that nobody is staying in the room next door to you.

After a late arrival (11:30pm), we quietly found our way to our room. At 7 am the kids in the next room awoke. We heard every word between kids and parents. We heard the TV, the hairdryer and especially the door slamming.

It's a cozy little inn. Just remember you're not in a hotel, and the rooms are no where close to sound-proof.

The next morning we had a lovely breakfast. We asked for fresh fruit, and the owner said there was none. Bummer. I guess we'll have to bring our own in the future. But I don't think we'll be coming back here again.... so no reason to write a note to help me remember.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brecharslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed with 2 young children (ages 9 & 7) over a recent holiday weekend and all of us were pleased with the accomodations and had a wonderful time.

I have traveled to Mt. Snow for over 20 years and this was my first time staying off-mountain. The location of the Kitzhof is convenient as it is only a stone's throw from the mountain entrance. While on the MOOver shuttle line, we chose to drive to the mountain each day and had no trouble getting parking close to lodge & lifts.

Accomodations met our expectations. The rooms were clean, the staff was VERY friendly, and the ambience was perfect for our ski getaway. For the price, the Kitzhof provides great value for families, as you could stay on-mountain for 3 times the price and not gain much more in amenities.

All slept comfortably, we enjoyed Simon's breakfast each morning, and we spent many hours watching the Olympics in the large family room. The kids enjoyed playing with the 2 dogs, playing board games and the video games on-site, as well as relaxing in the large jacuzzi after skiing.

I would not hesitate recommending the Kitzhof to others, and admit to using the recommendations here to book our stay. I think you too will equally enjoy your stay.

As a note, we did not experience any issue with noise, towels, etc. as mentioned here and the Inn was 100% booked the nights we were there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SigmaChiNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjh123
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We have been staying at the Kitzhof Inn for the past 4 years (during President's weekend) - the Hotel provides a "Full" Breakfast / then a full day of Skiing...We come back to a Fireplace / Hot Tub / Bottle of wine, while the children enjoy the "cozy" amenities. There are @20 rooms / mostly families. We highly recommend the Kitzhof (a family resort at affordable prices) - less then a mile from Mt. Snow!

Howard and Family

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.6 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#10 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.1 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitzhof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitzhof Inn

Property: Kitzhof Inn
Address: 332 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-9701
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kitzhof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Swiss style Bed & Breakfast Inn at the foot of Mount Snow offers a warm & friendly atmosphere. 24 rooms include Family, Queen, 2 x Double and Triple Rooms. Own bath and cable TV in all rooms. Prices includes cooked breakfast. Hot tub, fireplace lounge, BYOB bar, games room and outside swimming pool in the summer months. Free wireless internet connection is throughout the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Kitzhof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing