We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere with fireplace”

Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Join us at Nonna's - The ONLY Italian restaurant in the Valley- for great Italian cuisine in a casually elegant and friendly atmosphere. Enjoy Executive Chef Jeff Collins' masterful northern and southern Italian classics along with fresh seafood brought in daily.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Atmosphere with fireplace”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Though the rooms decor are a rustic look with charm the food is Italian. The sitting area has a large working fireplace which is a wonderful place to have a pre dinner drink. It is casual and lends itself to talking to those sitting nearby. Soon people are sharing their favoirte ski sloops and why they like them. Food is tasty though a tad pricey for the portions served. Those staying at the inn seemed to like it, we just dinned there. It is true that though when one arrives the place is empty and one is asked if one has reservations . we thought that perhaps a large group would be arriving but we had our entire dinner and it was still near empty..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We ask our guests if they have reservations as a courtesy to those that call to make them even if we are not busy. Hope to see you again soon.
Your friends at The Sawmill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    14
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated, over priced, disappointed”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have family that own ski condo in the area and decide to give it a try since we drove by it many times. When we got there, the dinning room was empty and we were asked if we have reservation. Since we don't she asked us to wait while she check, that took about 15 minutes and the place is still empty except for the 2 guys at the bar.
There were 8 of us, 3 of us ordered the specials (seafood newburg and stuffed haddock), each $29, haddock were dry, newburg has a funny after taste. The rest of us ordered: 4 cheese lasagna (dry, no sauce), fettuccine chicken alfredo (a sticky mess), chicken parm (dry chicken), fettuccine with little neck clams in red sauce (a bunch of tiny clams on top, plain red sauce) and caesar salad with chicken. We are all well traveled and hoping for a great meal, greatly disapointed. We ordered a bottle of red wine when we ordered dinner but didn't get it until we finish our meal. I told one of the wait staff that we don't want it anymore and our wait person still brought it anyway. Service were extremely slow, couldn't get drinks or water refill. Ask for selection of beer and was told we have too many to tell. When we asked for bourbon, we were told only 1 kind available that night. Who know, maybe we just went to a 'bad night' or expected too much. After spending $300+, we left extremely disapointed, surprise that this place is rated 4 stars and their site posted cert of excellence. Summary, will not return or recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ASM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are disappointed to hear of your experience. We are also quite certain that we never kept anybody waiting on the evening you dined with us. As far as your comments on the food, we have had nothing but positive reviews on the same entrees directly from our customers while they were in our dining room. If possible we would like to discuss this matter with you directly because it is not reflective of the food and service we deliver day in and day out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overrated and over priced”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The food was fine at this restaurant. But that was it. Just fine. The reviews were great and we were all disappointed. It is also expensive to buy the kids pasta for $15 plus dollars. They offered half sizes for $9 but the portions were so small that we had to order more. Our food was average and not memorable. We had a huge table to ourselves and no one was there. So that made it fun and the kids were able to run around and sing with the two live person band. But I would not run there for the food. This area has so many cheap places with better food for families.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawmill_Nonnas, Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
As a finer dining establishment we do not have a children's menu. We do the best we can to accommodate children with smaller portions but if you are looking for a "cheap" restaurant then there are other establishments we can recommend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was my first time dining at Nonna's and I had a pleasant experience. The service was great and the food was delicious. It was a very slow evening so the staff was attentive. I ordered the ceasar salad and penne with vodka sauce. Warm bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar was served before the entrees. The pasta was cooked al dente which I liked and the vodka sauce was not too heavy. The inn was decorated for Christmas and it was quite beautiful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“If you are looking for italian food...look elsewhere!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Sorry guys I love vermont and i try to support the local businesses as best i can but This is the worst Italian food I have ever had. We went opening night of the season. Service was slow and unattentive. But that's not the story...its the red sauce they serve. Literally plain tomato sauce with a hint of oregano. Nothing else. In fact...is was "sour". My four cheese lasagna was plated where it just leveled out on the plate. I asked for extra sauce as it was a bit dry and that's when I tasted the sauce. I then asked my son if I could try his pasta he didn't eat and it was just terrible. My wife had the the chicken barbara and she said it was "good" but she was served 2 pcs of chicken tender cuts. Not even a boneless breast. My daughter had the carbonara...it was just thick with flour...not a stich of cream. This place needs work and I hope you pull it together.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawmill_Nonnas, Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are so sorry for how you felt about your meal. Our chef invites you and any guest to his kitchen to show you that he makes his sauce with nothing but the finest and freshest ingredients. This includes locally sourced fresh herbs (not dried ones in a jar). It has a fresh, bright flavor intended to complement different types of pasta. Generally when a sauce is overly spiced it means that it is not fresh or sugar and additives were added. We don't do that. As far as the chicken, we do not serve "tenders"- we buy our chicken locally and serve boneless breast meat. As far as the carbonara, we can assure you that there is no flour in the sauce and there is an appropriate amount of cream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing