We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than we expected!”
Review of Big Bears Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Bears Lodge
Connecticut
1 review
“Much more than we expected!”
Reviewed March 7, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a reasonable hotel to stay in close to the Mt. Snow ski area and were pleasantly surprised by our stay at The Big Bear Lodge. The rooms aren't fancy but are clean and comfortable. The hotel is located practically across the street from the first entrance to Mt. Snow so it was very easy to drive our car and park at Mt. Snow. We were surprised that a FULL breakfast was included.in Big Bear's rate..not just cold cereal, danish and bagels. The sausage was excellent as was the French Toast , so be sure not to just order the standard ole' bacon and eggs!!! But what made our stay the most enjoyable were the charming English couple that run this establishment., Caroline and Steve. They work hard as a family to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. They recommended two retsaurants...the 1842 House and The Roadhouse, both of which had great food and as a bonus had great guitar players/singers in each the nights we were there. If you're a dog lover, their husky/german shepard mix dog named Misha is just beautiful and so sweet! I've never written a hotel review before this but felt I had to (nice to give a good review instead of a bad one!) and stayed here only because of the glowing reviews that I read before we chose the inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My Husband and I just returned from a 2 night mid-week stay at Big Bear. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was good and the location was perfect for skiing at Mt. Snow. The Price was very affordable. I would defiantly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our hosts, Steven, Caroline & Shelly were wonderful. They couldn't do enough for you. They made you feel very comfortable and welcome. The Lodge was immaculate and the meals were fantastic. They have lots of common areas to relax in. Internet service was very fast. I can't think of anything they could improve on!
Sincerely,
Barbara McLaughlin

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnieNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
216 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

My husband and sister-in-law traveled on a tour bus, with a Senior NJ group to Big Bear Lodge in Vermont , Mount Snow region, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Lodge was rustic, very cozy and comfortable. We were welcomed by a delightful British couple ,Steve and Caroline , daughter Shelly and her friend Hayley. They took care of our every need with a cheerful smile. Our first night was a Welcome cheese , cracker , grapes, and punch party for us. Breakfast every morning was toast , bagels, bananas, cereals, juice, coffee and a full breakfast list to choose from,cooked by Steve. The blueberry pancakes and bacon or sausage were great. My husband was happy because he got his over-easy eggs with bacon. I have never seen such busy hosts as this family. These people hustle!! They were fast, efficient and with a bit of British Humor thrown in. Always aiming to please. The two young girls were doing a wonderful job waitressing and enjoyed talking with our group. Caroline came on the bus as our tour guide and took us to all the great points of interests. Most days she packed picnic lunches for us all , with snacks , fruit, drinks; for the exception of one day we came back to a barbacue prepaired for us with burgers, hotdogs, chicken legs, potatoe salad, homemade cold slaw, fruit. Every day we got to chose from the menu for dinner. The food was delicious and plentyful. There was also nightly entertainment. Our stay was perfect and the hosts were awesome!!! If your going for fall foliage or sking. ... This place is a gem and Steve and Caroline make for a wonderful stay. A truly incredible staff !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceancitylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We found the Big Bears Lodge to be a great place ro stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the breakfast was great with so much to choose from.
The owners Caroline and Steve are really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. If you asked what the weather was going to be like for the day, Steve would rush off to the computer and find out. They know the area well and were full of information as to where to go for a visit and also where to eat. Although we are older and did not have a use for the outside facilities, it is a great place for children with a wonderful play area and a large swimming pool. Would be a good place to have a family reunion for all age groups. I would thoroughly recommend Big Bears to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We have spent several weekends this year travelling to Vermont and have gone back to Big Bears Lodge on each occasion. Steve and Caroline have, from the first time we met them, been friendly, helpful and welcoming making this place feel like our home away from home. We have stayed in different rooms throughout the Lodge, depending on availability (we often book and arrive late) and have found each one clean and comfortable. Obviously the money you are prepared to spend is reflected in the size/quality of the furnishings in each room. A cooked breakfast, included in the price, was a nice surprise on our first morning as we have often eaten at mount snow which can be pricey.
The Lodge has free Wi-Fi, very convenient when the snow is coming down on a Monday and you're off "sick" from work. There are two lounges and plenty of magazines to read.
The Lodge is conveniently located on Route 100, not far from Mount Snow base Lodge. The Moover bus stops at the gate and there are plenty of great restaurants close by.

I would have no problem recommending this place to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi01NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

The wife and I went on a ski weekend to Mt. Snow. I wanted a clean not to expensive room to crash in. This was the perfect place. Quit time is at 10:00pm. The lodge also had a very nice breakfast included and the staff was friendly. We will stay here again. Close to the mountain.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvdahlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.5 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
10.8 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#8 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#6 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bears Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bears Lodge

Property: Big Bears Lodge
Address: 344 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-9701
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bears Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bears Lodge offers ideal lodging for visitors to Mount Snow, Vermont. The Mount Snow Ski Resort of Southern Vermont offers something for every taste in every season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Big Bears Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bears Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing