We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room to be desired...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Austrian Haus Lodge

Austrian Haus Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Austrian Haus Lodge
Kingston, RI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Room to be desired...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

End-of -year, Spring skiing run. They tried to give us an attic room that smelled of roofing materials. Smoke detectors didn't respond to test-button. We phoned around for better accommodations, and found them at the Grand Summit Hotel for an extra $35/night. A real no-brainer.


FTS... 'Alan

  • Disliked — over priced; accommodations strictly for the infantry
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank awild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahaus, owner at Austrian Haus Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2008
1st I would like to say, the room in question the 1 with 3 dbls that has the attic dormers is a room that many families have stayed in over the 15 years I have been here and have loved staying in. There are some who don't like it, that when I have other alternatives I offer it to them as I did with this family, who for some reason had something wrong right from the start. I offered them another room with 3 dbls they didn't want it, I offered them a room with 2 dbls with a cot they didn't want it so I refunded them 100% of their money without question and they still have a problem without actually staying here for more than 20 minutes. What more can I do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    4
    10
    8
See reviews for
17
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed one night at the Austrian Haus last weekend. We were very disappointed with the quality of the accomodations. The room was exceedingly run down - there was unpainted wall space where a headboard used to be, areas of the bathroom floor where the tiles had pulled away from the wall, and dingy furnishings. In addition, the room was drafty and the outside walks that you had to take to and from breakfast were icy. Breakfast was acceptable, consisting of self-service toast your-own Friehoffer's English muffins/bagels/cereals.

For the price, we expected much more. Try the Nordic Hills Lodge (we stayed there last month) as a nearby, similarly priced alternative.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Poor quality
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MAN0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahaus, owner at Austrian Haus Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2008
I would like to say I am sorry that they had a problem with the rooms condition. What they didn't say is that I have been updating the lodge each year that I have been here. The room they were in had new carpeting and new mattresses. The wall not being painted was because we had reworked the room set up and had not as yet painted it. Also since then I have replaced 6 more bathroom floors as time and money have come. I strive to maintain and fix up the building each year as money comes available. As many of my return guests will tell you over the course of my 15 years here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
3.2 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
3.3 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#8 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#6 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austrian Haus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Haus Lodge

Property: Austrian Haus Lodge
Address: 6 Abroad Rd, Route 100 N, West Dover, PO Box #335, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Austrian Haus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from Mt. Snow, we have an indoor heated pool, sauna, gameroom, cctv in all rooms and wifi access in our BYOB Lounge area that also has a fireplace. We are a family run and operated and welcome other families here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Austrian Haus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrian Haus Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing