We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place!”
Review of Deerhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deerhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Magical place!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

If looking to get away and quiet the mind, the Deerhill Inn is the perfect choice! Ariane and Scott are so warm and welcoming, you feel right at home. We enjoyed everything from the cozy, comfortable beds, to the DELICIOUS food. We can't wait to return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MagdaR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
238
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clark, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thank you Ariane and Scott for your wonderful Deerhill Inn! It was a pleasure to meet you both. We always prefer homey, comfortable inns over charmless chain hotels and we were delighted by your warm welcomes and kind service. It is clear that you are real professionals at what you do! Thank you for your many extra efforts and attention to detail.

We so appreciated the opportunity to return to New England, and our time with you. It was really quite cozy to be there in mid-November just after foliage season and just before ski season. We loved our "Evergreen" room! And we so look forward to returning one day. Grateful thanks to you both...

Room Tip: "Evergeen" had great second floor views of the ski areas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is top-notch and worth a visit by any serious food-lover. The chef uses locally obtained ingredients and changes the menu often. The combinations are delectable. The wine list is very good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Telawewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a two day getaway in Southern Vermont. Our stay at this Inn was quite enjoyable. The Innkeepers were very hospitable and accommodating. The breakfasts very delicious and the dinners were even better. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We had a great view of the mountains and the fall foliage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights in September and found the inn just lovely. We stayed in a nice room - the Lilac room - with veranda. Everything was nice and clean. The view from the restaurant was beautiful morning as well as evening - the mountains in the distance and the little birds just outside the windows. Breakfast was delicious. The owners - Arianne and Scott - are really warm and welcoming people - you almost felt that they were family. Absolutely recommendable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Deerhill Inn has a special charm, stunning views and excellent food. Our stay was quite delightful. We were made very welcome and had a memorable stay as a result. I would thoroughly recommend a visit for anyone wishing to stay n that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tudor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Inn for a quick 3 night getaway in Sept.2013. Amazingly, It was even better this time! Ariane and Scott welcomed us with open arms . They made us feel right "at home". The food was delicious and the views are spectacular!The Inn itself is cozy and it also has beautiful rooms and landscaping. We can't wait to go back for a visit!

Room Tip: The rooms in the Annex have a beautiful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTG5348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
5.0 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
261 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
349 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Property: Deerhill Inn
Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing