We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deerhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deerhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights. We had two breakfasts and one dinner here. The food was amazing. The wait staff, including the Inn owners, Scott and Ariane were the best. They were all warm and friendly. you felt as if you had always known them. The owners live on the premises. The Inn is warm, inviting and cozy. We were welcomed by Scott and given a tour that included the robin's nest with eggs right in the bush leaning on the post of our room's deck! We stayed in the Lilac room which has window on one wall and door to deck on the other, so we had a nice cross breeze for the warmer day. Both afternoons we were there, we sat on the deck watching the mother robin come and go from the nest.
Our room was spotless. It has a ceiling fan and an oscillating fan for warm weather. There were complimentary bottles of water and cookies on the desk. The view from the living room, dining room, and tv room was beautiful as you gazed on many trees lining the parking lot in full pink bloom, with the mountains in the distance. During breakfast we sat by the window and watched the "stage show" of many types of birds, squirrels and chipmunks all after seed in or under the several bird feeders. The squirrels were reddish and small so we thought they ought to be called "Squirmunks"!
We really like this Inn and will return.

Room Tip: Go online and view the different room options offered. Size of bed and fireplace are some options as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
236
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a most delightful stay at the Deerhill Inn. The dining room boasts beautiful views of the green mountains, and the food was outstanding. We had dinner there one night, and then breakfast two mornings - which we thoroughly enjoyed, while watching birds of all sorts flocking to the feeders right outside the front window. Enjoyed reading in one of the sunny sitting rooms in the afternoon over tea and fresh-baked cookies provided by the innkeepers. Arianne and Scott bend over backwards to make guests feel pampered and comfortable. Thank you! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We might choose a different room next time, as rooms on the other side are brighter and sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our trip to the Deerhill Inn was a dream, from start to finish! Arianne, our host, was an absolute delight--we felt right at home. We stayed in the Tamarack room, which I would recommend most highly, especially in the colder months as it has a fireplace and a jacuzzi. There was also a balcony that overlooked the backyard. There were two lovely upstairs rooms for sitting, reading, socializing; one had a fireplace. They were exceptionally cozy and perfect for relaxing with a good book. The owners have a wonderful attention to detail. Our room was very well appointed and had cookies, water and L'Ocitane toiletries and bath salts. Our meals were exceptional and in rooms overlooking the mountains. The breakfasts are generous and delicious. Our dinner was amazing from start to finish. The view from the inn is beautiful; we had light breezes with butterflies and birds singing. My mother and I came for a short getaway and we can't wait to come back. Will be planning a trip back for foliage season and/or skiing at nearby Mount Snow. Have had the fortune of staying at many luxury properties over the years but Dearhill Inn ranks at the top due to the overall ambiance, friendliness, authenticity, attention to detail, value and quality. Can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: For a summer stay, I would choose a room with a balcony facing the mountain on the second floor--stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely inn with a spectacular restaurant. We expected a great dinner based on the reviews & the chef certainly delivered. Enjoyed one of the best meals we've ever had (and we eat out a lot) Breakfast is included - everything is made to order & cooked to perfection. Be warned, you won't have room for lunch. Innkeepers could not have been more gracious, and the inn itself is warm & inviting. There is a nice sized library chock full of books & an intimate bar for guests. Enjoyed afternoon tea as well. Stayed in the Lilac Room, which was very cozy, with a good sized balcony (tho it was cold & rainy when we were there) Love the L'Occtaine toiletries & comfy bathrobes provided. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Super friendly hosts, great rooms, beautiful spot, excellent food. Everything that a top-rated inn should be. We had high expectations and were not disappointed in any way. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Garden Suite is great if you want a king bed and a 2-person jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello12345_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were in the area this past weekend celebrating our 25th anniversary. My husband surprised me with the trip. He wanted to choose a place that would offer a wonderful dining experience as part of the weekend. He saw that Deerhill Inn was highly recommended and ended up calling and speaking with Ariane to see what was on the menu that particular night. They have a Great chef whose creations were not only beautiful to look at, but delicious!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Better than I could have expected. Chose to surprise my girlfriend for our 1st anniversary together and we both loved it. Scott and Ariane were awesome. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. We will definitely go again. Can't say thanks enough for how helpful the staff was in making the weekend perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsalisbury0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.6 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#7 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Property: Deerhill Inn
Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing