We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Time, Wonderful Food, Wonderful Hosts,,,,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deerhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time, Wonderful Food, Wonderful Hosts,,,,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our first time will not be our last. I cannot say enough good things about this Inn. Upon arrival, we were greeted, welcomed and given the tour. Both of the owners could not have made us feel more welcome and tended to all our needs before we even asked. No detail of comfort was left undone. We had a wonderful room on the second floor with a balcony that looked out to the mountains. When we entered our room, the fireplace was going, water and homemade cookies were waiting for us and the room itself was so warm clean and inviting. After a long day of walking, we returned to hot beverages and snacks before dinner, a nice jet bath with the most comfortable robes. The food at the restaurant was OUTSTANDING. In the morning, we went downstairs for a wonderful breakfast, (included) and sat and relaxed and planned out our day. We felt so comfortable there, we did not want to leave. We have traveled many places and by far this Inn is on our all time favorites. Do not miss this gem. You will not want to leave.

Room Tip: We had the Evergreen room. Looked out to the mountains and had a lovely fireplace and the most comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lele62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
227
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012, the setting is wonderful with great views of the mountains. Try and get one of the front rooms on the first floor, these rooms are very large, have the best views and Veranda’s, great for sitting out with a glass of chilled wine.

Do use the restaurant, breakfast is wonderful and the dinners are to die for.

It was our 40th Wedding Anniversary during our stay here and I had prearranged breakfast in bed plus Flowers and Champaign for my wife when we returned from our day out. They provide wonderful Champaign and the Flowers were superb.

I would highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on First Floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarpendenWrinklies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay at the Inn was little short of fabulous!
Ariane was curteous and very helpful to everyone in the wedding party and her staff were superb during every phase of the wedding!
I cannot say enough about the service that we received at the Inn and the beds were extremely comfortable!

Room Tip: Unless you have a disability choose a room facing the valley on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We returned to Deerhill Inn after an absence of 9 years to celebrate our anniversary! At first, we were disappointed not to see the same owners, but were delighted that things were just as wonderful as we remembered them! We had a room with a balcony with a wonderful view of the mountains. Highlights included a massage that they arranged for us, the yummy breakfast and gourmet dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byado18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The innkeeper/owners, Ariane & Scott, run a magnificent inn. There is little reason to leave starting with the early morning coffee, the magnificent breakfast cooked to order, the afternoon refreshments, and wonderful dinners if you choose to dine in. If you prefer dinner elsewhere, they will provide great alternatives. Simply sitting on the grounds on pretty days or in front of your gas fireplace in the evenings is enough, but if you want more, the activities close by on the ski slopes or in Bennington and Brattleboro, and the hiking in the area will ensure you will sleep well.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies or patios are best -- we prefer the mountain views facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigD062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had never been to this Inn, and now I never want to stay any place else. This inn was spectacular. We had originally booked a king size room, with no TV. When we arrived we decided we wanted a TV. Not a problem at all. They moved us to a gigantic room, with a beautiful view of the mountains. Every detail you can think of, they have included. In the bathroom, they even had a small bag, to take the toiletries home. The inn is truly a gem. My husband and I stayed on Friday and Saturday. Both mornings are breakfasts were delicious. You have a choice of eggs, pancake of the day or omelet of the day. No standing in line for a continental breakfast. You eat in the same dining room, that they serve dinner in. It is with linen and fine china. We also ate dinner with friends on Saturday night. The food was prepared so beautifully, not one of us, wanted to eat. We sat and just stared at the magnificent presentation. All 4 meals were a delight. We had appetizers and desert, with great wine. We did not want the evening to end. They did not rush our service at all. It truly was a beautiful dinner. We cannot wait to return. We felt so comfortable staying at this pristine property. The staff treated us, as if we were old friends. Wish the weekend did not have to end. There is always another time, that we will visit this spectacular property.

Room Tip: If you want a wonderful, quiet night's sleep, we suggest you go to this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hospitality and perfect. The Inn keepers Arianne and Scott do such a great job, the food is very good and the wine list very reasonable. The rooms are very clean and well appointed - I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynSmith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.9 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow
0.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 14 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#6 of 14 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 14 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#2 of 14 in Dover
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Property: Deerhill Inn
Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing