We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place with very good food”

The Last Chair Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Rumson, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great family place with very good food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The menu is quite extensive ranging from steaks to pizza and everything in between....good beer and wine selections ..perfect for for large groups , families with young children ....There is also a game room for older children. The food has never been a disappointment

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dbrown3659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    77
    26
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot for dinner”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

After being on the slopes all day, it was a great end of the day with some delicious meals. The service was great, the food was delicious, Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivkoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Eats at Last Chair”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The decor was eclectic ski slope, seating cozy, and we were seated by a roaring fire-very nice for a chilly February day. The service was excellent, food portions large, paper cloth for kids to color, a children's arcade, full bar with microbrews on tap. Perfect family dinner on a weekend night.

Helpful?
1 Thank happyincharlietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Efficient. Family friendly. Good bang for the buck.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very efficient. Very family friendly. Good bang for the buck. We went there Presidents Day weekend. Probably the busiest of the year. The hostesses were fabulous. Our food was delicious. Our waitress, Kora, was friendly and attentive. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad food - Owner is rude!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Food was not good, prices are crazy high (NYC prices) and the owner is downright rude. Not sure why anyone would go here....We had an issue and the hostess said she would get Paul...he came over and was incredibly nasty,told us to leave. All we wanted was for our kids to cash in on the $100 they spent in the game room getting credits for a toy..he said he was too busy and that we should come back another day. Why open the game room if you are going to take someones money for credits for a toy but you close the toy table in the middle of service? Would not give us our money back and walked away then yelled at us to leave. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Famak2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vtlife86, Owner at The Last Chair Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I have to say in reading this review which was no surprise I have a hard time understanding how people can be so selfish. We at the Last Chair explained very clearly and early that the redemption counter in the game room was closed for this evening but that we would leave the games on for the kids to continue to play. With 2 feet of snow and terrible roads we were very short staffed due to the storm. We had our staff, cook, serve, host and clean for over 250 dinners in crazy weather. We had determined early that it was best the our many families with children were fed as soon as possible. We didn't want guest waiting for an hour to eat so we could give out prizes. The tickets earned from the games NEVER expire and the kids could redeem at any time. This gentleman could not understand why he and his kids were not more important than everyone else! I was not rude, I simply walked away because I did not have time to listen to a grown man pouting and yelling like a 2 year old. Get over it, sometimes in life it's not only about YOU!. In regards to your comment about our food and prices, please read our menu online @ www.lastchairvt.com and explain how these are NYC prices. You can also read the many great reviews on how good our food really is. For the record, I was not the person that yelled at you to leave, it was actually another guest that was also amazed at your ridiculous behavior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Last Chair Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing