We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy”

1846 Tavern and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Parsonage Rd
Transit: The 1846 is a 3 minute walk from the closest local bus stop - the MOOver.
Description: You can have exceptional, top of the line fine dining quality food and still have a fun, relaxing evening too. At our house, no need to worry about talking too loud or using the wrong fork. Relax, eat, enjoy. Step through our 19th century doors and savor our 21st century legacy. Once a popular stagecoach stop, the 1846 Tavern and Restaurant at the West Dover Inn continues an important American tradition begun over 160 year ago. Nestled away in Vermont’s picturesque Green Mountains, this historic tavern and restaurant lovingly blends fresh local ingredients with modern inventive recipes to create a fun and memorable night out. Our sauces are hand crafted, our certified Black Angus burgers and steaks are hand-cut and our fresh seafood hand selected. Enjoy an intimate fireside dinner in the dining room, a fun family night out in the restaurant or a cold drink while watching the game and listening to live music in the tavern.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“yummy”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

had a great dinner here. The steak was cooked exactly as we asked and the duck was great with perfectly crispy skin!
good service, good food and a welcoming fire place.. would go again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dsertchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    100
    34
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so Great”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Went in on Sunday night because of reccomendations we saw here and were disappointed. 2 of us had burgers ordered medium rare and both were way overcooked with soggy fries and tasteless onion rings. Girls had crab cakes which came out on the cold side and sirloin tips which were ok, but nothing special.

Our expectations are never very high given its Vermont but this place managed to come in under our already low expectations.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Authentic atmosphere, great food!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

...and by authentic, I mean this is an old stagecoach inn where the locals come to drink and listen to a guy singing 1970s classics on a Friday night. The bar was packed. In the dining room, with a big-screen television showing sports, we enjoyed incongruously good food – especially the scallops with carrot risotto, also great butternut squash ravioli.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank arguropeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a very cold Wed night. Greeted warmly and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Bartender/Server recommended the seafood. I had the salmon and my wife had the crabcakes. Both meals were excellent! On par price-wise for the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTTraveler783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wardsboro
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went on a weeknight for dinner with girlfriends, we were plesantly suprised to find live music on a weeknight which was a treat. Our waitress was super friendly and very knowledgable about the menu. I had an app, dinner, desser and a drink and i could not find a flaw in the whole meal. My friends equally enjoyed there meal. Will recommend to anyone and i cannot wait to go back!
PS- I could eat the butternut squash ravioli every day!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maus10Wardsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1846 Tavern and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 1846 Tavern and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing