We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done”
Review of Mountaineer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I've been visiting this place since mid-90s. They've done a very good job maintaining the place. Rooms are clean, and have enough space to negotiate your snow clothes / gear. Coffee is excellent. Fireplace downstairs is huge. Real maple syrup for breakfast(!), fresh-baked muffins.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south end are closer to the hottub area. Rooms on the north are closer to breakfast, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 49 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here since the late 90' s non stop. Ned and Royal have been very accommodating. They have maintained the lodge very well. It is close to the mountain and very accessible by the local transit ( Moo very bus). I love the food here. This place is very comfortable, it is my second home.

Barry

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My finance and I very much enjoyed our stay the weekend before Christmas. Unfortunately, the warm weather and rain washed away snow and we only skied one of three days. However, we found the inn a very relaxing home away from home. The innkeepers are cordial and helpful. We enjoyed having delicious warmed cider and wine and cheese after skiing on Saturday. Breakfast was served promptly and was satisfying. The rooms are small but clean and adequate. The inn offers several rooms including a game room, library and bar. We enjoyed the hot tub but were disappointed the sauna was not working. We felt for being close to the slopes this inn is very reasonably priced with many amenities. My fiancée did complain that there is no thermostat and he felt it was very hot in the room and needed to open the window to be comfortable. Overall, a homerun and we definitely plan to return this ski season.

Room Tip: We selected the second floor away from the road for the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freeflow85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent a night here in the winter of 2010. It's a typical ski lodge with small rooms meant or sleeping and not much else. Overall clean and well maintained. The common areas are nice, and it's close to the mountain but not on it, with shuttle service. Our issue was with breakfast. It was delayed and we missed an hour of skiing because of it. Not good. I don't know if they were short of staff that morning but this shouldn't happen at a place that caters to skiers. One other issue- the thermostats in the rooms only go up to 65 degrees and it can get a little chilly on cold winter nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on a busy summer weekend. We liked the layout of the building and the spacious and attractive grounds. There are multiple comfortable common rooms on several floors on one side of the lobby. These include everything from a fireplace to piano to televisions, pool table, guest refrigerator, and sofas. It also includes the dining room where the included breakfast is served. This is a cooked to order hot breakfast with a server and several menu choices each morning. Not gourmet, but very nice. There's also muffins and much appreciated fruit salad. On the other side of the lobby are 3 levels of sleeping rooms. The rooms are somewhat small, but have nice bathrooms, a dresser, night table, and fan. Our room was very clean. There is no A/C, but the windows open. A balcony with chairs runs the length of the second floor. Each room has a door that opens onto the balcony. The grounds, next to Mt. Snow, are extensive. There's a beautiful pool with lots of seating. The woman who is apparently the owner is very friendly. She makes a point of going table to table to talk with guests at breakfast. At check-in she made a point of indicating that the common rooms were for partying, conversation, drinking, watching t.v., etc. and the sleeping rooms were for quiet. My wife and I were in VT to visit our daughter and attend a chamber music festival. All the other guests and thousands more in the area were there that weekend for "Tough Mudder." This is an international obstacle course event which raises money for charity. It attracts thousands of alcohol and testosterone infused guys and likeminded women, not a quiet group. The first night they chose to party in their rooms, rather than the common rooms, until way after midnight. The next morning at 6:30 they were up doing loud exercises in the parking lot beneath our window. So it was not possible to get close to 8 hours sleep. I had a lot of anxiety about the noise as we were returning from our concert late the next evening. But is was totally quiet the second night. I guess the Tough Mudders actually competed that day, then did their drinking and exhausted themselves out. I'm not a skier. But this looks like a lovely and comfy ski lodge for that season. It's certainly beautiful there during the summer, a really nice building with spacious grounds and pool. I'm sure the foliage would be awesome in the fall. So I would love to stay there again and would recommend it to others. My only caveat would be to check beforehand to see what event is going on there or at Mt. Snow while you are there in order to ensure that you are compatible with that particular crowd. The Mountaineer Inn advertises "Vermont Knitting Getaways." I can't imagine that the knitters stay up until 1:00 a.m. drinking, hooting and high-fiving each other every time someone makes a nice stitch. So perhaps I should go for one of their weekends instead of the Tough Mudders.

Room Tip: First floor front rooms would face the road and parking lot. Second floor has a balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the rooms are very clean and bathroom( my most important feature) was clean, updated and worked well. Lots of hot water each morning and/or evening. This inn is very close to lifts, no car necessary as you can take the "moover" shuttle from front door. Their breakfasts are good but not especially quick, more like Vermont speed,. So if you are looking to make a quick exit on a busy Saturday morning to hit the lopes, give yourself a little extra time in the dining room. The large common room in the lower level is very good: large screen TV, pool table, tables, seats, etc. very cozy after a day on the mt. Also great hot tub out back!! note that there are no in-room tv's. if you have kids that demand that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skeebum_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We only went for one night but were very impressed. Location couldn't be better, it's almost as good as being on the resort. The shuttle bus picks you up at the door and the trip takes less than five minutes. Breakfast was made to order and it was perfect. Many many options. Everybody was extremely nice especially Holly. We walked to the snow barn for their reggae Festival concert. Rooms are small but very efficient. Bathroom was spotless and seemed brand-new. We met some fun people and had a great night and an even better day of skiing the next day. Would come back to this lodge any time. For the price, it can't be beat. There's also a hot tub, unfortunately it closes around 6 PM

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.2 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#10 of 12 in Dover
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
133 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Inn

Address: 270 Handle Rd, Dover, VT 05356-9730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $138 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountaineer has all the trappings of an authentic ski lodge with friendly, attentive service, delicious meals and an excellent location. Walk to Mount Snow's lifts, trails, events and Snow Barn or take the MOOver door-to-slopes (winter & Tough Mudder). 25 charming, uniquely decorated guestrooms each with private bath, await your arrival. Included with your stay is a hearty Vermont country breakfast. Delicious 4-course dinners are optional and we accommodate children and special diets. The fireplaced BYOB bar has a pool table and large-screen TV; enjoy a soothing sauna, or spend quiet time in the library. A 14-person outdoor hot tub provides a relaxing massage. Our large living room with its immense fireplace is a cozy place to gather to re-live the thrills and spills of a day on the slopes, links or trails. Welcome reception for all guests. All rooms have a 42" HDTV. Summertime finds guests enjoying our 64' heated lap pool surrounded by lovely gardens and gazebo. Lift & Lodging, Golf Getaway and Knitting Retreat packages available. Groups and reunions welcome; kids 2-12 free except winter weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing