We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, close to the lifts”
Review of Mountaineer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The inn is charming, renovated ,and cozy. The rooms are very small (enough to really just hold beds) but the point is you are suppose to stay in the common area instead of sitting in your room. There are two wonderful wood fire place common areas where you can lounge in. They had free hot cider, wine and crackers for the guest after a long day of skiing. Royal and her staff are wonderful. I had a problem with my room (the guest before us had a sick kid, whom vomited). The room had the vomit smell but the staff went above and beyond to fix the problem. They tried calling around to find me another inn, refund my stay, and then bought in a carpet steam cleaner, as well as disinfected the bathroom again. The smell was gone afterward. But more importantly, it shows that the inn keepers truly care for the guests comfort. I will definitely come back and may even consider holding my wedding there in the fall. This inn is WONDERFUL! Also the moover comes often to pick you up from the hotel door (every 15 mins). We were too lazy to walk the 600 ft with our equipment to the lifts. Great cook to order breakfast. Also i stayed for dinner at the inn and it was nice meal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eatsummore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just got home from a great 3 day weekend at the Mountaineer. Inn is old, but in good shape and beautifully decorated. Great staff, all very friendly. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Awesome hot breakfasts cooked to order, pancakes, french toast, omelets, muffins, etc. Four course dinners were very good also, with soup, salad, various entrees and dessert. It was so nice to just be able to come back from the slopes and just relax, hit the hot tub, have some wine & cheese, and then go to dinner. We hung out in the lounges reading or watching tv and talking with the other guests.
Rooms are small, but the whole idea of the lodge is to get out of the rooms and into the common areas, which are so nice and comfy, it was like hanging out at home, except with much bigger fireplaces!
Bathrooms were just updated last summer and are completely new. New key card locks on all the doors also. Walls are thin, so noise can be a problem, but not much different from much newer, chain hotels we've stayed in.
We took the Moover bus to the main base lodge at Mt Snow, but at the end of the day walked back from the Carinthia base, only about 500' away if you ski to the "Ski Baba" lift. Sundance lodge was within walking distance also, but not quite as close as Carinthia. The Inn has storage areas right in the lobby for skis, poles and boots.
We had never stayed at this type of place before, but we all (2 adults, one 13 yr old) enjoyed it a lot and will stay there again next time we go to Mt Snow.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard33765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Mountaineer Inn during Christmas this year and had a great time. The staff was amazing, a homemade breakfast everyday, even a special Christmas dinner, close to everything and a cozy quiet atmosphere. I have already recommended it to another friend.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PMWtravels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This Band B was chosen because I was participating in Tough Mudder and was walking distance to the event. This is walking distance from Mt. Snow where the event was, and in the winter works out for those who want to ski.

Royal is the owner and she was so helpful with all the information I needed for my stay, including the event that I was participating in. She also gave great directions to the Grafton Cheese Village where we found awesome Vermont cheese.

The inn has small rooms and you can hear the doors close when other guests enter their rooms. Everything seems to be in close quarters but everyone has their own bathroom. However, no tv - the only tv was in the common room downstairs. We had a room with a queen bed ad a twin, with access to a small balcony that shares with the other rooms in the place.

The only unusual thing I had to do was instead of reserving the room via credit card I had to provide a check for the deposit, which was one night's fee for me since I was staying two nights. I paid the rest on credit card upon arrival - not when checking out. This actually ended up being convenient because I didn't have to rush to check out, I could take my time leaving since everything was already paid.

Breakfast was good and the one running it was very pleasant. Loved talking and getting to know the staff, they were so helpful and inviting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinellz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Myself and 3 friends visited Mt.Snow for the weekend. We were unsure of what to expect and were pleasantly surprised by our accommodations. We got stuck in the snow on the drive up from MASS, and a late check in was no problem at all. The room was average. It was very clean and had a bunk bed,dresser,bathroom, and a twin size bed. Perfect!!! The wall paper was really trippy too. The next morning we got a great full breakfast, which was pretty much the perfect start to the day. The lodge had many amenities for relaxing. A bar and sitting area downstairs w a pool table 2 pianos, big screen, and gorgeous fireplace. Also a sauna and hot tub. The sauna was nice for kicking back and although I didnt want to bother the staff w the hot tub, i know they would have opened it up. One level up was the dining area, and one more floor up a great room, with another gorgeous fireplace and a grand piano which the owner played for us the second night. He also helped us find a restaurant to have dinner at (we were about 30 min to late to have dinner there), and he also helped us to find night entertainment for our group. You cant get service like that from the concierge at the Marriott! Finally there was wine and cheese for the guests, and a wonderful night ensued. We got to meet and chat with other guests and listen to show tunes. I really couldnt have asked for a better lodge experience. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unedeuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

you can walk 4 minutes , 150 yds. to Carinthia lift . Lodge sells lift tickets in advance of your arrival, so it was very convenient to park at Inn, get lift tickets, leave our car there and walk or take Moover (bus) to lifts. The Inn is 50 years old and it shows in some ways: drafty windows that don't open and the heating system in the room was seriously up to about 85 degrees that we were baking ! Room #106. Small rooms. No TV/phone in rooms. Common TV area, pool table and BYOB bar is nice. $260 nite 4 people holiday weekend. Breakfast was good w/ variety of choices.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank none01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed here recently on a ski weekend. The location is great - within walking distance from Mount Snow & the Snow Barn. The owners were excellent hosts. They made a point of meeting everyone and asking if there was anything anyone needed. There is a common area with a TV and a cozy common area with a fireplace and comfortable seating. It sets the stage for a wonderful time meeting other guests, which we really enjoyed. There aren't TVs in most of the rooms, (not a problem for us). The cons were the general cleanliness and not so comfortable beds. Some of it may be due to "end of season", but the place could use a good scrub.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tilldeathdousski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.2 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
170 reviews
6.5 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#9 of 12 in Dover
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Inn

Address: 270 Handle Rd, Dover, VT 05356-9730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $133 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountaineer has all the trappings of an authentic ski lodge with friendly, attentive service, delicious meals and an excellent location. Walk to Mount Snow's lifts, trails, events and Snow Barn or take the MOOver door-to-slopes (winter & Tough Mudder). 25 charming, uniquely decorated guestrooms each with private bath, await your arrival. Included with your stay is a hearty Vermont country breakfast. Delicious 4-course dinners are optional and we accommodate children and special diets. The fireplaced BYOB bar has a pool table and large-screen TV; enjoy a soothing sauna, or spend quiet time in the library. A 14-person outdoor hot tub provides a relaxing massage. Our large living room with its immense fireplace is a cozy place to gather to re-live the thrills and spills of a day on the slopes, links or trails. Welcome reception for all guests. All rooms have a 42" HDTV. Summertime finds guests enjoying our 64' heated lap pool surrounded by lovely gardens and gazebo. Lift & Lodging, Golf Getaway and Knitting Retreat packages available. Groups and reunions welcome; kids 2-12 free except winter weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing